We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed stay during hurricane Sandy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed stay during hurricane Sandy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our connecting flight was cancelled due to Sandy. (We had booked this Comfort Inn ahead of time in case our International connection to domestic didn't allow enough time) The Inn is close enough to the airport. The room was spacious, well appointed with couch, refrigerator, microwave, wet bar, large LCD TV. The problem we had was that the staff were ill prepared to "manage" guests, etc. when the hurricane started to approach the area. There are restaurants in the area...but a couple miles away. They usually deliver...but, delivery, shuttle stopped while Sandy was raging. We asked the desk if they were going to open up the breakfast bar so stranded guests could get something to eat. The answer was NO! We were told that there was a vending machine with candy bars and sodas. We asked if the building was equiped with a generator in case the power went out. The answer was "I don't know". Fortunately, we didn't have a power outage. However, being stuck for 2 1/2 days with only breakfast available from 6-10 a.m. doesn't cut it when one doesn't have the means to leave to go somewhere for food. When we finally were able to rent a car (flights continued to be cancelled) we had to wait for "on the hour" shuttle service to go back to the airport. There were quite a few "stranded" guests at the hotel. It would have made all the difference in the world if management would have typed up something to sslip under guests doors, or at least post out at the desk. The desk staff simply acted as if it were any day...and not one where thousands of peoples lives were being altered...No compassion or consideration. A simple update for the guests and some granola bars, yogurt, or pieces of fruit would have garnered a lot of goodwill in a very stressful time for travelors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arriba1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is true that many guests got stranded at our property from October 28th - 30th 2012 due to Hurricane Sandy. I stayed myself at the hotel the night when Sandy hit.
A lot of restaurants were opened during the storm, and many of the guests took advantage of their delivery services. We even had our weekly Manager's Reception, which was annouced by a sign at the reception desk. This complimentary offer includes dinner buffet, beer and wine.
We do have back up battery for the emergency lights in the hallways, which lasts up to 6 hours, but thankfully we did not have to make use of it since there was no power loss. We also purchased extra flashlights to give out to the guests in case of power outage.
We do appreciate that you took your time to leave a comment, and hope to see you again!
Regards, Jay Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    114
    35
    10
    16
See reviews for
76
56
59
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I took a group of 14 students and two adults to Washington, DC and we stayed at this Comfort Inn for two nights. We got excellent service. We planned on the hotel's shuttle service to and from Dulles on four occasions. Because of the number of people in the group the hotel provided two shuttle runs to accomodate all of us. The wait between shuttles was minimal which allowed us to keep to our schedule. When we first arrived in the evening, we couldn't fit everyone in the group into the Comfort Inn shuttle van, so Hector, the Comfort Inn shuttle driver, arranged with a Holiday Inn shuttle driver to take the remaining members of our party to the Comfort Inn. We appreciated that a lot. In addition, Velia shuttled all of us (two runs) to the Air and Space Museum at Dulles - not a normal route for the shuttle. The hotel accomodated us very well at a very reasonable price. The continental breakfast fed 14 hungry teenagers, who had NO complaints.
Internet service was free which we all really appreciated. However, it was slow. Access to a computer and printer was also appreciated but the computer software should be upgraded so that .pdf file boarding passes can be printed. All in all, a nice experience for a group of 16. We paln to come back to this hotel next year on our annual Washington, DC trip.

Room Tip: The rooms we were assigned worked very well for us. They kept our group pretty much together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BroTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Recently renovated Comfort Inn, tucked behind a much more upscale appearing Hyatt Place hotel. Check-in was seamless. Room was actually pretty nice. It was a suite, separated by a small wet bar. Large LCD television and a sitting area by the window.

Bed was reasonably comfortable although the pillows were kind of lumpy . There were no power outlets at the bedside, but the desk had two. There was no outside noise, but there was a lot of hallway noise. Walls and doors were very thin.

Very good location - around 2 miles to the Dulles airport. Personally I think the price is a little high for this property. I would pay $80-$90 per night here, but not more. There are higher quality options nearby. Still, this was adequate.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night after arriving at IAD late at night. There is a free shuttle to/from the hotel; you have to call for pickup. The time between the call and the pickup was about 10-15 minutes; the hotel is less than 10 minutes drive from the airport, so it is fairly convenient.

The hotel itself is pretty typical for this class of hotel. The rooms are clean and large, though somewhat dark. Amenities are average (coffee, fridge, basic toiletries, etc.). The staff are cheerful and helpful.

The location is somewhat isolated, and really only convenient for the airport. The shuttle does NOT run to the metro, which is somewhat disappointing.

Complimentary breakfast is provided (waffles, cereal, eggs, breakfast meats, etc.), as is complimentary wireless internet. Wireless speeds were okay, but not great.

Overall, a reasonable place for an overnight while transiting through IAD, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivekSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The rooms are nice. My particular room was a single bed and smallish, but worked well for my one night stay. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel staff went out of their way to make you comfortable. I would recommend as a good location to stay at prior to a next day flight. I don't know if I would want to stay here a week without a car as there really is nothing within walking distance, but I ordered delivery and the restaurant provided speedy service. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbenn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Rooms are a bit dark, but large. Toilet flushes loud. Good shuttle service for Dulles Airport, friendly front desk staff. Stayed here twice in three weeks' time and they returned my kettle, which I had forgotten after my previous stay. My compliments on that point!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acwNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I checked into this hotel late at night (without a reservation) and would be happy to stay again. The front desk staff was quite friendly and helpful, offering me coffee and cookies. The rate wasn't terribly low, but I didn't expect a room near Dulles to be low-priced, and I believe it was comparable to the other hotels nearby.

The room was spotless and well-maintained. I saw no maintenance issues, and the bathroom was quite large. The beds had fresh, comfortable linens and the air conditioner was just loud enough to cover any noise from outside, but not loud enough to keep me awake. I didn't even need to use the noise app I generally must have to get to sleep in hotels. The room had a large TV with plenty of channels as well as free wifi.

I was in a hurry so I didn't make in-room coffee, but there was a selection of both coffee and tea, and the coffee pot is located in the room, not the bathroom. The hotel also has complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wearywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.1 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Address: 45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sterling
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#8 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites Dulles Airport is the ideal destination for travelers who want a variety of amenities in a fun and family-friendly location. Use our complimentary Wi-Fi to look up interesting things to do in the Dulles area from our hotel, including a fast trip to the nearby Udvar Hazy Space Center at the Smithsonian National Air & Space Museum, or to many of the close shopping districts that Dulles has to offer. There's something for everyone when you stay at our comfortable hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway Hotel Sterling
Comfort Inn And Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Comfort Inn Sterling
Quality Inn Sterling
Sterling Quality Inn
Sterling Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing