We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Smokey Room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
SF Bay Area, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Smokey Room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I reserved a non-smoking room through our corporate account at work and to my disappointment, I was given a smoking room because there was nothing else available. The receptionists were kind enough to put air purifiers in the room to neutralize the smell however the odor was too strong in the room and in the hallway for me to get a good night's rest so I left and checked into a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RO A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear RO A,

Thank you for your comments. It is important that we get the feedback both positive and negative for this is the only way we know how to improve our hotel and services.

Please know that we do not purposely over book rooms. Oftentimes, there are rooms available at the time of booking, and then since we are an extended stay hotel, the guest in that room may have their job extended.

We should be more proactive in the future by calling the guest in advance so they can make other arrangements if necessary.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback, we hope that you will allow us an opportunity to serve you again.

The Candlewood Suites Sterling Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    38
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
18
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here as part of group for Rolling Thunder weekend. You can't beat this price (about $70/night) for the value provided. The woman who checked us in was friendly and helpful as was the guy who helped me when I needed more towels and a replacement light bulb the next day. It's important to understand that this is an extended stay hotel, not a full service hotel. They make it very clear that towels are not changed out daily for example, and that was just fine. It's quiet, well kept and has everything you need. The evening we arrived, the hallway did smell like someone had been smoking, but that smell was gone the next day. It's very clear that you can't smoke on the floor or in the rooms, but I'd bet that someone had not followed that requirement. It's a short walk to several restaurants; Walmart and Sam's Club are on the adjacent parking lot. I'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear JoeSetta,

Thank you so much for staying with us once again during the Memorial Day weekend Rolling Thunder ride. It is a pleasure to serve your group year after year.

Next time you visit, we will have newly renovated Kitchens and Bathrooms providing for a very updated and modern look!

We look forward to serving you again.

The Candlewood Suites Sterling Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

All of the staff and management went out of their way to make this stay the best of all of the hotels that I stayed in on my 35 day road trip! I want to especially thank the General Manager Laila Oinas for her help. Obviously she is doing a great job as it isn't often that the staff praise their manager in such glowing terms. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask the staff... they actually know what they are doing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidqualitystamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Davidqualitystamps,

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff! The General Manager has been there since the hotel opened many years ago and takes so much pride in her hotel, services, and most importantly, the employees.

If your travels bring you back to the area, next time you will find newly renovated Kitchens and Bathrooms in our suites! We look forward to the opportunity to serve you.

The Candlewood Suites Sterling Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Every chance I get to stay at candlewood sterling I look forward to it the staff treats you very well Rossa and Sarceon are awesome they bring a smile to my face. The company I work for will pay for me to stay at Best Western but I'd rather pay out of my own pocket to stay at Candlewood Sterling
Thanks to the staff

Robert Price

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear: Mr. Price

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are very pleased that Rosa & Saroun are delivering a great customer service. We really appreciate your comments. We look forward to provide you with another comfortable stay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stay here at least a couple times a week. Yicel is usually the person on duty. She is very nice and helpful. Always has my info ready to go and making a reservation with her is very easy. The rest of the staff is great too.

The rooms are always very clean. I really like their free laundry. They do not have room service but they do have a nice snack room and there are local places to go.

You can't go wrong staying here. Rooms are affordable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyler g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Tyler G,

Thank you for the compliments about our hotel! We love to hear that our staff is providing fast, and efficient service. We pride ourselves on giving our guests quiet, clean, and comfortable rooms to stay.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

The Candlewood Suites Sterling Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this candle wood was so nice and helpful!!! They went out of their way to be welcoming of us and our dog. We have stayed here before and have always have been satisfied with everything. The rooms are clean and we can always get anything that we made need in a timely fashion. My boyfriend works nice and the staff is very quiet during the day which is a very big plus in our book!! Thank you for the great service!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorioustory28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Victorioustory,

We are so happy that we were able to make you and your husbands, and dogs stay comfortable! Our staff respects your privacy and we do keep pretty quiet during the day time! Plus, it helps that our suite doors are more like Apartment doors than flimsy cheaper doors. They are really great in sealing out exterior sounds.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

The Candlewood Suites Sterling Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel is located an easy drive from Dulles airport. We were a large group and could not continue our trip due to a raging snow storm. All our contacts with this hotel by phone were handled courteously and efficiently. The whole staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The rooms were very clean and well supplied. No ice machines in the hotel, but there is some located across the parking lot. Nice people, clean suites, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Danni,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about the wonderful service you received during your unexpected layover in Dulles. We are happy to know that we made your and your groups stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

The Candlewood Suites Sterling Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
0.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
3.0 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Address: 45520 Severn Way, Sterling, VA 20166-8942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sterling
#11 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An All-Suite Hotel with Full Kitchens, ample free parking, and Candlewood Values abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Sterling
Candlewood Sterling
Sterling Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing