We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza

Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza
Ranked #5 of 232 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Sterling
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Get the Sicilian Hit, Bar-b-que Chicken Pizzas AND the Cannoli’s
They serve PEPSI!! YUM!!
The owners, Waleed and Amy, are very friendly and aim to please. Always welcoming and full of smiles

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShawnitaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    35
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Terrible Pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I called Don Corleone's Wood Fired Pizza for carryout 630PM last Sunday. I ordered a medium Vegetariana and they said it would be ready in 20 minutes. I arrived at 650PM and there was a line of a half dozen people for the register. The direction of the line flow was poorly designed. No one could tell where the line started or ended. Additionally everyone leaving the register had to walk through the line, regardless if you exited to the left or right. Of course it took a few minutes to pay. Although I guess it didn't matter since my pizza still wasn't ready.

I took a seat in the waiting area for a few minutes and finally my name was called. The pizza they handed me came in a plain brown pizza box with no writing, no design, no emblem. A plain cardboard box. This struck me as odd since the person ahead me received a company designed box. However they ordered a large pizza and I thought perhaps Don's was out of their usual medium boxes.

When I got to my destination, less than four minutes away, we sat down to eat. All of us thought the pizza was terrible! The bread was soggy. The vegetables did not taste fresh. Even the sauce was subpar. We put it in the oven for a few minutes but that didn't help. I'm surprised to see so many positive reviews, although most are from months ago. Perhaps Don's has gone downhill since then.

Emilio's in Sterling and Naked Pizza in Reston are a thousand times better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Jontae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must Eat the Pizza!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are visiting Air & Space Muesum in Chantilly Virginia this place is not too far for a great pizza. Being a local we have dined at this place tons of time and everything the pizza is freshly made and taste great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VA_DMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land of the Pharoah's
Level Contributor
144 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A very good slice in an unexpected place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Went here on election night after it was recommended to us by a friend. We had been in NYC in October and had some very good pizza and fast became pizza snobs. Don's pizza is the closest we've found in Northern Virginia to a real Lower East Side slice, and that's a pretty good compliment. Will definitely be back. Their prices may not be competitive with the larger chain/delivery places, but their product is by far superior.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FredoftheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After reading the great reviews about their pizza and seeing the interesting offerrings on their menu, I was excited to try The Dons'. (Note: they changed their name from Don Corleone's to the Dons') I tried their Four Cheese pizza. It was OK, but by no means a great pizza. Their sauce was bland and the cheeses were skimpy. Overall the pizza lacked much flavor. The thin crust was unispring and soggy in spots. Their website highlighted the use of fresh and high quality ingredients, but it did not come across in the overall flavor. Their pizza prices are on the high side. The salad portions were large, but rather basic for the price. It is fairly cramped inside, but there are also some outdoor tables. No beer or wine served. Plenty of parking in this suburban shopping complex of Southbank.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellinDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing