We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Mimi's Cafe

Mimi's Cafe
Ranked #7 of 245 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Large family group was accommodated with a smile. Everyone's food was great. Only disappointment was they were out of corn beef which we heard was excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    68
    31
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good choice for breakfast - service and food is consistently above-average.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

For those that have not been to Mimi's, while it is a national chain restaurant, it has the feel of a local or regional chain (despite the fact I know it is far from local). In other words, while you know you are not having a unique dining experience, it doesn't quite have that mass produced feel that most national chains have.

I have not been to Mimi's for lunch or dinner, but I have been several times for breakfast and have found the service and food to be consistently above-average. The restaurant is French / New Orleans themed, although the breakfast food is for the most part standard American fare - omelets, pancakes, eggs, etc. They do have a fairly good selection of healthy breakfast options. It is not the most intimate of surroundings, with tables fairly close together, but certainly no worse than any other similar restaurant.

I would recommend making reservations, especially on weekend mornings. Otherwise, you may have a lengthy wait.

On my most recent visit, I found the service excellent (Alex was a great server) and the food was above-average. For the portions and the quality of the food, I was also pleased with the bill.

The only real complaint I have is they should probably consider cleaning the cob webs out from between the venetian blinds and the windows. It's one of those details that can cast doubt on the overall cleanliness of the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerminusUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ate there for Sunday brunch. Had a great omlette with potatos and a blueberry muffin which was fantastic. Service was wonderful. Their Freixnet brut champagne splts were nice too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lots to choose from, but not great food”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I had a corn chowder, which was a little sweet, but not bad. My sandwich, which was from their 'lighter' menu, was a roasted vegetable wrap and was quite greasy, the veggies were cold, and the wrap was too heavy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ksp624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Best of the Lot of Them”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

There are many restaurants at Dulles Town Center. This one stands alone as being different from the rest there. It's a great atmosphere, good wait staff service, good menu choices and portions. I really like this one.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimi's Cafe also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mimi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing