We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It's good but could be better.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hooked Seafood & Sushi - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hooked Seafood & Sushi
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's good but could be better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Food is fairly good to excellent but inconsistent in its preparation and presentation. While my wife and I like the place and are willing to forgive those inconsistencies including sometimes spotty service, our friends we've taken there after "talking up the place" to them have told us they won't return. Food and beverage prices are very good at the bar during happy hour, somewhat expensive during other times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Overpriced & overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Food was not good enough to justify the high prices. They also had some noisy drunk patrons they didn't know how to get rid of.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Tried it, now moving on”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I pass this all the time when on shopping runs, thought it was time to give it a try. Didn't plan it this way, but yes, it was a Friday during Lent.
The crab bisque was actually quite good. The shrimp-stuffed tilapia however, was rather salty. And for no reason, a scoop of rice replaced the expected and advertised potatoes. All in all, tasty but expensive. And the restaurant did seem rather empty for a Friday evening in the height of seafood-eating season.

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“So-So at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nothing was bad, but nothing stood out with that "wow" factor. Server was friendly and attentive; atmosphere was nice. An OK experience, but nothing we would go out of our way for.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RevLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Business Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I met colleagues there for a business lunch. The greeter attempted to place us in a booth, but we asked for and quickly received a table. The server was very nice, but she missed a service of edamame, which she comp'd upon delivering. All dishes were very well prepared. My lobster bisque was delicious, but it was a bit too cool when I received it. The sushi roll was done well. Between the server and the manager, they kept the water glasses full and checked on us regularly, but not too much. All in all, a good place to have lunch and talk business.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaxDadOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked Seafood & Sushi also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing