We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Always a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Always a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have been coming to Candlewood Suites in Sterling off and on for about 5 years. The staff are warm, go out of there way to assist you with anything you need. The Cupboard is great when you are tired or don't have the time to go and get personal items, food or drinks. It has a Country feel like home but it is great for business stays. The washer/dryers are accessible for free so you do not need to think about quarters. One less thing to deal with freeing you up for other things.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear B D.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your continual stays with us! We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and know that by comments like yours, we are being successful.

We look forward to continuing to serve you during your next visit!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    38
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
18
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, M
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

My wife and I like to stay at Candlewood Suites when we are traveling, they have all been great experiences and had all the amenities allow you to basically be at home, load the fridge up, cook snacks or complete meals everything you need is ready for your use.

I have never written a review before but when one of then stands out you have to let other's know about this hidden gem in Sterling, VA. We were visiting our Grand Kids in Ashburn, VA, so we were pleased to find that this location was only a few miles from where they live, I called the Hotel and talked with a very pleasant young man, who upon check in turned out to be the resident manager. Viet Tu greeted us upon check in and answered our questions about the area and helped us with some idea's on places to visit and some great local restaurants for Mexican or Italian food. Our room was perfect, high speed internet, nice TV, a complete kitchen, comfy bed with lots of pillows and soft towels. We really enjoyed our visit with Grand Kids and coming back to the hotel was like coming home, we were that comfortable. I recommend that if you looking for a place to stay for a few days or weeks you can't go wrong.

We look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We love that we are able to provide a comfortable nights sleep along with amenities that you may not really need for a few days stay, but are an added bonus to have. Just to have ice cold drinks from you refrigerator, and a microwave to heat up restaurant leftovers, are simple enough amenities to make ones stay more relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked this hotel on priceline which listed this hotel a non-smoking hotel. When we got there, we were given a room on the 4th floor which apparently is a smoking wing. We complained that the hotel was advertised as non-smoking and we could not stay there because of my husband's health problems. They refused to give us a refund and only offered to move us to a non-smoking room which was not acceptable. The hotel inside needs to be updated. It definitely does not look like the adverage 2 star hotel we stay in while in the Sterling VA area.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is smoking. The first three floors are non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
We are thankful that this guest has notified us that Priceline listed us as all Non Smoking so we can address the mistake with them. This hotel has always been a mix of smoking and non smoking. Most of the hotel is non smoking, only 17% of it is smoking and those suites are on one floor of the building. It was Priceline that could not issue a refund to the customer. The hotel did offer to move the guest to a non smoking suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

The room was clean and tidy, but the fixtures and decor was out of date. The bedding was clean but seemed worn out. The kitchenette, again tidy, but the cabinets were coming off the hinges a bit. The only thing that appeared new was the television. The bed was almost completely against the wall on one side, making it difficult to get in and out. I was just expecting a lttle nicer of a place. I would rate this an average hotel, but probably would not stay again unless there were no other nice places nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
We appreciate the comments by this customer. We are 8 years new and have begun to undergo renovations. We have recently added 32 inch flat screen TV's and new beds in all the suites. Later this year Candlewood will be launching a new and updated bedding package to include more pillows, and plusher blankets and linen. The kitchens at this hotel are full kitchens with full size refrigerators, microwaves, 2 burner stove tops equipped with pots, pans, and dishes. A guest can shop at the Super Walmart located just blocks from the hotel 24 hours a day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We traveled as a family with our 13 year old son and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean, fresh-smelling and equipped with all that we needed for cooking in the room. The staff was both friendly and helpful. Our son enjoyed the 24 hour cupboard and he and I spent 2 days exploring the Smithsonian Air and Space museum that is located near the Dulles airport -- about 15 minutes away. The location was convenient for my husband's work and we all appreciated the Walmart & Sam's Club that are in walking distance of the hotel. We were also able to make the short drive to DC over the weekend to see the monuments/other attractions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agapeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
We love that we can provide a safe, clean, and comfortable place to stay while traveling with your family or alone on business travel. This hotel is conveniently located walking distance to the Super Walmart, Dulles Mall, and dozens of restaurants. This hotel is also a great location for local business travelers working at Orbital Sciences, AOL, Verizon, Raytheon and SAIC. We appreciate comments like this one helping us to spread the word that Candlewood truly is "a comfort of home!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Knowing that I was going to be working in the Sterling, VA area away from my home State; I solicited some information about this hotel from Michael Fortner. He gave great me information and pictures about this hotel, which peaked my interest enough for me to make a reservation. Once I arrived, I was delighted because the place was more than I expected. Viet, Rosa Maria and the rest of the staff are so accommodating. The place was so well equipped that it felt like home. The location of the hotel is also very convenient for shopping and dining. I will always choose the Candlewood Suites in Sterling, VA whenever I am in the area!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrys1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

My wife and I were treated as honored guests throughout our five month stay. The hotel staff defined the true meaning of service as they made every effort possible to meet our needs. Their dedication to duty and responsibility was consistently evident throughout each day. Friendly smiles and greetings were the norm, not the exception. We consider the staff our friends.

The facilities, although not new, were maintained well above average adding to the responsibility and significance of the success demonstrated by the staff. The rooms are comfortable and quiet adding to the balance of a positive stay while dealing with the uncertainties of travel.

The location is ideal with ready availability to a wide variety of shopping and restaurants within walking distance and even more with a short, hotel provided, shuttle ride.

This hotel would be my first choice when I return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clinedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
It was such a pleasure to have you in our hotel! It is comments like yours that help us to continue to strive better and better to provide each guest with greatest service possible! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sterling hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
0.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Address: 45520 Severn Way, Sterling, VA 20166-8942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sterling
#11 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An All-Suite Hotel with Full Kitchens, ample free parking, and Candlewood Values abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Sterling
Candlewood Sterling
Sterling Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing