We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food good, service bad”

The Bungalow Lakehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bungalow Lakehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 242 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palisades Parkway
sterling, va
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food good, service bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We'll go with 3.5 stars, though there is potential for a 4th. Prices are quite fair, I believe. I love the little snacks you can order. Those are great - especially for happy hour. I've been 3 times. Twice for dinner, once for happy hour. The food is pretty good and better than most of the chains around. I've tried a smattering of things. I don't feel inspired to write all about it though.
The service isn't great. The last time, the waitress was the best we've had, but previously we've had arrogant, inattentive waiters. Service needs serious work.
Overall it's worth a visit. Not a bad value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frau_roo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    75
    25
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Diversity and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Full disclosure: this property is in my neighborhood, so I'm a regular! The Bungalow is really 5 or more restaurants all rolled in to one, so it offers multiple food and atmosphere experiences all in the same location. I've tried nearly all of their offerings and have yet to be disappointed. The center of the property is a country club-style setting, with wood paneling, soft lighting, and deep-cushioned seating, as well as a comfortable bar. In this restaurant the featured menu is diverse, creative, and local, from local charcuterie offerings, regional beef, pork, and chicken, and multiple delicious fish dishes, which we favor. The preparations and presentations are delicious and worth the slightly above average prices. We will often go on a Wednesday night when they offer a selection of half-price bottles of wine; we drink a glass and take the remainder home! When we need a quick meal, like just before flying out of Dulles, or when entertaining a larger group from work, we'll eat in the expansive sports bar with lots of TVs and pool tables (non-smoking, which we appreciate), or on the patio overlooking the pond at sunset in the warm months. Sports bar and patio food offerings are more traditional sandwiches and entrees that still pay good attention to food detail and offer delicious regional options, including an extensive list of local beers. There is also a cigar bar that smokers can utilize, closed to the sports bar, but open to one end of the building. They offer weekend brunch. For many times of the day, and many styles of foods, this convenient location, close attention to good food, and pleasant servers and owners is a great value and pleasure that keep us coming back regularly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikingtraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“one of the best ive ever visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Four of us visited the sports bar in the afternoon and decided to order a selection of wings, nachos, fries, salad and a few other appetisers, along with beer's and wine, to share between us. The food was outstanding, esp the wings, and the portions were quite large. The nachos were stacked wih beef, cheese, lettuce etc and there was more than enough for four people. The bar itself shows wall to wall sport however was quite quiet when we came in with only 2 other patrons there. There are numerous pool tables and dart boards for customers to use also. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient and the vale for money was excellent. Id definitley recommend this place to anyone that wants good food and good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brianmefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, but the food does not match.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Going in, we had great expectations based on the buildings decor and atmosphere, but the food, beginning with the bread was disappointing. Service was very good. It's just that the overall taste of the food items was not spectacular, in fact a great disappointment. We won't go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice surprise find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went there for a business dinner and was pleasantly surprised. Its a large restaurant with a sports bar area and a more upscale dining area. The whole place feels like they put some care into the layout. Staff is very good and food was the best part. We had meat eaters and vegetarians in our group and everyone was well accommodated with items off the menu. The flatbreads are especially good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMNDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bungalow Lakehouse also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Bungalow Lakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing