We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Grat place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Grat place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a great place to stay. It is clean and located in a safe area. The entire town of Sterling is a great place to stay. Internet worked fine and the morning breakfast was very good. The beds are comfortable. The hotel is reasonably priced. The same place in Reson VA costs 3-4 times as much per day. Rental car place is an easy pick up away. You don't have to pay the 15 per cent airport tax. The shuttle will take you about 5 miles away for meals etc. There are 3 restaurants within walking distance. Don't eat at the Mexican food place. (Plaza Azteca). It was terrible.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    88
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
107
51
34
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

On Feb 9th 2014, I checked in. I was given room 610. Stayed there for some. HVAC noise was too loud caused severe ear ache. Asked the front desk for room change and was allotted room 101. Around 10.00 PM, ear ache started worsening and triggered v.severe headache. Later, I vacated the place. Was given full refund but almost after an hour later after I left the hotel, I am still crying in severe ear pain and headaches.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSVA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was a very nice hotel which was comparable to the upgraded Courtyard properties. the room was very spacious, the hotel was clean, and fairly well maintained. The staff were very accommodating and you can get a sufficient meal there in the evening if traveling alone and not wanting to go out at night. You can also get a basic drink at the hotel as well.

This hotel is convenient to food and shopping, including the Sweetwater Tavern which is an outstanding restaurant. It is also very convenient to the GWU Ashburn Campus.

Room Tip: I have no special criteria for choosing a room. Hotel location does no create any issues with room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSUMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Greetings!

Thanks so much for staying with us here at the Hyatt Place Sterling and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We truly appreciate your business since there are many hotels to choose from in the Sterling area.

We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and were able to enjoy items from our gallery menu as well as a beverage! We're looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here one night while on a layover and great location (close to many food options) would recommend having a rental car or other means of transportation if you stay here. Front desk was very caring and provided a personal touch to my stay. Hallways were pretty bland and made me feel like I was staying in communist Russia.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wpierce3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello!

Thanks so much for staying with us here at the Hyatt Place Sterling and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly appreciate your business since we know there are many hotels in the Sterling area.

We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us we're looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

From check in to check out, my stay here was wonderful! Every staff member encountered was great, from housekeeping to the front desk to the MANAGER! Speaking of front desk, I had a special request on my first night (around 9pm) and they accommodated my request with no questions asked. As a matter of fact, one of the staff members actually helped me with my request. Breakfast was GREAT and the options were plenty! The room was perfect and the big flat panel tv was the icing on the cake! No microwave but it did have a fridge, which is what I needed more than the microwave. Close to shopping/mall.

This is a must-stay if you are in the area!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitQueenbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello Georgia!

Thank you so much for staying with us here at Hyatt Place Sterling! We are so happy to hear that you stay was so great as we know there are many other hotels to choose from in the area.

Our staff always strives to meet any special requests and we are happy to hear you were able to connect with so many of our team members.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked through Hotwire and was very unhappy to learn that the shuttle stops running at 11pm AND it is very far from the airport. The taxi driver and I passed at least a dozen hotels on the way to this one. Without any traffic it took 20 minutes to get there. And cost me $23! I would have paid the same amount if I'd booked directly with a hotel AND I would have been certain the shuttle was running. Huge. Hassle. But Hotwire's fault - not the hotel's.

But. The hotel is very nice! The night manager was very polite and checked me in quickly. The room is a two room huge suite - attractive and clean. The manager clued me into some delicious breakfast offerings in the morning (I got a tasty egg bagel sandwich to go). There was a nice selection of fruit and hot tea, too. He also asked the shuttle to take me to the airport at 6:30am while they normally run the shuttle every hour.

If you're driving or you're getting into the airport before 11pm I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Remember the airport shuttle stops at 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCOTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Greetings!

Thank you for staying with us here at Hyatt Place Sterling and for sharing your experience!

We are happy to hear that you were able to check in so quickly and that you enjoyed your stay! Also, it's great to hear you were able to take the shuttle to the airport the next morning while enjoying on our breakfast sandwiches!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel was designed with the customer in mind. The layout of the room is perfect. It has a sitting area with a large desk, empty fridge and a granite countertop with small sink and coffee maker. The tub/toilet is a separate room from the dressing area so if one is showering, another may use the sink and counter area without a fogged mirror. Also storage drawers are located below the dressing room counter for easy access. Really convenient. Towels are large and fluffy, the bed is comfortable and a large screen TV swivels between sleeping and lounging area. The water from the dressing area sink spigot comes out warm. I thought that was really a nice touch.
Breakfast is included and egg entrees are changed daily for variety. Bagels, sweet rolls, cereal, oatmeal and fresh cut fruit is also included.
Something unique is a bar area where you may order flatbread or sandwiches and a nice glass of wine in the evening if you just do not feel like going out. Salads are also available and a nice array of desserts are on display as well. Warm cookies too!
However, if you need to rely on the hotel shuttle to/from airport as we did, it is a fair distance and the hotel provides only hourly service. Shopping and restaurants are not within walking distance so a car is really important.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Good evening Sandra,

Thank you so much for staying with us here at Hyatt Place Sterling and for taking the time to share your experience while you were here! We truly appreciate it since we know there are so many hotels to choose from in the area.

I don't think you could have described our rooms more perfectly and you touched on all of my favorite things as well! Especially having an area to get ready for the day away from the shower and steamy mirror.

Hopefully you were able to try a few of the many different options we have to offer off of our 24/7 gallery menu during your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit with us so we can recommend a few of our favorites.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Property: Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Address: 21481 Ridgetop Cir, Sterling, VA 20166-6507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the innovative hospitality of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, the recipient of the 2014 and 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for customer service. Additionally, Hyatt Place was just ranked top upscale hotels for customer service by J.D. Power. Our Sterling, VA hotel offers inviting spaces to relax and work, with free Wi-Fi, a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast and shuttle service to Dulles Airport and local destinations within 5 miles radius. Enjoy shopping and dining at Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets and One Loudoun, all minutes away. Our casually chic hotel also offers a prime Dulles Airport location for business and leisure travelers. We offer intimate meeting and event spaces near major companies, including Lockheed Martin, NTSB, Northrop Grumman, DHL, Raytheon, Neustar, AOL, Verizon, and VISA. Students visiting the DC area will appreciate being close to Northern Virginia Community College, The Art Institute of Washington Northern Virginia, George Washington University and Strayer University. Relax after a long flight or drive in one of the 134 spacious guest rooms at our Hyatt Place hotel near Dulles Airport offering plush Hyatt Grand Bedding, Free Wi-Fi, media center and ergonomic desk, Cozy Corner sofa-sleeper, 42” inch HDTVs, contemporary decor and a relaxing environment. We feature onsite facilities for our guests’ convenience including a 24/7 fitness center with modern exercise equipment, seasonal outdoor pool, and three meeting rooms with a combined 1,600 sq. ft., ideal for social or business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing