We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little TLC involved”

Pattaya Thai Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 246 Restaurants in Sterling
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Sterling, VA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Little TLC involved”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I bought takeout the other day from Pattaya Thai. I ordered Cashew Chicken. The chicken and vegetables were swimming in a bath of grease and oil. It is absolutely noting like what I have experienced in other Thai Restaurants. Pattaya Thai is to Thai Cuisine what Panda Express is to Chinese Cuisine. Overall: Tasteless, greasy, and one of the worse Thai meals I have ever had. I recommend China Way (a block down across the street from Big Lots) if you want a decent Asian takeout.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Doesn't look like much, but spectacular food!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Highly impressed with this one based on previous reviews. The food was outstanding, served hot and very quickly. Far better that any other Thai place I've been throughout my travels. Hope to be able to come back here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EverTravellingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value and good food”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This small restaurant is located in a shopping center that is half vacant but, don't be deterred, it's worth a visit. I ordered Pad Thai with beef, for $9.95 I got a large plate that I couldn't finish. Flavorful without being too spicy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Visitor58087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good service, reasonable prices, so-so food”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I hate to dissent from all the positive reviews. Our view may be tainted by the fact that about three weeks earlier we’d visited our favorite Thai restaurant, Koh Tomyums in Discovery Bay, Hong Kong. By contrast, our meal at Pattaya Thai was disappointing. The shrimp cake was mushy inside, not springy. The missus’ green curry was watery. Worse, she asked for “the mildest possible’’ version and wound getting something too hot to finish. My drunken noodles were spicy too -- but I wanted them that way; I found the dish tasty and the portion more than generous. Service was friendly and prompt. The price was reasonable. But for the most part the food was a letdown.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boweiwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“favorite new Thai restaurant”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have been to Pattaya about a dozen times now and each time the food is consistently good. The tofu/bean sprouts is one of my favorite and the other is Pattaya Tilapia. Service is consistently good too. I would recommend it to all Thai food lovers.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JetLag28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pattaya Thai Restaurant also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Pattaya Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing