We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay on Business Travel (Serious Business Travel)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% off
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay on Business Travel (Serious Business Travel)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I live in New Jersey and consult for a company in Dulles VA. They put me up at the Hyatt Place regularly. Like 4 nights a week for the past 10 months. I have more Hyatt points than I know what to do with.

Make sure you are at the correct Hyatt. There are four or five near Dulles Airport and having stayed at three until settling at this one, I regularly hear people at the front desk being directed to one of the other properties.

The hotel is clean with large rooms, large beds, good air conditioning. Bathrooms are all shower stalls so don't expect to soak in the tub. Closets are small but functional. I did hear a woman at the desk ask for a new room several times because her dress wouldn't hang properly in the closet because there was not enough room. Must have been a dress like Carol Burnett wore in the famous Gone With the Wind sketch - I can hang a sport coat without any problems. There is a small bar fridge in each room. If you put in a bottle of Arizona ice tea and turn the temperature setting down to just about maximum when you take the tea out and shake it it will turn into a perfect tea slushy.

The hotel serves an expanded continental breakfast. All the usuals plus they have added egg sandwiches and waffles. I try and stick with the grapefruit but usually end up with a couple of breakfast pastries. Ana usually saves me a couple in case the place is crowded.

Which brings me to the service. I usually don't like to review the service because you can catch the bad waiter having a bad day and incorrectly judge the whole place by the actions of one individual. In this case I will make an exception because the staff are uniformly great. After being here so much I am greeted by name. I get a great room. They know my habits and anticipate my needs. And it makes me jealous - I thought I was the only one getting special treatment - but it turns out ALL the regulars are greeted by name, all get special service, and all get excellent and attentive service.

Like the place and the people. A lot.

Room Tip: I prefer away from the elevators on the East side but when it gets busy, regularly, you get what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCM92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    82
    36
    10
    12
See reviews for
87
47
30
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel has a lot of the formula right for travelling professionals -- good business center, spacious rooms and an excellent breakfast, including great coffee. But I checked out after one night, even though I was booked for four nights, because a number of other factors made my stay unbearable:

1. I arrived on the Friday before Labor Day weekend and was astonished by large crowds of people hanging around in the parking lots drinking. The partying directly outside the rooms went on well after midnight, with a lot of noise and hollering, and the hotel staff did not care.

2. WiFi internet is free, but the service was terrible. About the slowest I have ever experienced. It made the internet unusable. The hotel staff said there was nothing wrong, so I guess that's the way it is.

3. The air conditioning unit in the room was exceptionally noisy.

I found a much nicer hotel, at a lower rate, in the vicinity for the next three nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beenaroundawhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We really enjoy staying here. Used to live in the area, so when we have to return, this is our go-to hotel. We've stayed here twice now and have had great luck.

Everything was comfortable and clean. The rooms are large and set-up well. They have great TVs for hotels.

The location is also great - lots to do nearby (shopping, eating, movie theater, etc.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AW_SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for the Super Spartan in Leesburg. It was easy to find you can see it from the road. My fiance and I checked in at the front desk to a very helpful clerk. He gave us our key told us when the breakfast was served. We got a king suite room. The room was clean and very quiet. The bathroom was great too nice water pressure lots of hot water. The room has a fridge and a sink outside of the bathroom which is a nice touch. Didnt use the pool this visit but it looked nice and clean and there were lots of people using it. The lobby has lots of areas to sit and a news station with a tv. There is a bar at the front desk also. We ate breakfast that was included with our stay. It had everything you need, hot sandwhiches,pancakes, hot/cold cereal fresh coffee, donuts, and juice. This place is awesome! I will definetley stay here again! For the price it doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcb626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

had a king suite on the 2nd floor. Comfortable, classy, settled in right away.
Swimming pool delightful with chaises and case of fluffy towels on pool deck. Exquisite king bed. Excellent 40-inch LG HD TV seen from livingroom L-shaped couch or king bed.
Glassed in standup shower 5 feet long, beautifully tiled, strong water flow, infinite temperature control. All staff, from desk to cleaners, friendly and accomodating.
Loved this hotel, would return in a minute.

Room Tip: Stay here. You would expect to pay a lot more for the luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

pretty! really nice, good breakfast!! great value good customer service. there's a pool outside rooms were neat and beautiful everything llooks like new comfy beds and my room a regular doble was like a little suite with sleeper sofa and desk coffe table and ottoman nobody can beat the price ( at least on priceline). if you are going to dc but too tired to keep driving this is the place to stay like 30 min from dc!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our extended family had three rooms in this hotel over Memorial Day weekend and found it a very pleasant place to stay. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The common area was clean, welcoming and comfortable for gatherings also. We enjoyed the breakfast and the children enjoyed the pool. While the hotel was occupied at times by traveling high school groups, the staff was prepared and there were no problems. We would stay here again if family gatherings call us back to this area. It is close to the Dulles "branch" of the Air and Space Museum, other outdoor activities, shopping and a number of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J&JHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Hello J&JHubbard,

I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We do our best to make sure the rooms are enjoyable and welcoming for everyone! We are in a pretty busy season right now, so it's great to hear the positive feedback on the staff here in the hotel. I hope to see you here again soon!

General Manager
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Property: Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Address: 21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the innovative hospitality of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, the recipient of the 2014 and 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for customer service. Additionally, Hyatt Place was just ranked top upscale hotels for customer service by J.D. Power. Our Sterling, VA hotel offers inviting spaces to relax and work, with free Wi-Fi, a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast and shuttle service to Dulles Airport and local destinations within 5 miles radius. Enjoy shopping and dining at Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets and One Loudoun, all minutes away. Our casually chic hotel also offers a prime Dulles Airport location for business and leisure travelers. We offer intimate meeting and event spaces near major companies, including Lockheed Martin, NTSB, Northrop Grumman, DHL, Raytheon, Neustar, AOL, Verizon, and VISA. Students visiting the DC area will appreciate being close to Northern Virginia Community College, The Art Institute of Washington Northern Virginia, George Washington University and Strayer University. Relax after a long flight or drive in one of the 134 spacious guest rooms at our Hyatt Place hotel near Dulles Airport offering plush Hyatt Grand Bedding, Free Wi-Fi, media center and ergonomic desk, Cozy Corner sofa-sleeper, 42” inch HDTVs, contemporary decor and a relaxing environment. We feature onsite facilities for our guests’ convenience including a 24/7 fitness center with modern exercise equipment, seasonal outdoor pool, and three meeting rooms with a combined 1,600 sq. ft., ideal for social or business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing