We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms with sofabed, Far away from Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Big rooms with sofabed, Far away from Airport”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

It was big room with lot of space... although not very close from Airport... Customer service was also upto mark .booked through priceline for $90 a night.. would stay again for that price range in DC area..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lajababu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    109
    46
    21
    16
See reviews for
143
61
37
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshires, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I will not recommend this hotel where I have stayed the last couple of times. As today, they remained unsolved with closed captioning problems while watching a prime HBO programs on TV (e.g. the captions suddenly disappear or become garbled). The other channels are fine.

I assume it must be the feed from HBO is just a pass through your system (TV transmitter box). Since people with hearing loss, or deafness, rely on Closed Caption, whether the problem of Hyatt end-user or your cable provider is probably required to actually FIX the problem, unlike how they can get away with allowing other aspects of your cable TV service quality to be sub-par.

I don,t think they want to resolve this – surely every Hyatt customer in this area who depends on seeing this problem too, but they just don’t know how to deal with it. It’s very frustrating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Laffy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here because our son just moved to the Sterling area. The room was clean but there was no closet for hanging clothes. We overlooked a dirty alcove/balcony area with rocks and equipment. The bathroom was extremely tight and there was no shelf for shampoo or anything which you would have had to put on the shower floor. Pillows flattened as soon as you laid on them. The room heater kept turning on and off all night with the fan so that was disturbing. The worst was that while the room had a nice sized flat screen TV, it didn't get any channels! The only channel that came in clear was the movie rental channel. The handful of digital channels had terrible feeds so they kept breaking up and the rest were all analog and were so fuzzy they weren't worth watching. We just wanted to come back and relax for a couple of hours at night and it was very frustrating. We called down to the desk and they said they couldn't do anything about the TV, that was the way it was. The topping on the cake was when the front desk person said she could not give me a receipt for my stay, that it was a confidentiality issue and if I wanted a receipt, I had to call Expedia because I booked with them. We will not stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bwc604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend.

Highs:
- Good location with amenities close by (but not if you were using the airport, which is quite a distance away).
- "Euro" mini-suite design with a semi-divided seating area with huge corner sofa.
- Free parking, unlike hotels closer to DC.
- Comfortable bed. Mini Fridge.
- Quiet.

Lows showed a lack of customer service caring:

- Free continental breakfast to 11:00 AM allegedly, but I got there Sunday at 10:30, and they'd already cleared everything away. Not nice.
- TV channels were set up wrong. "PBS" was actually the digital feed of PBS Kids. "Discovery Channel" was actually an automotive channel owned by Discovery Networks. Whoever set it up obviously didn't care, and neither did management, obviously. Very sparing selection of channels otherwise (not even the History Channel).
- Due to recent freezing rain, the parking lot was quite icy. They salted the walkway, but didn't bother with the driveway right in front?

Other issues:

- Internet was somewhat slow with weak wireless connections (though not terrible), and there is no wired option in the room.
- Impossible to keep an eye on the TV while working at the desk, as it is around the corner from the sleeping area; but since there's no wired connection, there was no reason to use it anyway.

Better choice in my opinion: Doubletree.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidStarsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The Hyatt Place in Sterling gave us everything we wanted and needed with the standard amenities and a comfortable king-size bed. Two things stand out: the first is the unique floor plan. A divider wall separates the bed from the entrance area. In the entrance area is a comfortable wrap-around couch, a wet bar and granite counter, a work desk and a closet area with a large sweater drawer. The bathroom is immediately off the sleeping area. This junior suite arrangement allows a person to convene a group for coffee or for one of the couple to read on the couch while the other is in the darkened sleeping area asleep. What meant the most to me in the end, though, is that 15 minutes after I checked out I realized that I had left behind on the coffee table a folder of important papers. I called Matt at the front desk, who promised to run upstairs to "rescue" the folder before the maids cleaned the room and disposed of trash. The very good news is that the maids had recognized the importance of the folder and had put it aside for safe-keeping. Matt easily retrieved the folder, and shortly thereafter I picked it up from the front desk. So, thank you Matt and housekeeping staff for helping to end our stay on such a positive note. I will definitely return! The only reason I'm not rating the hotel "5" is that it is currently undergoing renovation, which very slightly inconvenienced us. Of course the renovation is good news for future travelers!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on a floor that is already renovated or on which the renovation has not yet begun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Our second stay here - by choice. Comfortable bed, quiet room. We stayed on the top floor - #6 this time and could hear nothing below us. Decent continental breakfast included with cereal, juices, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bagels, etc. from 7:30 - 9:30. Free shuttle to Dulles airport. Staff very accommodating. You can order some pre-prepared food and beverages 24/7 by the reception desk which is particularly nice even though this is not one of the high end Hyatts. When my husband had a glass of wine ($6.50), I asked for and got a 1/2 glass of wine and was not charged for it. A nice touch. A bowl of fresh apples is always available. The price for a double room (queen sized bed) was $66. plus tax. which seemed very reasonable for the outer D.C. area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The hotel is undergoing major renovation. If you want peace and quiet - stay away. Call ahead to see if they are done with the renovation. We stayed there for 5 days and the only days we had peace were on xmas and day after. The constant drilling and banging and dust and smell of paint, glue, latex was terrible. When I called to ask them about the drilling - the man at the front desk said, "you are more than welcome to leave." Oh wow! I cannot believe this is Hyatt. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Property: Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Address: 21481 Ridgetop Cir, Sterling, VA 20166-6507
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the innovative hospitality of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, the recipient of the 2014 and 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for customer service. Additionally, Hyatt Place was just ranked top upscale hotels for customer service by J.D. Power. Our Sterling, VA hotel offers inviting spaces to relax and work, with free Wi-Fi, a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast and shuttle service to Dulles Airport and local destinations within 5 miles radius. Enjoy shopping and dining at Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets and One Loudoun, all minutes away. Our casually chic hotel also offers a prime Dulles Airport location for business and leisure travelers. We offer intimate meeting and event spaces near major companies, including Lockheed Martin, NTSB, Northrop Grumman, DHL, Raytheon, Neustar, AOL, Verizon, and VISA. Students visiting the DC area will appreciate being close to Northern Virginia Community College, The Art Institute of Washington Northern Virginia, George Washington University and Strayer University. Relax after a long flight or drive in one of the 134 spacious guest rooms at our Hyatt Place hotel near Dulles Airport offering plush Hyatt Grand Bedding, Free Wi-Fi, media center and ergonomic desk, Cozy Corner sofa-sleeper, 42” inch HDTVs, contemporary decor and a relaxing environment. We feature onsite facilities for our guests’ convenience including a 24/7 fitness center with modern exercise equipment, seasonal outdoor pool, and three meeting rooms with a combined 1,600 sq. ft., ideal for social or business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing