We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrible Pizza” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza

Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza
Ranked #4 of 236 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Terrible Pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I called Don Corleone's Wood Fired Pizza for carryout 630PM last Sunday. I ordered a medium Vegetariana and they said it would be ready in 20 minutes. I arrived at 650PM and there was a line of a half dozen people for the register. The direction of the line flow was poorly designed. No one could tell where the line started or ended. Additionally everyone leaving the register had to walk through the line, regardless if you exited to the left or right. Of course it took a few minutes to pay. Although I guess it didn't matter since my pizza still wasn't ready.

I took a seat in the waiting area for a few minutes and finally my name was called. The pizza they handed me came in a plain brown pizza box with no writing, no design, no emblem. A plain cardboard box. This struck me as odd since the person ahead me received a company designed box. However they ordered a large pizza and I thought perhaps Don's was out of their usual medium boxes.

When I got to my destination, less than four minutes away, we sat down to eat. All of us thought the pizza was terrible! The bread was soggy. The vegetables did not taste fresh. Even the sauce was subpar. We put it in the oven for a few minutes but that didn't help. I'm surprised to see so many positive reviews, although most are from months ago. Perhaps Don's has gone downhill since then.

Emilio's in Sterling and Naked Pizza in Reston are a thousand times better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Jontae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must Eat the Pizza!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are visiting Air & Space Muesum in Chantilly Virginia this place is not too far for a great pizza. Being a local we have dined at this place tons of time and everything the pizza is freshly made and taste great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VA_DMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land of the Pharoah's
Level Contributor
159 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A very good slice in an unexpected place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Went here on election night after it was recommended to us by a friend. We had been in NYC in October and had some very good pizza and fast became pizza snobs. Don's pizza is the closest we've found in Northern Virginia to a real Lower East Side slice, and that's a pretty good compliment. Will definitely be back. Their prices may not be competitive with the larger chain/delivery places, but their product is by far superior.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FredoftheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing and expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

After reading the great reviews about their pizza and seeing the interesting offerrings on their menu, I was excited to try The Dons'. (Note: they changed their name from Don Corleone's to the Dons') I tried their Four Cheese pizza. It was OK, but by no means a great pizza. Their sauce was bland and the cheeses were skimpy. Overall the pizza lacked much flavor. The thin crust was unispring and soggy in spots. Their website highlighted the use of fresh and high quality ingredients, but it did not come across in the overall flavor. Their pizza prices are on the high side. The salad portions were large, but rather basic for the price. It is fairly cramped inside, but there are also some outdoor tables. No beer or wine served. Plenty of parking in this suburban shopping complex of Southbank.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellinDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NY Style, great flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Real brick oven, flavors blended well in fast, hot oven. Ready to heat slices or order from scratch - both very good flavor and good price. Better than the "thin crust" chain version anytime. Good unique flavors not on the chain offerings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing