We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Shuttle Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Shuttle Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I called the hotel three times and waited 50 minutes to be picked up from the airport. I would suggest the managers tried waiting in the wind and cold for the shuttle for 50 minutes. The van driver told me the hotel is 15 minutes from the airport. What gives here? They told me they were sending the van right out.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bettie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear bettie e,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience. We take all of our guests’ feedback very seriously so that we can always strive to improve their experience.

I would like to start by apologizing for the experience that you had with the hotel shuttle. Your experience is totally unacceptable and definitely not typical of our shuttle’s service. We will immediately address the issue and make sure we are providing accurate estimations of how long the shuttle will take to arrive. We hope that you were able to enjoy your stay otherwise and take advantage of the great amenities we offer and our fantastic location.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to prove that we can do it right and really make your stay amazing.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    111
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
163
81
41
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foresthill, Ca
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Clean, quiet and well-priced Hampton Inn about 15 mins from Dulles airport. Staff is exceptional, truly exceptional - they set the standard for other Hamptons to follow. I'll be back......Hotel is near a few restaurants, grocery story and Dulles airport (15 mins approx)....Rooms are a bit dated and cheap fixtures. Nice lounge area for breakfast, reasonably priced. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Hello ScottB68,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We love to hear from our guests.

We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that the team was able to be a big part of that. We strongly believe that people make all the difference in the world and we feel our team here at the hotel is very special. Everyone takes great pride in really taking care of our guests. We are actually wrapping up a room renovation and it sounds like you may have stayed in one of the last rooms that still are waiting to be updated. We hope that you like the updates to the room and all of the new fixtures and equipment we are installing.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We needed a moderately priced place to stay while visiting my father in a nursing home 2 miles away. The Hampton Inn felt like a home away from home. The desk clerk who greeted us upon check-in treated us like family. The lobby is gorgeous as is the breakfast room (free breakfast!), with dark, hardwood paneling, a two-sided fireplace, granite counters. The sleeping rooms are clean and offer the usual amenities: iron, hair dryer, toiletries, coffee and coffee maker, big flat-screen TV, and the bonus of free wi-fi. The bed was not as firm as I like, but the bedding was very comfortable. As a Hilton Honors member, I took advantage of the late check-out, which added to the entirely pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear susaness,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We always love to hear from our guests.

It is great that we were able to make you feel warm and welcomed during your stay with us. We do all that we can for our guests in order to provide them with the best. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our great breakfast as well. The hotel is also in the middle of a complete room renovation where literally everything is being replaced. Hopefully that will resolve the issue you had with the firmness of the bed and hopefully add to your experience.

We are looking forward to having another chance to serve you the next time you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Booked the "park 'n ride" package online at the Hampton website. If you book early enough, you may be able to secure the "advance purchase" price. Excellent price. Good service. Good breakfast. Once we returned from our trip, we contacted the hotel so they could come pick us up. They informed us that they had problems with the transporter and was unavailable. They advised us to take a taxi and be sure to get a receipt. We did exactly that. We took this receipt into the front desk and they immediately reimbursed us. Good business practice. Thank you.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Hello bonnshack,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great Park N Fly package.

We take serving our guests very seriously and do everything that we can to provide the highest level of service possible. We apologize the shuttle wasn’t available for your return but it’s good to hear you weren’t inconvenienced at all.

We are looking forward to having another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed here for a week while attending a training conference across the street from the hotel. I really only had one complaint about the entire stay. The internet was so incredibly slow! For anyone that is travelling on business and needs to use the internet at night, it just isn't near enough bandwidth. I was getting around 2K transfer rates, less than half of an old 56k modem. I had to turn the wirelss on my phone off and just go with the 3G speed because that too was much faster. Wired or wireless, speed was the same. So that was a big disappointment when trying to get work in after training was done for the day. On the plus side, the room was large, the bathroom was huge, and the HVAC worked well and was very quiet. If the internet would have been up to par, it would have been a 5 star stay for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbaphatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Hello bobbaphatt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience staying at our hotel. We love hearing from our guests.

We are happy to hear that for the most part you really enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking. Regarding the internet, unfortunately we often find that our guests experience slow internet occasionally like you did when a lot of people stream movies and other video. This is an unfortunate consequence of having unlimited free internet available to our guests despite having over 200mb of bandwidth dedicated to guest service. We are in the testing phase of a new program to resolve this issue by offering free throttled service and other higher speed options for a small additional fee.

We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I had a great week long stay here. The shuttle service was exceptional and the rooms very clean.

You really can't hear any of the airplane noise and there is a mall located within walking distance.

I liked this hotel alot - it felt more like in a suburb versus a busy, international transport area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ua85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Hello ua85,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such kind words about our hotel. We love hearing from our guests.

We are absolutely thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make you feel at home. We are especially glad to hear that you enjoyed our location too. We think that our location is perfect with all of the conveniences of an airport hotel without the noise and craziness at properties closer to the airport. We also have a great mall in walking distance with many shops and restaurants for our guests to use.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you!

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades for one night last April. We arrived to Dulles Airport very late and wanted to stay near the airport. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. There are several stores and restaurants in the surroundings, including a 24 hour McDonalds which was great for our late arrival. We had asked for a king room with a sofa bed and, eventhough we got this hotel through Hotwire, our request was fulfilled. They have serve a complimentary breakfast which was very convenient for an early start the next morning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxtravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hi mxtravelingirl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are vary happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make your late arrival as smooth of a process as possible. We do whatever we can to take care of our guests and provide them with the best service and amenities no matter how big or small the request is.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades

Property: Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
Address: 46331 McClellan Way, Sterling, VA 20165-7244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sterling
#2 Family Hotel in Sterling
#3 Business Hotel in Sterling
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Dulles International Airport and close to all of Washington DC's attractions, you'll find the brand new Hampton Inn Cascades. Nestled in the heart of the Cascades Town Center, you'll find an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment opportunities just a short walk from the hotel's front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades Hotel Sterling
Hampton Inn Sterling
Sterling Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing