We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail goes for the hotel but I guess not the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Before I touch on the negative I need to let you know this is a great hotel in a great location, great great great I can't say that enough I would with out hesitation stay here again and would encourage everyone to stay here the hotel is beautiful, the room is amazing and the breakfast is second to none....but...

When I booked the room (directly from the hotel's site) they offered basically a $30 discount if you pre-paid...which I did.

I booked and paid for the one bedroom suite check in was at 3pm I arrived at 2:30pm others were checking in I got in line. Without a question they checked me in got me a room and off we went. I got to my room...studio suite (downgrade) I went downstairs and thought, hey simple mistake no big deal, no harm, no foul. I pointed out to the front desk staff that I pre-paid for a one bedroom suite and got a studio, this guy gave me the biggest deer in the headlights look I had ever seen, he took my confirmation from me looked at it like it was in a foreign language, looked at his computer (he still hasn't said a word to me) after five minutes of back and forth between the computer and my print out from home he said, "you need to come back in an hour." Why?" I asked. "You room's not ready” So you just gave me a lesser room and didn't tell me or offer a refund for the difference. His response was, "oh, sorry 'bout that." After an hour I did in fact get the proper room but the front desk staff didn't even tell me about it, no "sorry you had to sit in the lobby for an hour here's your key." He sent the bell hop over with the key and didn't say a word to me.

Now again other than that the room was great both rooms I saw during this stay and the lobby is very nice too I'm qualified to say that since I sat there for an hour. Fast forward to the next morning.

At 9am I got up, left my wife asleep in bed and I headed down stairs to get breakfast for the two of us, I returned to my wife frantic and fully dressed. My god what happened, she said shortly after I left the room there was a knock on the door she cussed me for forgetting my key and wiped the sleep from her eyes and headed to let me in. As she entered the living area of the room the door fling open and it was housekeeping standing face to face with my half-naked wife housekeeping backed out of the room and didn't say a word. And best of all I had the Don Not Disturb sign on the door. I stomped down to the front desk and it was my buddy from the day before I told him what happened and guess what he said...yup, you guessed it, "oh sorry about that."

Other than that it was great

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chadmbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Front Office Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 664 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2008

Nice new hotel. Room was beautiful, breakfast was outstanding. Since I was there for business the location was fine. This is not where I would stay for lesiure travel. My only complaint was that I asked a month in advance for a ground floor room, and did not get one. Oh, and the "bistro" at night was BS. If I am going to pay $5 for a glass of wine I expect there to be dancing girls or something.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank torp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Front Office Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

This hotel is amazing by far! We had a 1 Bedroom Suite and totally loved it. The room and hotel is brand new with tons of top of the line eminities. The hotel grounds also have a full basketball court, a swimming pool with a hot-tub, and cozy chairs that couples can sit in together. Near the pool you will also find a fire pit you can sit by and have a glass of wine or whatever you choose to do while lounging out. There is a lobby with a beautiful fireplace you can sit by and warm your toes.

If you are looking for a Boutique Manhattan style Penthouse Suite for the price you will definately look twice at (totally cheap) this is the place! It reminds me of a honeymoon style hotel with tons of extras that are included but you don't pay the big sticker price for.

Will DEFINATELY stay here again. Very close to I-95 so on my next road trip I will be stopping in for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank my2marks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Front Office Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KjetilRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Front Office Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank klimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Front Office Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Richk582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Front Office Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Beachnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Front Office Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sterling hotels
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.6 mi away
Best Western Dulles Airport Inn
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-4323 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
#8 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range: $80 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing