We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awful Staff- Sales Lady was VERY RUDE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful Staff- Sales Lady was VERY RUDE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Sales lady Was very RUDE! Will never stay there again nor recommend this place!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ericagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    36
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
17
27
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

I've stayed at this hotel twice and am really impressed with the quality of service and cleanlness.

The staff is very helpfull, very nice people. Also this property has a great gym room and the location is close to many resturants. But the best part is now clean the rooms are. Everything looked like it was wiped down from the microwave to the toaster. It looks brand new. I felt really comfortable!!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2006

We left with very mixed reviews. Firstly, we paid $159 + taxes/night for a one bedroom suite. We stayed for a week in November.


Upon booking the Candlewood website gave me no indication that you are responsible for taking your own trash out, picking up your own towels and if you run out of toilet paper you need to request it from the front desk. Half the front desk staff was amazingly nice and gracious and half was not too thrilled to be there. If you stay under a week no one will clean your room at all.


Now we booked a one bedroom suite, with a pull out sofa. The pull out sofa was painfully uncomfortable, and I would not suggest anyone attempt to sleep on it. I found the bedding to be scratchy, and the drapes allow in a great deal of light early in the morning. Also the word suite makes you think the room will be larger than you average room. However, while the suite was larger than your average hotel room, it was not that much larger.


If you are a night owl like myself, and want to ask the front desk for anything, you should do it before 11 p.m. as the front desk shuts down at 11 p.m. and starts back up again at 7 a.m. I think that someone is in the back and you need to dial 0 for assistance but they put up signs stating their hours and encourage you to come back during operating hours.


To be fair there are a lot of great things about the hotel as well. It is immaculacy clean, everything is gleaming new, it is extremely close to IAD airport and they have a free shuttle that runs late. They have all the conveniences, shopping and food within a 5 minute walk, sometimes only a 1-2 minute walk away. Walmart, Sam’s Club, Nordstrom, Cheesecake Factory, Wegman’-anything you could possibly need is right there.
The kitchen was fully equipped kitchen including full-size refrigerator with ice maker, dishwasher, microwave, and stovetop, plus a variety of dishes, cookware. There was a large area with two-line phone and free high-speed Internet access. As well 2 televisions with DVD player

However, I was really put off by the price $159/night + taxes for what seemed like an experience with almost no basic customer service. For that price one would be expecting some better customer service, a breakfast included or maybe some nicer bedding and towels.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank hotel2006av
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

Stayed here for 9 days recently

Hotel is in a great location with lots of nearby shops (Walmart, Sams, Best Buy, Dulles Town Center) and restaurants (Chili's, Uno's, Longhorns,...).

Room was clean and had a full sized fridge, dishwasher, and microwave. There was also plates, pots, pans, and utensils.

Wireless internet is free. There is also a jack or wired internet but I did not try it. Local calls are also free.

There was a DVD/VCR player and free movie rentals. TV had a god variety of channels including HBO, ESPN, and kids channels such as Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon, and Disney.

There are 2 barbeques outside that are available for guests. They also have a free barbeque once a month which I was lucky enough to enjoy!

Laundry facilities are free to use. There is a small gym. The Candlewood Cupboard had a variety of items at a reasonable price (50 cents for a can of Coke).

My only complaint was that the water pressure in the shower was not great.

One thing that I found odd was that the only towel rack was just above the toilet so there was nowhere to hang a towel other than on a hook on the bathroom wall.

Just a comment on the other post. I inspected thoroughly and I saw no bed bugs.

I would stay here again. In fact, I have already booked another reservation for next month.

  • Liked — location, fridge, microwave, free internet
  • Disliked — low waer pressure in shower
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank golfer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

This was a decent place to stay. The kitchenette was great with a full size fridge, microwave and a couple electric burners for cooking. There was also a dishwasher and the necessary dishes, cookware and silverware.

However, several days into my stay, I found a bed bug on the bedspread. We haven't found any other bugs or evidence of a large infestation, but this was still disturbing The manager seemed surprised to find out there were bed bugs in our room. However, when the housekeeper came to the room to change the sheets, we asked her if she had seen any bugs and she said that there were lots of bugs at the hotel. I find it hard to believe that we are the first to alert the manager to this problem.

Also, although the room was nonsmoking, it still had a musty smoke smell each time we entered the room.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Operating Partner/Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, June 15, 2006
As the Manager of this hotel, when the guest informed us of this situation, we were stunned. I opened this property less than 2 years ago and take much pride in it as I am also the Operating Partner.

We called in the Pest Control Specialist the next day. I went into the suite with him and took everything apart to search for more. As the Specialist relayed to me, bed bugs do not travel in 1's, they multiply expediently, and they will always leave signs behind. Nothing else was found.

When our housekeepers go into suites, oftentimes guests talk to them, they smile and nod. Not one of ours speaks much English . . . This housekeeper was probably misunderstood.

I would like to thank this person for writing a review and it is unfortunate their information was misunderstood. We appreciate all comments, both positive and negative, this is one way that we can truely provide GREAT service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

This is a really nice place to stay in this area. It's not stuck in the middle of a bunch of stuff, but still close enough to drive (nothing really within walking distance except for WalMart, Best Buy, etc.).
Like the one other Candlewood I've stayed at (Salt Lake City, UT) the rooms are spacious, very clean and modern. Great gym, a pantry with snacks and toiletries, movies to check out. There's a Wegman's grocery store within 5-minutes. Restaurants, theater, book stores, Dulles Town Center mall also within 5-minutes.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2005

If you are like me and don't usually like hotels, the candlewood is perfect. Nice roomy rooms (we got the suite with bedroom), fully equiped kitchen and great internet (wired and wireless)

I brought my family along for this business trip from europe and I am very happy I did it.. .except for the jet lag.

The hotel is close to shopping, has a nice gym is very clean and new. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sterling hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
1.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Address: 45520 Severn Way, Sterling, VA 20166-8942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sterling
#11 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An All-Suite Hotel with Full Kitchens, ample free parking, and Candlewood Values abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Sterling
Candlewood Sterling
Sterling Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing