We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night's sleep right off I-95”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stony Creek
Reviewed September 30, 2008

I can not say enough good things about our recent stay at this Sleep Inn. While we were not traveling with our pets, I was pleased to see such an animal friendly establishment that was well kept. They must hire only the most friendly folks around to work there. I had to inquire about a pharmacy and was promptly given directions and hours to the local pharmacy and grocery store in the little local town just down the road. Thank you so much!!

The room was tidy, the bathroom was clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable, with plenty of pillows. The A/C worked quickly to cool down the room and amazingly we slept peacefully even with 95 and railroad tracks nearby. The morning breakfast had enough to offer even the pickest of eaters, but there is also a local Denny's, Burger King and Subway nearby.

The location is just off I-95, but slightly out of the way for our trip (Lake Rawlings for Scuba), but it was worth the 20-30 minute quiet drive back and forth to stay in such a nice, clean, comfortable place that is pet friendly.

We have to drive to N.C. soon and will be going out of our way again by about 18 miles, just to stay at this Sleep Inn. with our dogs this time. It is well worth it to us to have a clean, comfortable, pet friendly hotel after a 4+ hour drive from Maryland.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Greyt_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2008

My husband, our three parrots and myself stayed at the Sleep Inn & Suites both on the way up north to Maine and heading home to south Florida. The hotel is very convenient to I95. It’s right next to the highway but it’s still a quiet nights sleep.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I had asked for the same room we had going north because it was convenient getting cages in and out of the side door. When we arrived we were told that the refrigerator in the room was broken so we were quickly given another room a few doors down.

Our floor had several dogs staying in rooms also. My husband and I are allergic to cats and dogs but we had no ill effects from any past guests that might have stayed in our room. In the back of the hotel is a very large grassy area that accommodates the dog walkers nicely.

Overall it is clean, quiet and very pet friendly. We would probably stay there again if the situation arises.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 3parrotfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Stayed at this hotel on July 17, 2008 on our way to Charleston, SC. We arrived after 1am and the front desk clerk was just so wonderful to help us quickly get checked in and into bed. Easy location off of I-95. We booked a double bed room that had ample pillows and clean sheets. Basic TV, large desk with a nice chair if you needed to work on your laptop, etc. Basic bathroom with bath/shower combo. Room was clean but very hot and muggy when we first entered as the A/C had not been left on. (Def. not a problem for us, why waste electricity when no one is there to use it) Took about 5-10 minutes for the room to cool down so I would say the A/C worked quite well. Did not see the breakfast in the am as we slept in and then hit the road. There is a Hampton Inn and a Denny's Diner right next door. Starbucks close by, but, who knows for how long as I just heard a bunch of them will be closing. No riff-raff seen on the property. Like I said, we arrived after 1am and had no problems unpacking the SUV and straightening things out before arriving at the front door. Front door locked but the clerk buzzed us in as soon as she saw us get close enough to reach the door. Had a little trouble setting the alarm clock but who knows how many times that thing has been knocked on the floor by people.....but we got it working so no biggie. Perfect place for an I-95 "need a safe, clean hotel at a great price" stop.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superjulesrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Annabelle at the front desk was excellent - very friendly, experienced, and well groomed. We stayed in a nice size quiet king room in the back. Comfortable bed. Poor towels. Average breakfast with waffles.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easternview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

A few times a year I drive from New York City to my hometown in Georgia and back again. I always take my wheaten terrier along but I don't always find a decent pet-friendly place to stay when I decide to stop for the night. On my most recent trip down South, I pulled over around 11 pm and was turned down by five hotels. So, before starting the return drive to NYC, I decided to reserve a room ahead of time. The Stony Creek Sleep Inn met all of my criteria: 1) pet-friendly 2) affordable, offers a AAA discount 3) located where I may launch a pre-dawn assault on the Washington, D.C. traffic and 4) a reliable source of A.M. espresso is nearby! With a Starbucks and a 24-Hour Travel Center at Exit 33, the hotel has a perfect location. The friendly, charming woman working the front-desk when I checked in could not have been more personable or more efficient. The hotel is clean, well-kept and has many more amenities -- fitness room, indoor pool, HBO, free WiFi -- than I expected or will have the opportunity to enjoy -- so much so that I almost wish my stay was longer. I'm mentally bookmarking this hotel; I will definitely be back

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

This hotel is a great little secret off of I 95. The hotel was very clean and the air conditioning worked well. The front desk staff greeted us warmly and were very accommodating. There is a free breakfast in the morning, but we left too early to take advantage of it. The hotel was quiet and right off of 95. The best part was the price - $80 a night. The only drawback was that the only places to eat were Dennys and Burger King unless you get back on 95 and drive a bit. Overall, I highly recommend this Sleep Inn.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank njrangerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2007

We stayed here on the way from FL back to New England.

We stayed in a Non-Smoking King Suite on the 2nd Floor.

The room is HUGE! The king bed was very comfortable. There is a huge desk in the room. There is a full sized pull out sofa which my daughter said was very comfortable. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub / shower. WIFI is free in the room.

The hotel has an indoor pool.

Breakfast is hot/cold -- they have a great Belgian Waffle Maker.

They have a playscape in the back and are pet friendly.

The staff was very nice here.

I would definitely stay there for a few nights if I was going to be touring the area.

This is a smaller stop off the highway. There is a Hampton Inn also there and a Denny's and a Huge Gas Station with a Starbucks and Subway and Mini-Mart there.

Definitely a nice place to stay off the highway.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank littlecat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Creek
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Stony Creek
Hampton Inn Stony Creek
#1 of 2 in Stony Creek
496 reviews
20.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Emporia
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 11019 Blue Star Hwy, Stony Creek, VA 23882-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stony Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stony Creek
Price Range: $76 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Stony Creek
Sleep Inn Stony Creek
Stony Creek Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing