We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiet!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This location is quiet, but close enough for everything. Came to this for work, it's very spacious, breakfast is good, staff are extremely nice & helpful. Shuttle will drive you around places too! Swam in the outdoor pool, it was in good shape also.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    88
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
107
51
34
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We took a family trip to Washington DC and being 8 people, I wanted something nice, clean, with great breakfast and affordable. We stayed at the Hyatt Place in Sterling, VA. If you don't mind the commute, this is a great place to stay. It is right on 7 and there is everything near it. It took us 40 min. to Washington by car.
Breakfast was great, rooms are clean and comfortable. they have a refrigerator and a sink. The pool is outdoor and needs better maintenance. Every day we went to the pool, we had to ask for towels, (they were supposed to be at the pool).
The first day we arrived, we asked for someone to come up and show us/make sure the sofa bed had everything it needed and was clean. Apparently, it is not hotel policy to do so. We were instructed to call if there was a problem.
Staff is professional but not accommodating, that was my biggest disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

WE stayed here for one night on the way to DC. The rooms are a nice size and the beds are very comfortable. The pool was fine, our kids swam and had a great time. The breakfast was nice with a good variety. We had a good experience overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMCBE2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked a block of rooms over the Memorial Day weekend, 2014 for our daughter's wedding. We made these arrangements 9 months in advance; We were assured that we could increase the block as needed as we got closer to the wedding. The price was good,included breakfast and they had an outside pool; perfect for the Memorial day weekend! As we got closer to the event the hotel was not able to increase the number of rooms (they had overbooked). Some of our guests had to find other accomodations. The manager of the Events dept. never returned my calls as I needed to know the # and names of our guests registered. The weekend weather was magnificent, our guests wanted to use the pool but unfortunately it was closed, Guests were unable to use the pool because it had to be cleaned (explained by the front desk staff). Again, I called the manager several times, left messages but never heard back. I was appalled by their lack of service, unresponsiveness and unprofessional behavior. I would never recommend this hotel and highly recommend that you choose one of other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Go to any of the Marriotts in the area. They are much more professional and understand customer ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was my second stay here and unfortunately, took the sheen off the first. We stayed four nights here, including a long weekend and had two rooms. Checked in around noon and both rooms were ready, which made a good first impression. Rooms were clean and for this style property, spacious. The only two issues have been mentioned by other reviewers: an unbelievably poorly designed clothes closet and a tiny bathroom (toilet and tub), which practically requires getting into the tub to close the door. The hallway door had been kicked or jimmied and you had to force it closed, Maintenance came and repaired. First night was ok...quiet and relaxed. Second day, the TV was on the fritz, losing the signal every few seconds. A maintenance person responded quickly and said the satellite signal needed adjusting. The problem continued for the rest of our stay and although I could see the same problem existed with the several TVs in the lobby, I was repeatedly told the problem was just in our room. On the second night, at 11:30 PM, I called the desk to report a crowd of adults on the sidewalk underneath my window, drinking and playing some game where beanbags are tossed onto wooden targets...something like horseshoes, but with a "thud" every few seconds. This is apparently serious competition because several of the teams had matching uniforms and one team was from West Virginia. Tried to sleep but impossible. The woman at the desk, who said she was the manager-on-duty, said there was nothing she could do because they were outside, not inside. I explained what I believe the responsibilities of the hotel are and offered to call the police unless she could handle it. Some time later, the noise died down. The same activity took place the next night, beginning at 8 pm, but ended around 10. The next day, having been unable to use the TV, we asked to be moved to another room. Unfortunately, the satellite signal was breaking up in here too. The refrigerator was not working and one of the staff pulled it out of the cabinet and determined it was unplugged. The faucet in the basin in this room was loose and spun around when you tried to turn the handle. I mention all these things because they reflect lack of staff supervision or training. Maids should be reporting non-working items like faucets and fridges. When desk staff can see from the lobby that the TV s are not working properly, they need to take action. And staff should not have to be coached on noise control. On weekends, suburban hotels in Northern Virginia are overrun with athletic teams taking part in regional playoffs, school trippers, Japanese tourists, and all manner of families with kids raising hell in the pool.

On the plus side:
Price was good, bed was great, breakfast was typical Egg McMuffin but OK, check-in and out were smooth. Good location off Rte 7 and not far from Dulles. On my first stay, I thought I'd found a place to come back to. After this second visit, I won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texaholic2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aksharma, General Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your time and response! Your feedback is very valuable to us.

I am very pleased to hear your 1st stay went well. I was sorry to hear there were some TV signal issues and couple other opportunities during your second stay with us.
As you rightly mentioned, this was the regional playoff weekend where we had many teams staying in the hotel.

We very much look forward to hosting you again. Please have a wonderful week and thank you for staying with us!

Ashish Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hotel staff was extremely friendly and ready to assist. The amenities were great... Great location and centrally located. Pool area and Basketball courts were nicely maintained.
I would definitely stay at this property again!

Room Tip: No bad room here, living area and kitchenette were immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aksharma, General Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello Mr. Jay,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are very glad that you like the property and had a fantastic stay.

Please come back and visit us again. We appreciate your business.

Kind Regards,
Ashish Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Typical Hyatt hotel, everything as expected , with a great week end rate !
good location from the airport and for business or tourism in Virginia or to Visit the Smithsonian aerospace museum.
Nice venue with breakfast included , standard simple buffet , nothing extraordinary but sufficient to get you going.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 150810Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aksharma, General Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Frank,

Thank you very much for your time and feedback. It is truly appreciated.

I am happy to see you had time to experience the hotel and Smithsonian aerospace museum. It is definitely a key attraction in our area.

We do hope that we have the opportunity to host you again. Our location in sterling near business, town center and proximity to Dulles airport certainly make it convenient for any business traveler.

Please have a wonderful week and thank you for staying with us.

Ashish Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Property: Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Address: 21481 Ridgetop Cir, Sterling, VA 20166-6507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the innovative hospitality of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, the recipient of the 2014 and 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for customer service. Additionally, Hyatt Place was just ranked top upscale hotels for customer service by J.D. Power. Our Sterling, VA hotel offers inviting spaces to relax and work, with free Wi-Fi, a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast and shuttle service to Dulles Airport and local destinations within 5 miles radius. Enjoy shopping and dining at Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets and One Loudoun, all minutes away. Our casually chic hotel also offers a prime Dulles Airport location for business and leisure travelers. We offer intimate meeting and event spaces near major companies, including Lockheed Martin, NTSB, Northrop Grumman, DHL, Raytheon, Neustar, AOL, Verizon, and VISA. Students visiting the DC area will appreciate being close to Northern Virginia Community College, The Art Institute of Washington Northern Virginia, George Washington University and Strayer University. Relax after a long flight or drive in one of the 134 spacious guest rooms at our Hyatt Place hotel near Dulles Airport offering plush Hyatt Grand Bedding, Free Wi-Fi, media center and ergonomic desk, Cozy Corner sofa-sleeper, 42” inch HDTVs, contemporary decor and a relaxing environment. We feature onsite facilities for our guests’ convenience including a 24/7 fitness center with modern exercise equipment, seasonal outdoor pool, and three meeting rooms with a combined 1,600 sq. ft., ideal for social or business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing