We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for layover and more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal QC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great for layover and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed one night, on layover - it was very close to airport, but more importantly, for the price was definately great. Quiet, spacious room, comfortable, bed and linens great, toothpaste in the room, we had a mini-kitchen that would have been nice if we were there more than 12hours ; ) And we had free wifi in the room !!!!!

They had a free shuttle but we taxi'd over on arrival, our flight was late and we were tired!

I had a problem with the reservation "I" made through hotels.com - but the staff went over and beyond in patience to rectify and assist me on resolving this. All was good although I ended up paying $10 more.... It was late (10 or 11pm) by the time we got there - so the 'lounge bar' was closed unfortunately. We looked at the outside pool (closed obviously in winter), and the gym was tiny with a couple of cardio machines and weights.

The free breakfast in a clean and spacious lounge area was more than adequate, and included a made-to-order omelette station, fresh fruit, various cereals and breads, etc.. yes nice plastic utensils, but definately not an issue. We ate around 6am, and shuttled away on the 630am free shuttle back to the airport!

Definately recommend it.....

ps: I think we had a handicap type room so not sure this is why it was so spacious, as the shower would have accomodated a wheelchair I seem to recall !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingSuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! We are glad to hear that you had a great stay even if it was so short. We also appreciate your recommendation!

We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your future return.

Safe travels,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    128
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
179
92
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked several nights at the Hyatt House based on price, but it has been a really great experience. The hotel is located very conveniently to Dulles airport and to roadways into DC. I found the room to be very well appointed and have particularly enjoyed the full kitchen with full sized refrigerator and two burners in addition to the microwave and dishwasher. The breakfast has been very good, and they do offer some dinner options at the bar. It has the best guest pantry I have come across. The exercise room is basic, but has what I need to work out. The pool isn't open, given the weather, but looks good. There's also a sort of basketball/tennis court that also looks inviting. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
It was a pleasure to be your host during your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you found our locaton, staff and amenities great.

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your return.

Safe travels.
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently finished up a two night stay at the Hyatt House Dulles and I was very impressed. The hotel was clean, fresh and very friendly. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms large and spotless and the breakfast was fatastic! The price was excellent and it's close proximity to the Dulles Air and Space Museum could'nt be beat. I would not hesitate to stay here again if a hotel is needed in this area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel 'clean, fresh and very friendly'. We appreciate the wonderful commentsl.

We look forward to your return and you can always count on us!

Best Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I never stayed at this hotel but I must say I will be searching for a HYATT house hotel anywhere I go. The hotel lobby, room and breakfast is wonderful!!! The only thing I would've loved is for the location to be a little closer to Dc or Potomic Mills eventhough it was only about 25 min away from downtown DC. I will definetly be making a trip back, friendly staff, clean rooms, wonderful breakfast, I couldn't of asked for anything more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreema1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for giving us an 'Excellent' review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and our friendly staff.
We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Best,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I love this hotel its chic and value. Nice big convenient hotel near the Dulles toll road and airport and right on the highway directly to all the things you want to go to . Very well designed hotel with clean and well kept rooms and great customer service and respect to all visitors. I felt like every dollar spent was well spent on the room provided. Nice flat screen TV and comfortable layout to relax and enjoy the moment. Nice fridge and tables. Nice walk in shower and set up.
Bed beautifully designed and sheets with perfect thread count. Plush pillows and open layout.
I say make a reservation and get a room and explore the area and get a good feel of what good planning gets you and value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIMEX2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you think we are a "very well designed hotel with clean and well kept rooms and with great customer service". It was a pleasure to be your host while staying with us. Please keep us in mind when traveling to our area in the future.

We appreciate your comments!

Best,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I frequently work in the Herndon area and have for years stayed at either the Dulles Hilton or the Dulles Hyatt. I recently stayed (3 nights / 2 visits) at the Sterling Hyatt House, and, based on my very pleasant experience, plan to stay here instead of my two old stalwarts.

The two rooms I stayed in at the Hyatt House, one a one bedroom the other a studio, were clean, comfortable, and well furnished. All appliances worked and were in good repair. The china, utensils, and glassware were in good condition and of good quality. Internet access was included and was fast and reliable. TV channel selection was terrific.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The included breakfast buffet, with made to order omelets was adequate, and, while not on par with the Embassy Suites, it is way better than what is offered at many other locations such as the Homewood Suites, or a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_Red_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience with us. It is always nice to hear such wonderful comments about our team and the hotel. I am glad that you have now chosen to stay with us. I will make sure to share this with all my team members.

We look forward seeing you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If this place is rated No 1 in Sterling, it says very little for the other properties in the area. Our room was Spartan at best. We saw online pictures of sofa's and walk in showers, but our room was two beds, a playwood frame desk screwed to the wall and a TV about the size of a computer monitor. No sofa, no walk in shower, no fridge or microwave. In fact, the furnishings were about the same as you find at any Motel 6. Standard bathroom with sink and tub. Certainly not what you would expect from a Hyatt property.

There were two of us in the room and only two "well-worn" towels, both of which my son used shortly after arrival. Called three times for a couple extra towels which never came.

Breakfast was chaotic at best. Had to ask for plastic plates and forks, fruit was empty and coffee had run out. Scrambled eggs were coId, line-up for "omlettes" was longer than I have seen on a 3,000 passenger cruise ship, so we left and bought breakfast on the way into the city. I visit the Washington area often and typically stay in the IAD area. But this place is off my list for the future. Too many better properties to chose from.

"Adequate" rating is appropriate, for comparison to other 21/2 and 3 star hotels in this area, average is probably being too kind.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the candid review! With guest feedback being very important to us we use all comments both the positive and negative to evaluate our product and services. I do apologize that in this instance we did not meet your expectations or the standard we have set. Your comments have been shared with the Housekeeping and Food and Beverage staff.

I hope that you give us another chance in the future and thank you, once again, for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Property: HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Address: 45520 Dulles Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-4323 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
#8 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington-Dulles Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 162 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located in the Technology Corridor just 2 miles north of Dulles International Airport off Route 28. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travelocity so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing