We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Solid Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We're just wrapping up a 3 night stay at the Hyatt Place in Sterling as I sit down to write this review. All in all it was a good stay....nothing spectacular about this hotel, but very solid. We picked this hotel to get away for a few days for New Year's.

Pros:
- Check in was a breeze, we just walked in, slide our credit card thru the self check in and it spit out our room keys and which room we were in
- Hotel is very quiet, it almost sounded like we were the only guests
- Nice big TV, 42" HD TV.
- Plenty of space, nice desk, a couch, a small wet bar
- Hotel is in a good location. There is a 20 screen movie theater almost within walking distance, plenty of restaurants, and also shopping within minutes.
- Excellent FAST internet. Couldn't be more happy with the wireless internet here, it was top notch.
- Ample Parking and also well lit.

Cons:
- Limited channels on the TV. Plus NBC and Fox didn't work until the final night (probably not a big deal to most, but it was cold during our 3 days here so we stayed in a lot)
- Not a fan of the bathroom. Namely the sink being located outside the actual the bathroom right in front of the bed.
- Bed was just OK. I saw some reviews on here that the bed was great but I didn't experience it...could've been softer.


So all in all we would stay here again. Solid hotel for a decent price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banjo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    84
    36
    11
    12
See reviews for
93
47
31
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

This hotel was close to a wedding we were going to. The hotel was great for the price but not quite as nice as other Hyatt Places that I have stayed.
Like a typical Hyatt Place, the lobby was nice, the room was spacious and clean. However, it had a little less space than other Hyatt Places but it was no problem for us.
The hot water was hard to get hot. We were there during the 20 inch snowsnorm but the service was still good.
Overall, the hotel was a good buy for the price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slp0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Wow!!! the most beautiful place I have ever stayed at and we travel quite frequently. The beds were so comfortable and at the time of our trip I was 7 months pregnant !! The breakfast was well displayed, fresh and had quite the variety...
Genevieve and Daniel Henderson

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kocoakitty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I've stayed at other Hyatt Place with good experience and this was no different. The place was clean. This was my second time there. However, the most important for me was their honesty: I had left my iTouch in the room when I checked out.

I called them on the way home and explained. They had the iTouch and said would mail it to me. The person asked for my credit card number so they could ship it by Fedex. Two days later, it arrived.

So, overall, I was very pleased with them.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKDgladiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

The room had everything that I wanted and had a free shuttle to/from the D.C. airport. The food concept worked ok near the lobby. I liked the new upscale feel to it. Booked it through Hotwire's pot louck system for about 1/2 price.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakoMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our trip to DC. We booked this trip as a package on Travelocity for a GREAT rate... R/T air from Houston and 6 nights stay for only $1000! That meant the hotel was about $50/night and included breakfast.

I was skeptical at first because the hotel was SO FAR from downtown DC. The value of the package made me look into it deeper, and we decided to book it and take the challenge. I'm so glad we did!

I would absolutely recommend doing what we did if you are visiting DC on a budget but don't want to compromise a great place to stay. The hotel was awesome! We just had a regular room, but it had a big, flat screen TV and a lounge area with a couch. Very clean, very comfortable, and the staff were awesome! Breakfast was very good with many selections of cereals, fruits, bagels, and drinks.

More information on how we did DC using this hotel: The hotel has free airport pick-up and drop off. From the airport, you can catch a bus (I can't remember the bus number... it was almost 2 yrs ago when we did this!) that takes you into downtown DC for a couple of $$ per person. The ride takes around 45 minutes, if I recall correctly, and it is best to get your hands on a bus schedule so you don't show up and have to wait forever for the bus. I think the bus departs about every 30 minutes. The hotel staff have all the information and were great working with us! We would call them from the bus each night on our way back and let them know about what time we would get to the airport. They would always be there waiting for us with the van!

We stayed at the Hyatt Place, a nice, reputable hotel, for MUCH CHEAPER than we could have stayed at one of the 1 star roach motels closer to the heart of DC. It was great... I hope I can find the same deal next time we visit DC!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audjie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Nice hotel for a business trip. Rooms have nice flat panel tvs with multiple inputs if you need to practice your presentation the night before.

Breakfast was minimal. Internet was fine. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was small.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARinger256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Property: Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Address: 21481 Ridgetop Cir, Sterling, VA 20166-6507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the innovative hospitality of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, the recipient of the 2014 and 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for customer service. Additionally, Hyatt Place was just ranked top upscale hotels for customer service by J.D. Power. Our Sterling, VA hotel offers inviting spaces to relax and work, with free Wi-Fi, a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast and shuttle service to Dulles Airport and local destinations within 5 miles radius. Enjoy shopping and dining at Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets and One Loudoun, all minutes away. Our casually chic hotel also offers a prime Dulles Airport location for business and leisure travelers. We offer intimate meeting and event spaces near major companies, including Lockheed Martin, NTSB, Northrop Grumman, DHL, Raytheon, Neustar, AOL, Verizon, and VISA. Students visiting the DC area will appreciate being close to Northern Virginia Community College, The Art Institute of Washington Northern Virginia, George Washington University and Strayer University. Relax after a long flight or drive in one of the 134 spacious guest rooms at our Hyatt Place hotel near Dulles Airport offering plush Hyatt Grand Bedding, Free Wi-Fi, media center and ergonomic desk, Cozy Corner sofa-sleeper, 42” inch HDTVs, contemporary decor and a relaxing environment. We feature onsite facilities for our guests’ convenience including a 24/7 fitness center with modern exercise equipment, seasonal outdoor pool, and three meeting rooms with a combined 1,600 sq. ft., ideal for social or business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing