We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour is great!”

O'Faolain's Irish Pub
Ranked #11 of 246 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 7 & Palisades Parkway
Description: Our menu naturally features many favorite traditional dishes but also reflects contemporary Ireland with its strong European culinary influences. However what the Irish value most in their hospitality is its friendliness.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Happy Hour is great!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Happy Hour at the bar is great (M-F, 3-7pm) with many food and drink specials! Nice atmosphere and friendly bartenders makes this a great after work hangout.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkk918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    49
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Brunch”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visit our son in Sterling, VA once a month for brunch. We had been going to a restaurant 30 minutes away from where he lives after a 2 hour drive. We complained that we did not want to drive an additional 30 minutes for brunch at a very expensive restaurant for sub service and mediocre food. He found O'Faolain's. I ordered bananas foster french toast which were good. The bananas were just ripe and the sauce was sweet enough you did not need pancake syrup. My son and husband ordered the American breakfast served with eggs, corn beef hash, bacon and pecan honey butter sauce. the breakfast was fresh, delicious and filling. The service was excellent. The coffee was brewed fresh and was delicious. We each has two cups. There is also a happy hour for brunch. We had the Mimosa and Bloody Mary. Perfect drinks and very affordable. Will be back again to try the Peach Schnapps drink with breakfast. It was a convenient location. The restaurant is very big, plenty of space inside with outside seating. So happy we found this restaurant, so convenient and very economical with perfect service and very good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagVeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenshaw, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gigantic portions”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is definitely a place to eat if you are in the area. The hotel we were staying at recommended this restaurant and it was easy to see why just by walking in the front door. Don't let the crowded parking lot fool you, the place is huge inside and it has a bar and large seating area behind it. Beware of the huge portions - we thought we were ordering a relatively normal amount of food, but when it arrived we could have fed an additional three or four people! The battered sausages and seafood chowder are a must!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Classic modern pub”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Forget the strip mall location and enjoy the authentic pub that is O'Faolain's (say it Oh-Foy-lins). The interior is airy and open but with a warm feeling and your choice of bar or dining room. The menu combines typical pub food with some Irish favorites. Everything we've had to eat on our many visits has been well-prepared if not exciting. The servers are friendly and helpful and you will often hear a hint of the Emerald Isle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohmyandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, kid friendly dining room, good food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at this Irish pub on a Sunday afternoon. The staff was very friendly and service was prompt. We liked the separate bar and dining area. Our food was good, if not outstanding. We'll go back the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCFamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Faolain's Irish Pub also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to O'Faolain's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing