We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Avoid the wait and call ahead” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
Ranked #1 of 236 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: American casual restaurant with a micro brewery serving a western inspired menu.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Avoid the wait and call ahead”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A friend took me to this tavern in No VA and I could not believe how busy it was. The wait was estimated to be around 2 hours. Luckily we found two stools at the bar and were able to have an adult beverage while waiting. The actual wait was about 1 hour. I had the crab cakes which were worth the wait. The house red wine was not worth the $8 a glass. If you are going to try this place on a weekend, take advantage of the call ahead wait list service - 703-645-8100.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen8882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    199
    39
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Very Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good food, reasonable prices good service. I visited the Sweetwater Tavern for dinner ... had the crab cakes, very tasty and made with Blue Crab (as they should be). There were many other good looking items on the menu but, as a guy who watches his weight, I restrained myself. Definitely worth another visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jim_julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Va
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Crab Fritters as an Appetizer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I go to Sweetwater on a regular basis. The food never disappoints and the atmosphere is fun and accommodating to nearly any occasion.

I've done lunch & dinner on numerous times and would strongly suggest the Crab Fritters every time for an appetizer.

I have 2 minor "complaints" when thinking of going to Sweetwater for a business lunch -- 1) some times I feel that the ambient noise is rather loud. This should be taken into account if the meeting is critical and you need some place that you can really talk about details (if that is the case, you may want to choose somewhere else). 2) the other item is the restaurant has lots of booths...for business meetings, I prefer to sit in a table with 4 chairs....that is not always easy at this restaurant.

In any case -- both of these issues are minor but something that you may want to consider.

As for the food -- you can't go wrong! Enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank A36127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment I walked in I loved this restaurant. Everyone was so pleasant, the food was delicious, and the beer was super!!! The only problem that I can possibly find (and I only know this b/c my youngest daughter is a hard-core vegetarian) is that they do not offer a decent vegetarian/vegan option. Meat and Beer! Meat and Beer! Yum! Yum! Also, I was shocked at the bill when we got it - VERY reasonable :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Casey0101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sterling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food use to be better, seems a bit too salty, and the menu never seems to change. The home brewed beer is better then the food. The food is still decent but the quality seems to have gone over the years. It's more on par with a TGIF then a better resturarnt which it used to be.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank justmemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing