We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth the visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bungalow Lakehouse

The Bungalow Lakehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bungalow Lakehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 241 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palisades Parkway
Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

An incredible bar scene with pool and darts and too many tvs to count. There is a bar menu. However, we chose to eat in the main restaurant. The menu was very creative and tasty.

We started with the assortment of tepanades for the table. They were so popular that we had to ask for more crustini on which to spread them.

I had the sea scallops, which were done to perfection and served over some sort of corn/potato chowder that was a nice accompaniment. The farmhouse chicken also had rave reviews as did the mussels. We were told that the menu draws on local ingredients, whenever possible and that the menu is still evolving; a large steak is due to make its debut.

Highly recommended not only for dinner but also for its bar scene.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    75
    25
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,248 reviews
578 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
“NEWLY OPENED, AVERAGE FOOD, SERVICE NEEDS IMPROVEMENT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had lunch here with two other friends recently. This is a sportsbar on the water with a separate dining room to take people away from the game theme that pervades most of the space.
The restaurant has only been opened for a couple of months. The food is only average and the service was inexperienced and slow. The crab cakes were recommended. They were neither bad nor great. The servings were not generous. No complimentary bread course was offered. The dessert course of cake and ice cream was okay but again small in size. We do not plan to return and I would not recommend it as something you have to try. The restaurant has exterior seating near the water and some may enjoy this in good weather.
The service and food quality could improve over time. The owner would be well advised to increase the portion size and to do a better job of training the support staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Mixed Messages”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Interesting concept...or maybe lack thereof. Huge facility, high-dollar build-out with excellent materials...this place was clearly expensive to open and makes a very nice first impression. Nice date place. If memory serves, it's divided into 5 sections...a giant, super-deluxe sports bar & pool room w/ an adjacent enclosed smoking lounge, a more traditional bar area, a nicely furnished dining room very much like Clydes, and more of a family-dining area with bench seating. So which is it? The menu seems similarly to want to be all things to all people: inexpensive "table snacks", pricier appetizers, burgers & sandwiches, expensive fancy entrees, and an adequate, somewhat expensive selection of beers and wines.

The food is fine...there's clearly some talent in the kitchen. My grilled pork chop with wild mushrooms was perfectly-cooked, attractively-presented and delicious, as were my wife's sea scallops. But here's the catch...a pork chop or scallops are all that's on the plate. Everything it says on the menu that accompanies the entree is essentially garnish or a sauce. If you want a full portion of vegetables or starch with your protein, you have to add sides which will run the cost of your main course to $30 or more. That's rarefied air.

The service is professional and competent, but on a Saturday night we waited longer than they said we would for our table and the food took fully half an hour to arrive after we ordered. It's a brand new place and they're obviously still working out the kinks, but for the price they need to get it dialed in pretty quickly.

Will I go back? On this occasion I was with my extended family, but from now on it will probably be for sporting events, with my buddies to smoke some cigars. The sports bar is truly spectacular...head & shoulders above anything else in the area...and burgers and beer seem like the best value proposition on offer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markvonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice facility with no purpose and mixed execution.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We really wanted to like this place. Facility is similar to a Clyde's, but not quite as high quality and not as well maintained (e.g. Broken/missing bathroom divider, no towels, no coatracks, etc.). Wait staff acted as though they were doing us a favor by letting us sit there. Food was mixed quality, mostly cold and overpriced. For every good item, there were several real misses. The tapenade was good, but it didn't really go with the soggy calamari; its other sauce was unusual & a request for cocktail sauce was met with a negative reply. Sides looked and tasted like they brought them in from Boston Market. Lamb was good but lukewarm. Hanger steak was stone cold; it was taken back and evidently microwaved to shriveled state and brought back lukewarm. On a high note, the pork belly was good and at least mildly warm, and fried green tomatoes were done well. Mushroom pasta dish was good, and blueberry crisp was decent. Sadly, a consistently better meal, value and service could be found in a typical mall food court!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Highpti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice looking, good details, they'll do well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The place is a little hard to find, but worth the search. The buildout they did is very nice. There is a formal area, a sports bar type area with a lot of TVs and pool tables, a cigar bar, and a huge porch area that overlooks the lake. All in all the place is well done and very big.
They have a nice extensive beer selection in the bar, and a good menu. They offer a lot of small bar snack type items, their wings and flatbread pizzas are very good and their burgers are large. They also take care of the kids well with a good kids menu.
Their wait staff does a good job with being available and friendly. I'm sure once this place is around for a while and people know it's there, it will do very well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laguna5243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bungalow Lakehouse also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Bungalow Lakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing