We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Highly recommend to anybody” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% off
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend to anybody”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel was way exceeding my expectations.
-Courteous staffs
Greeted by a very pleasant staff after 5-6 hours travel on check -in date. Very helpful. Try to accomodate as much as possible.
-Excellent morning buffett provided
Seattle's Best coffee, several types of begals, juices, milks(whole, 2%, skim), fruits,
yogiruts, cereals( 6-7 different), all kinds of spreads etc. At nice and cozy modern eating area.
-Clean
In and out.
-Convinient
Just a block from major road(Leesburg Highway) in business or tech center complex.
-Free Wall Street on request
-Very nicely, practicaly designed rooms.
-Outside pool is very clean even thogh we didn't use
-Nice fitness center.
Running machine has hooked up with Direct TV.
-At Business center you could print boarding pass.
Shuttle service was very nice,too.
Indeed way better than I expected.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woody301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    82
    36
    10
    12
See reviews for
87
47
30
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

We decided to give this hotel a shot, since he had a few hiccups at the Hyatt Place Herndon East.

We requested a high floor, corner room on our reservation. As a Gold Passport Platinum member, that's usually not asking for too much. When we checked in on the Kiosk in the lobby, we had a room on the 3rd floor (out of the 5/6). Alright, middle floor's not bad. We were tired from our flight and ready to get some sleep.

When I put the key in the door, there was a "do not disturb" placard out. I figured maybe housekeeping forgot to remove the card. I knocked on the door before inserting my key into the card reader. The green light flashed, and I entered slowly as to not disturb anyone if someone WAS actually in the room. We were greeted by an unmade bed, newspaper strolled across the room, dirty towels everywhere--oh and a condom on the floor.

My guess is that housekeeping signed off the room when they hadn't actually cleaned the room. Maybe to meet a metric or something? Not for sure, just guessing.

We went back to the desk, explained that the room was dirty. The hostess didn't care that we were Platinum members, never apologized, and practically threw the new room key at us for a room that was now no longer a high or medium floor.

Breakfast in the morning (ends at 9:30) wasn't as good as the one we had over at the HP Herndon East..but featured the same selection. Except, the Gallery Hostess weren't restocking the food items (bagels, english muffins, toast, fruit, juices) and instead sitting around the bar area chatting.

One of the manager's did take off 50% of the price of our hotel room as an offer of compensation, which I thought was acceptable.

Never the less, the Herndon Hyatt Place East does offer a superior service to this location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NuTTeRz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed here while attending a class at the nearby George Washington University campus. As this appeared to be the only hotel in the immediate vicinity I expected the worst but was very pleasantly surprised. The room was very nice and included a coffeemaker, fridge, small seating area and a 40" LCD TV. The free continental breakfast was fairly high quality, with fresh fruit, muffins and bagels, and several kinds of cereal. Wifi access is free.

If you have business in Sterling or nearby areas, or are looking for a place to stay prior to flying out of Dulles, this is a good place to start, and the Dulles Town Centre is nearby if you feel like shopping.

The hotel is quite far from DC - the nearest Metro station is West Falls Church, about a 20-minute drive away. If you are looking for a place to stay while sightseeing, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwiggin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We're just wrapping up a 3 night stay at the Hyatt Place in Sterling as I sit down to write this review. All in all it was a good stay....nothing spectacular about this hotel, but very solid. We picked this hotel to get away for a few days for New Year's.

Pros:
- Check in was a breeze, we just walked in, slide our credit card thru the self check in and it spit out our room keys and which room we were in
- Hotel is very quiet, it almost sounded like we were the only guests
- Nice big TV, 42" HD TV.
- Plenty of space, nice desk, a couch, a small wet bar
- Hotel is in a good location. There is a 20 screen movie theater almost within walking distance, plenty of restaurants, and also shopping within minutes.
- Excellent FAST internet. Couldn't be more happy with the wireless internet here, it was top notch.
- Ample Parking and also well lit.

Cons:
- Limited channels on the TV. Plus NBC and Fox didn't work until the final night (probably not a big deal to most, but it was cold during our 3 days here so we stayed in a lot)
- Not a fan of the bathroom. Namely the sink being located outside the actual the bathroom right in front of the bed.
- Bed was just OK. I saw some reviews on here that the bed was great but I didn't experience it...could've been softer.


So all in all we would stay here again. Solid hotel for a decent price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banjo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

This hotel was close to a wedding we were going to. The hotel was great for the price but not quite as nice as other Hyatt Places that I have stayed.
Like a typical Hyatt Place, the lobby was nice, the room was spacious and clean. However, it had a little less space than other Hyatt Places but it was no problem for us.
The hot water was hard to get hot. We were there during the 20 inch snowsnorm but the service was still good.
Overall, the hotel was a good buy for the price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slp0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Wow!!! the most beautiful place I have ever stayed at and we travel quite frequently. The beds were so comfortable and at the time of our trip I was 7 months pregnant !! The breakfast was well displayed, fresh and had quite the variety...
Genevieve and Daniel Henderson

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kocoakitty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I've stayed at other Hyatt Place with good experience and this was no different. The place was clean. This was my second time there. However, the most important for me was their honesty: I had left my iTouch in the room when I checked out.

I called them on the way home and explained. They had the iTouch and said would mail it to me. The person asked for my credit card number so they could ship it by Fedex. Two days later, it arrived.

So, overall, I was very pleased with them.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKDgladiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Property: Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Address: 21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the innovative hospitality of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, the recipient of the 2014 and 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for customer service. Additionally, Hyatt Place was just ranked top upscale hotels for customer service by J.D. Power. Our Sterling, VA hotel offers inviting spaces to relax and work, with free Wi-Fi, a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast and shuttle service to Dulles Airport and local destinations within 5 miles radius. Enjoy shopping and dining at Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets and One Loudoun, all minutes away. Our casually chic hotel also offers a prime Dulles Airport location for business and leisure travelers. We offer intimate meeting and event spaces near major companies, including Lockheed Martin, NTSB, Northrop Grumman, DHL, Raytheon, Neustar, AOL, Verizon, and VISA. Students visiting the DC area will appreciate being close to Northern Virginia Community College, The Art Institute of Washington Northern Virginia, George Washington University and Strayer University. Relax after a long flight or drive in one of the 134 spacious guest rooms at our Hyatt Place hotel near Dulles Airport offering plush Hyatt Grand Bedding, Free Wi-Fi, media center and ergonomic desk, Cozy Corner sofa-sleeper, 42” inch HDTVs, contemporary decor and a relaxing environment. We feature onsite facilities for our guests’ convenience including a 24/7 fitness center with modern exercise equipment, seasonal outdoor pool, and three meeting rooms with a combined 1,600 sq. ft., ideal for social or business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing