We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very neat and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed in this Hotel for one day since I had to take a flight next day and it is very close to the Air port. First of all free parking. The building is new and well managed. I got a room on the second floor, very clean, tidy and excellent space management. A sitting room with a small partition and a bed room, small toilet, huge LCD, iron, lounge sofa, etc etc. The service was very good, breakfast and tea loved it. And the free Apples at the reception, well I loved them. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nauman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aksharma, General Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Mr. Nauman,

Thank you very much for your feedback and input.

I am glad to hear that you have had a pleasant experience. I do hope that on your travels you have some time to experience the nearby areas as it truly is a prime location in the Northern Virginia area.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to host you again here. Please have a wonderful week.

Ashish Sharma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 407 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

I had heard some good things about Hyatt Place Hotels, but had never stayed in one so when the opportunity arose, I thought I would give one a try.

First the good: The location was perfect for me, near Dulles Airport, easy access to 28 and Route 7 and about halfway between Reston and Leesburg where I needed to be. It is located in a business park by various office buildings, but is very close to Dulles Town Center Shopping Center and numerous restaurants and shops. The room itself was quite spacious, had a good working area, a sleeping area separated from the living area by a screen, a nice 42 inch flat screen TV that swiveled between the two, a dressing area with sink, and a separate toilet and shower room. The shower was fine, good water pressure, but the room was very small and somewhat claustrophobic. The sink had decent counter space but was open to the sleeping area, so if you are a part of a couple and need to get ready earlier you will disturb your partner. In all, the layout was very similar to the rooms at the Springhill Suites, with some important differences that will be noted below. Breakfast was decent- the skillet sandwiches are like a crispy egg McMuffin, OK, but a little too crispy for my taste. The bed was comfortable, but there were other issues impacting sleep quality.

Now for the deal breakers: No closet space or dresser drawers. What's with that? There is a tiny closet near to the sink that is very difficult to access. Don't know what genius designed that, but it was very tough to access, especially if your partner was using the sink. And no dresser space! Nowhere to unpack your clothes except for some cubby holes in the TV stand, and some very small drawers in the bathroom vanity. Makes it very difficult for any stay over a few days. Again, don't know what the designers were thinking. Not even a night stand with a drawer. Also, no in-room safe. The room looks kind of trendy, but was not very functional. Another big negative- the room had a very noisy wall AC unit. Even though we set the thermostat low, it kept shutting off and coming back on a few seconds later all night. And when it came back on, it came on with a loud rumble which was very disturbing. Seemed like the unit was very cheap as it also vibrated all night when it was on. Finally, although this is a non-smoking hotel, there was a very frequent smell of smoke in the room and we couldn't figure out where it was coming from. At first we thought someone was smoking in one of the adjoining rooms, but housekeeping did not detect anything in those rooms when we complained. The smell was noticeable when we returned to the room some days but not others. One time it was OK when we returned to the room, but we started smelling it at 6 the next morning. Management offered to move us to another room, but was we were settled in for a 4 night stay, we (foolishly) declined the offer. All I could figure was that there was a problem in the ventilation system and maybe the smoke was coming from the outside, but it was still disturbing.

So a mixed bag. Unfortunately, in my view the bad outweighed the good. Hopefully on a redesign, they will add some dressers, enlarge the closet and fix the AC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Here our observations of our stay at your hotel.

1. Most staff is truly amazing. Of all the hotels we have stayed, your crew is in Top 5%.
2. We observed the staff interacting with different guests. They were always very patient, helpful and professional.
3. We loved our room (626). Everything worked well.
4. Lobby area was always clean. We also liked the availability of green apples anytime.

I also want to share a few observations that will help you run this property better and I would like to hear from you about these issues we experienced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

A lovely place to stay. The room was large and well appointed, very clean. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very good and complimentary. Shuttle to the airport, all in all great place. Cannot say about cost as someone else paid, but everyone was happy....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnocaduin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights at Hyatt Place Sterling on business. My room was always clean. Staff went above and beyond to assist us with our needs. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch. Overall - great experience!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ukrkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a great place to stay. It is clean and located in a safe area. The entire town of Sterling is a great place to stay. Internet worked fine and the morning breakfast was very good. The beds are comfortable. The hotel is reasonably priced. The same place in Reson VA costs 3-4 times as much per day. Rental car place is an easy pick up away. You don't have to pay the 15 per cent airport tax. The shuttle will take you about 5 miles away for meals etc. There are 3 restaurants within walking distance. Don't eat at the Mexican food place. (Plaza Azteca). It was terrible.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and ice machine.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

On Feb 9th 2014, I checked in. I was given room 610. Stayed there for some. HVAC noise was too loud caused severe ear ache. Asked the front desk for room change and was allotted room 101. Around 10.00 PM, ear ache started worsening and triggered v.severe headache. Later, I vacated the place. Was given full refund but almost after an hour later after I left the hotel, I am still crying in severe ear pain and headaches.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSVA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.4 mi away
Best Western Dulles Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 21481 Ridgetop Cir, Sterling, VA 20166-6507
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range: $80 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the innovative hospitality of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, the recipient of the 2014 and 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for customer service. Additionally, Hyatt Place was just ranked top upscale hotels for customer service by J.D. Power. Our Sterling, VA hotel offers inviting spaces to relax and work, with free Wi-Fi, a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast and shuttle service to Dulles Airport and local destinations within 5 miles radius. Enjoy shopping and dining at Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets and One Loudoun, all minutes away. Our casually chic hotel also offers a prime Dulles Airport location for business and leisure travelers. We offer intimate meeting and event spaces near major companies, including Lockheed Martin, NTSB, Northrop Grumman, DHL, Raytheon, Neustar, AOL, Verizon, and VISA. Students visiting the DC area will appreciate being close to Northern Virginia Community College, The Art Institute of Washington Northern Virginia, George Washington University and Strayer University. Relax after a long flight or drive in one of the 134 spacious guest rooms at our Hyatt Place hotel near Dulles Airport offering plush Hyatt Grand Bedding, Free Wi-Fi, media center and ergonomic desk, Cozy Corner sofa-sleeper, 42” inch HDTVs, contemporary decor and a relaxing environment. We feature onsite facilities for our guests’ convenience including a 24/7 fitness center with modern exercise equipment, seasonal outdoor pool, and three meeting rooms with a combined 1,600 sq. ft., ideal for social or business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing