We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It was normal stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was normal stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The normal for Candlewood is usually excellent. It was an older hotel, but was very clean and the staff was professional and friendly. Will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: It did not have swimming pool or restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments! This hotel is 8 years old and has recently undergone minor renovations, 32" flat panel televisions and new beds this past year. We soon expect to have a brand new bedding package through Candlewood and are hopeful it will roll out this summer. We continue to update and revise our capital budget to assure we are keeping up with the times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    36
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
17
27
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Saruon Chuan was extremely helpfull and friendly. Fast check in. He always remembers me by name when checking in

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear David C.,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Customer Service you recieved by Saroun! We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service possible. And remembering repeat guests names is huge! We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I travel for work and have stayed here whenever I'm in the area. The staff is always friendly, the accomadations are nice, and the rates are very reasonable. I love the large selection of Dvd's and the free washers and dryers! If your ever in the area this place is well worth the money you pay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Steven T.,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a comment about our hotel! We pride ourselved on providing excellent customer service and the only way we know we are doing it 100% correctly is by getting the feedback from previous guests as yourself!

We love that you were able to enjoy our Complimentary DVD Lending Library. We strive to keep a full rack of movies with a variety of selections for everybody to choose from.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have stayed at a few other extended stay style hotels in the area and the Candlewood suites in sterling is by far the best! The Asian guy at the desk was very nice and upgraded my room and helped me with directions. The rooms were very clean and I love the silky smooth linens. Pillows were not very comfy but I got firm pillows from the front desk and they were great. Stay at this hotel for great service, clean rooms, and great shopping walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katier28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thanks for the acknowledgment that we are the best Extended Stay hotel in the area! We hope to have a brand new bedding package by summer or fall that will include all new and additional, fluffy hotel pillows, but don't forget, you can always use our 'feather or foam' philosophy by getting additional, or different pillow from the Front Desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have been coming to Candlewood Suites in Sterling off and on for about 5 years. The staff are warm, go out of there way to assist you with anything you need. The Cupboard is great when you are tired or don't have the time to go and get personal items, food or drinks. It has a Country feel like home but it is great for business stays. The washer/dryers are accessible for free so you do not need to think about quarters. One less thing to deal with freeing you up for other things.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear B D.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your continual stays with us! We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and know that by comments like yours, we are being successful.

We look forward to continuing to serve you during your next visit!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, M
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My wife and I like to stay at Candlewood Suites when we are traveling, they have all been great experiences and had all the amenities allow you to basically be at home, load the fridge up, cook snacks or complete meals everything you need is ready for your use.

I have never written a review before but when one of then stands out you have to let other's know about this hidden gem in Sterling, VA. We were visiting our Grand Kids in Ashburn, VA, so we were pleased to find that this location was only a few miles from where they live, I called the Hotel and talked with a very pleasant young man, who upon check in turned out to be the resident manager. Viet Tu greeted us upon check in and answered our questions about the area and helped us with some idea's on places to visit and some great local restaurants for Mexican or Italian food. Our room was perfect, high speed internet, nice TV, a complete kitchen, comfy bed with lots of pillows and soft towels. We really enjoyed our visit with Grand Kids and coming back to the hotel was like coming home, we were that comfortable. I recommend that if you looking for a place to stay for a few days or weeks you can't go wrong.

We look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We love that we are able to provide a comfortable nights sleep along with amenities that you may not really need for a few days stay, but are an added bonus to have. Just to have ice cold drinks from you refrigerator, and a microwave to heat up restaurant leftovers, are simple enough amenities to make ones stay more relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked this hotel on priceline which listed this hotel a non-smoking hotel. When we got there, we were given a room on the 4th floor which apparently is a smoking wing. We complained that the hotel was advertised as non-smoking and we could not stay there because of my husband's health problems. They refused to give us a refund and only offered to move us to a non-smoking room which was not acceptable. The hotel inside needs to be updated. It definitely does not look like the adverage 2 star hotel we stay in while in the Sterling VA area.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is smoking. The first three floors are non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
We are thankful that this guest has notified us that Priceline listed us as all Non Smoking so we can address the mistake with them. This hotel has always been a mix of smoking and non smoking. Most of the hotel is non smoking, only 17% of it is smoking and those suites are on one floor of the building. It was Priceline that could not issue a refund to the customer. The hotel did offer to move the guest to a non smoking suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sterling hotels
1.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
0.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Address: 45520 Severn Way, Sterling, VA 20166-8942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sterling
#11 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An All-Suite Hotel with Full Kitchens, ample free parking, and Candlewood Values abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Sterling
Candlewood Sterling
Sterling Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing