We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband stays here for business reasons every other month or so. The rooms are consistently clean. I have noticed that within past year they have downgraded their toiletry items. The breakfast buffet is sufficient, although they tend to start shutting it down about 10 minutes early each day. The workout facility is adequate for this size hotel. They have a convenient free shuttle to the airport, where you can catch a bus into DC for $6. The value for the price is good. The staff is always very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Mrs. Lovethysun,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your feedback in TripAdvisor. We also wanted to thank you and your husband for your continuous loyalty. I am glad to hear to you are quite pleased with our facility and service.

I will also pass on your comment regarding the toiletries to our corporate team and address your breakfast concern. Thank you for the feedback!

We are looking forward to your return.

At you service,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 652 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very nice and such a friendly staff they will do anything for you with a smile. Rooms very clean. Pillows are wonderful. The bar has a very good menu and prices were very good. Michelle( the manager on the duty) was the best. She was really helpful .Breakfast was perfect.We will stay there again!!

Room Tip: You can ask the front desk for less A/C unit noise rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samnita297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

We appreciate the high-ratings and the great feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful experience. I will surely pass on your comments to my team members, especially Michelle. She'll be quite pleased!

We hope to see you again in the near future and we thank you for your business.

Kind regards,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

1. Good location: several minutes' drive from IAD, and I did not hear or see any aircraft during my one-day stay (well, approaches might be different on different days)
2. Room is clean, windows can be opened, and not a lot of buildings around: enough sunlight
3. Staff: friendly and efficient, both check-in and check-out took less than 1 minute
4. Food: good breakfast. There is a small market near the front desk, and the price is reasonable
Nice to do:
The airport staff are totally not aware of this hotel, and it is not in their directory. So if someone does not have the telephone number of the hotel, there will be quite some efforts for him/her.

Room Tip: I do not have enough experiences in this hotel to give useful tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CW_BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

I thank you for your perfect rating on TripAdvisor and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found our location, room, staff and breakfast as the highlights of your experience .
Again, thank you for your business and we look forward to your return when traveling to our area in the future.

Enjoy your Holidays!

Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

OK, ill be honest we are using points and clearly this is a category one hotel so still a good deal. However, we have stayed at other Hyatt Houses and I must admit it is a step or two down in my experience. The rooms 1 Bedroom are certainly well kept and have newer furniture.(One down side is that they do not have two bedrooms)The kitchen is not a full kitchen in my view.(No Oven) so on a long term stay you deal with a two burner stove top or a microwave. The refrigerator is a full size and the dishwasher. The beds though do not appear nor feel like what i would experience at a Hyatt. The food amenities are fair at best and after the third day we decided to cook our own eggs and breakfast.(Coffee is well brewed though) The breakfast menu and choices are poor and ill update the post with photos perhaps. They do have a omelette bar which is cool if you can find the cook but dont ask for a simple fried egg because they only have the Sysco liquid eggs which are known for flushing out your system rapidly. There also is no Hyatt House social hour which contrary to business travelers needs is actually welcomed and a relief from expense report hell. They of course use the term social hour at check in as the bar is open for a 6 dollar Sierra Nevada. However, if you stayed at the one in Herndon or others the social hour is different. Perhaps, they do this because there is a Comfort Inn next door and they may get too many visitors. I will say we two maintenance issues and they did respond quickly.. Bravo to maintenance here and too the young soviet block girl (Mona I believe) front desk clerk that gives our daughter a cute little doll almost every time.

Room Tip: My guess is that most rooms are well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanguru1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule and providing us your feedback in TripAdvisor. I apologize that your room and breakfast/dinner experience were anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Currently, the Hyatt House brand is switching from the Evening Social to the HBar offering and we are one of the first hotels to put the HBar in place. By 2014, you will find all Hyatt House to be consistent with our Brand standard. I do apologize that this has brought some confusion. We will also undergo some soft good renovation in a couple of weeks and our beds will be one of the items replaced.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us.It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great spot. Good breakfast to start the day, everything was clean, everyone is nice, and the rooms are perfect whether you're there to relax or work. Lots of space, nice kitchenette, was able to prepare some meals there. Airport is nearby for convenience, also near highways to get where you're going.

Would easily go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hello Matthew R.!

Thank you kindly for the wonderful feedback and taking some time out of your busy schedule to provide us your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to always provide our guests with a exceptional stay.

We hope to see you again soon!

At your service,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This property is about a 5 minute drive to Dulles Airport. The hotel shuttle was very efficient and was available to take us to the airport at 6:05 a.m. The night prior to our departure, the shuttle came to pick us up at the Rental Car location where we returned our car -- not wanting to go thru the hassle of returning it in the predawn hours on the morning of our flight.

The breakfast was was ample and the cooked to order omelettes were delicious. Starbucks coffee was served.

The room was comfortable and quiet.

We got a very good weekend rate.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators -- they emit a loud "chirp" at each floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We appreciate the positive feedback! We are glad that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The rooms were utterly spotless, the staff was friendly and incredibly helpful, and I liked the location- a bit set off to itself, but still convenient to restaurants, shopping, and somewhat near the Metro. My single complaint is that the mattress was way too hard. And to anyone wary of staying that close to Dulles, I did not hear a single plane the entire week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fl7689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are all delighted that you had a 'Perfect Stay"! Our beds are scheduled to be replaced as part of our renovation.

We look forward to your return and have a safe trip!

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.6 mi away
Best Western Dulles Airport Inn
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
1,226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-4323 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
#8 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range: $80 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing