We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent Dim Sum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden King Restaurant

Golden King Restaurant
Ranked #97 of 236 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
IAD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Not a grand restaurant, but the Dim Sum was good. The carts did not get logged up which normally happens in a Dim Sum Cart Restaurant. The Price was moderate. The Place was clean. Parking was easy since it was in the same lot as the Giant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sudeepd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Cantonese food in the Sterling area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Since re-discovering Golden King (it was recently re-opened as a more traditional sit-down Cantonese style Chinese food restaurant) - I have been there every week! They offer dim sum (carts on the weekends, order by menu on the weekdays) that is equivalent to the other dim sum restaurants in the McLean area but for me it is local and cheaper! But their dinner dishes are what has me sold. My wife is originally from NYC and I from NJ - so we're used to eating at authentic Cantonese style Chinese food restaurants up north. The food at Golden King is close enough to the NYC restaurants to satisfy our craving. The waiters and waitresses mostly speak Cantonese so if you speak the language it is helpful. But they speak English too of course.

In terms of pricing for the dinner dishes - they are very reasonable - and in some cases cheaper than NYC restaurants.

My favorite dish in general is Pan Fried Noodles - and Golden King makes a great one. Get it with pork for extra flavor.

I will definitely be back again and again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Under new ownership”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

A couple of years ago, I remember eating here when it still offered the buffet. I don't really remember too much about it, but I'm pretty sure it wasn't too bad, since I agreed to meet family there again last night. And that's when I found out that the restaurant was under new ownership. Apparently, the new owner did away with the buffet and went to an a la carte menu.

There were 14 in our party so there was quite a few different dishes that were ordered. I'm not going to outline every single item, but let me say that there wasn't a dish that was bad. All the food was freshly cooked, evident by the temperature of the food as it hit our mouths, and all of it was delicious. As for value, you can't beat it for the amount and quality of food you get.

This is a place we will be returning to for good, authentic, Chinese food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Infidel_Sheepdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“one of the best hotel delivery meals I've ever had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

Stuck in the hotel with limited options. The hotel 'sponsored' restaurant wasn't open (and charged unreasonable minimum and delivery charges) so I called this other listed choice. Delicious, hot food arrived quickly - well-prepared with all the extras needed.
Prawns Two Kinds and California Roll became one of the best meals I've ever eaten in a hotel room.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“good for takeout! Didn't...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

good for takeout! Didn't like the buffet much!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden King Restaurant also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Golden King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing