We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great home away from home.

The front desk attendants was very nice.
The rooms was very clean plenty of towels very spacious.
The only thing that's keeping it from a perfect rating was the elevator I was there for a day on one elevator that was very very slow.

Other than that that it was a great experience shopping was near the airport close to freeways restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We do apologize about the elevator inconvenience. Please know that it's been on top of our priority, unfortuately the part had to be ordered. We are doing our best to get back in operation.

Thank you for choosing us and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 654 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Tasteful resort-type design and furnishings (formerly part of the west coast Hotel Sierra chain). Windows open. Big open shower and waterfall spout. Great breakfast w/made-to-order omelettes, Greek yogurt and more. Excellent fitness center. Great outdoor pool, fire pit, gas grill area and sports court. Good business center w/four terminals and two printers. One exit from Dulles airport and toll road, and just a few exits/minutes from major mall w/shopping and restaurants, close to Smithsonian Air & Space annex. Great service. Downside: nothing within walking distance.

Room Tip: Back/east side faces fields and trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy that you enjoyed our facility and amenities including breakfast. Based on our shuttle availability, we do offer to take our guests to nearby shops and restaurants (within a 3-mile radius).

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We missed a connection at Dulles after flying many hours from Copenhagen. Our airline put us up at the Hyatt House and gave us dinner and lunch vouchers. Breakfast was included. We were not here by choice yet I have to say we had a lovely stay! The staff was very welcoming and made registering very easy. Our room was large and new with a comfortable bed and nice sized bathroom. It was very clean and quiet. We used our vouchers for dinner in the bar where many guests had gathered to watch the World Cup. Soup and salad and hamburgers and sandwiches were quite good. Breakfast was extra nice .... Even had someone making omelets to order. We selected sandwiches and snacks from their convenience nook to take with us on our flight for lunch. The shuttle van took us to and from the airport ...about five minutes away. I gladly recommend this hotel for business, singles, couples or families. We met someone staying there and sight seeing in Washington DC so the city center must not be far.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PCVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your recommendation! We are glad that you 'loved' your stay despite the unexpected visit. We hope that you made it safe to your destination.

We hope to see you again under better circumstances and we thank you for the feedback.

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Perfect business hotel. well equipped with a kitchenette. we booked a studio and were not left asking for anything else. The staff are extremely warm and hospitable. house keeping can do with a bit more energy. but all others were eager to please and always smiling. breakfast was great and internet speed excellent. offers a complimentary airport shuttle and has a 24 hour shop for convenience. will certainly stay here again when i return to DC on business!

Room Tip: try not to take a room that over looks the cement factory next door. We asked not to be assigned one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Baptista2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

We appreciate your great feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return whether business or pleasure bring you back to the DC area.

Safe travels,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Last week we had the pleasure of staying in this hotel with our family for a small reunion. I can't believe that it was only $100 a night. Location is great. Only half an hour into Washington. We used the extended lobby for gathering and meeting each other. Breakfast was more than I expected. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We'll stay here again when visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkoj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for the high ratings! We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your family reunion. It is important for us to always make our guests feel at home.

We hope to see you again next time you're in the DC area or your next family gathering.

Have a great summer!

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

When I first saw the hotel (from the plane) I was petrified. How am I going to survive here 3 weeks? Well, you need a car (or good shoes :-) to get anywhere, but the hotel has many positives.
My suite was large, clean and perfectly airconditioned and isolated. Great sleep there!
It is less than 10min drive from the airport and you do not binoculars to watch landing planes. Yet the hotel is very quiet and me being on the last floor did not hear a single plane when having closed Windows.
Advantage - close to old Herndon city and great restaurants and bars. You also have a reasonable kitchenette with large fridge in the suite.
Disadvantage - no room safe, rather small swimming pool (luckily not many people around it :-)

Room Tip: overlooking the highway - unfortunatelly there is a cement factory in the rear :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mxn399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your candid feedback! I am glad that despite our location, you still enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that through your feedback, we are able to improve our service.

We thank you for your business and we hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

So our flight to Dulles was delayed which caused us to miss or connecting flight... We couldn't get a flight until morning so we stayed here.. The staff was more than helpful after dealing with rude people associated with the airlines... If you ate having a horrible day. . the staff will make you feel incredible!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VDawg2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We appreciate your feedback and we apologize that you had to stay with us due to a missed flight. I am glad that we were able to serve you during an unexpected event.

We hope that you made it home safely and to see you again under better circumstances.

Safe travels,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.6 mi away
Best Western Dulles Airport Inn
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
1,227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-4323 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
#8 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range: $80 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing