We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great end to a frustrating day of travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hanover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Great end to a frustrating day of travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

After a long day's travel that included the cancellation of a connecting flight out of Dulles, I unexpectedly needed to spend the night at a hotel near the airport. I was lucky enough to find an open room at the Hampton Inn & Suites. The hotel was what I have come to expect with this chain: clean and well appointed. What was really welcoming, though, were the friendly smiles from Jenny and Eduardo that met me from behind the registration desk. The exceptionally competent service that came along with the great attitude turned my mood right around.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    142
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
160
126
65
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed at this property for one night. The prices are fair, the hotel looks well maintained and it's a nice location adjacent to Dulles. I don't stay at Hilton properties much as I stay mostly at Hyatt or SPG where I have their top tier status so perhaps this is just due to the fact that I wasn't an elite member. Otherwise, I'm not sure why I had the pleasure of dealing with such a rude person. I checked in at night and was greeted by a young girl in this manner: "Last name" Not hello, not welcome, Nothing but "last name". Now I do not work in the hospitality industry because I chose not go to school for that - if she had a problem, she should have left it in the back room. I was immediately put off by such a rude employee and I told her that I thought it was rude that she greeted me by "Last name". NO apologies - nothing. She just wanted to know which credit card to use for incidentals. I do not appreciate poorly trained high school students who are given way too much responsibility. Anyways - I went to the room and hoped to never see her again. The room is nice - it has al the comforts you expect - no complaints but as in other Hilton properties, the gap under the door bothers me. I know that it is in case of fire but it's such a large gap that you can hear people in the hallway talking - and I suppose people can hear you so the rooms are not private in this aspect. Many outlet plugs etc. The complimentary breakfast the next morning was nice - though it was crowded. When I checked out, surprise, the same rude girl was at the front desk. She checked me out and said something to the effect of "You're good to go" and nothing else. No have a nice day or anything. If the hotel fires or retrains this employee, then it will be a much better property. Hopefully, no one will have to experience such rude customer service as I did because other than her, it was a good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citoyennea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSuitesDulles, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Given our company’s commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. I am truly sorry for the experience. Your comments and suggestions will be taken seriously and addressed appropriately.
I am grateful for the opportunity to respond to your concern. Our hotel prides itself on exceptional customer service and I regret that we couldn't resolve your concern while you were with us. We understand that you have many hotel choices in our area, so we see it as our duty to go the extra mile however we can. Not only is this my personal belief, but it is a guiding principle at our hotel. I will reviewing the importance of being professional and courteous with my front desk team. Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical. Please accept our sincere apologies and I promise to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest and experience the services your truly deserve. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything else you would like me to do.

Thank you again,


Kristen Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were able to check in early and received a very warm welcome. The room was outstanding! The location, near Dulles airport and Lindsay VW is th we main reason we chose this hotel. Breakfast was very good

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank foxpoint99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Accommodations were great.Staff, especially Cathy on the breakfast team, very helpful. Reasonable rates. New, modern facility with good amenities. Quality fitness equipment and nice indoor pool. Basic room but very clean and updated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
229 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just spent 2 nights here with a school trip of 75 students and adults. Wonderful accommodations, Staff exceeded expectations and solved any and all our needs on short notice. We had a chaperone take ill and the desk had an ambulance there in less than 5 minutes with a hospital 7 minutes away. They secured a room for her husband on his way down from NY for that night. Breakfast was always hot and ready when it was supposed to. Our students were quiet, security was excellent. Couldn't have been better. Good job!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

It is a good hotel at the real price. The business center is very appreciate. The breakfast is like american breakfast : no bread, no croissants ... Rooms are confortable and quiet. Lunch room is pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Olivier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the night before I had an early flight out of Dulles and the location is great. There are plenty of gas stations nearby to fill up your rental car and it is very easy to get on the freeway to Dulles. It is not too close where you hear airplanes flying over all night either. Would definitely recommend especially since the facility and staff are great as well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mleslie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.7 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Address: 22700 Holiday Park Dr, Sterling, VA 20166-9497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#3 Green Hotel in Sterling
#3 Family Hotel in Sterling
#6 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Airport provides lodging near Dulles Airport and Dulles Town Center. We are conveniently located near area attractions, such as Chantilly Expo Center, Wolf Trap and Nissan Pavilion entertainment venues. We are positioned near the brand new National Air and Space Museum Dulles Annex - Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. Additionally, we are in the heart of the Route-28 business corridor, which affords close proximity to area businesses like America Online and Fair Oaks Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sterling
Sterling Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing