We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An old dirty hotel, the kind you can't even walk around in without shoes.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An old dirty hotel, the kind you can't even walk around in without shoes.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I purchased two rooms and requested adjoining rooms at the reservation. The front desk did not have any and the girls was not very friendly. We actually were just going to cancel our reservation but they got us two rooms next door to each other. We travel with a small dog that has traveled his entire life, so we have stayed at many pet friendly hotels. I picked this hotel because it had a 20. a night fee per pet and we only needed two rooms for one night. Big mistake!!! The pet friendly room smelled bad when we arrived, but the carpets were wet so we left for dinner to let them dry. We returned to a room the smelled even worse, it REAKED of cat urine:-( A very strong musty disgusting smell. My husband went to the front and they gave us a can of Lysol neutra air freshner. I was nauseas from the smell all night and could not sleep, I had to keep spraying the air fresher all night so my 5& 6 year old daughters could sleep. Do yourself a favor and stay at the mariott which only cost about 10.00 more per night. I usually stay at there properties but I did not want to pay the 100. pet fee. Which is a total cost per stay that is usually a great deal but not on a one day trip or so I thought. After I was given the air fresher as this hotels solution to this disgusting odor I would of gladly paid the extra 80.00 pet deposit. Truly the worst place I have stayed at. I will never stay here again and would not recommend this place to anyone. They had a chance to resolve our issue and did not. They should of moved us to another room not given us a can of air fresher! So tacky and it just shows you what you can expect if you have an issue here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywifeandmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Happywifeandmama,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize that your experience was not a pleasant one and that it did not exceed your expectations as we try to do with all of our guests. I have met with our Executive Housekeeper, as well as our Chief Engineer to discuss the issues that you had in your room. We will be retraining all of our staff on properly inspecting our guestrooms to prevent anyone from being checked into a room that has issues such as the ones that you experienced. I have also met with the front desk staff regarding the service that you received throughout your stay. One of our main goals is to make sure that all of our guests leave happy and I’m sorry that we weren’t able to turn your experience around before your departure. I did have a chance to speak with your husband and refunded you for that night, I hope that the resolution is satisfactory for you. I can assure you that this is not typical of our hotel. We strive to deliver the best product and service to ensure that all of our guests are happy and will stay with us again. Please contact me if you will be traveling to the DC Metro area in the future so I can make your next stay perfect.

Marisol Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    185
    78
    23
    24
See reviews for
150
110
79
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I enjoyed my stay. The staff was excellent and made sure I was okay. It was only for one night, but I would stay again, even longer next time. Location if you picking up from Dulles, is right on. No problems in or out and it only took 7 minutes from the hotel. I like that is away from all the stores and traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel had two floors and no elevator. If I had known this ahead of time, I would not have stayed at the hotel. However, I did not ask the question when making the reservations. The staff was helpful with my luggage getting me to my room and getting in downstairs the next morning. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband & I have stayed at this particular hotel in Sterling many times & have always been impressed with both the hotel itself & the friendly staff. The rooms are always very clean. If there are any problems, the staff responds promptly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was returning from Nashville to Nova Scotia when United Airlines included a no-expenses paid 11 hour layover at Dulles. I made an online reservation through Best Western, securing a one bed room for approximately $68.00 (USD) including taxes, shuttle and breakfast. The shuttle was at the airport when I arrived, check-in was quick and easy, and a good recommendation for some delivery food made the evening easy and restful. The room itself was clean and efficiently layed out (fridge/microwave under the sink, small bathroom), but for a short overnight, met all my needs (especially the air-conditioning -- it was warm out!). The in-room amenities (shampoo, conditioner, soap, abundance of towels) meant that I didn't need to unpack all my gear, which made an early morning easier. It's not a property for a long term vacation, but easy outside access, efficient shuttles, decent breakfast and courteous staff, combined with an outstanding price, made this a good choice for me.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if your suitcase is heavy, request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual signs about "Green" and reusing towels was there.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_in_Nova_Scotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear David_in_Nova_Scotia,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and letting us know how me met all of your needs, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Best regards,

Marisol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

it was fine for what we needed for the night. the staff was friendly and let us have a small get together in the lobby. besides that, the rooms are typical, but not lovely. clean and fine, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank promo_jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
0.6 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
Address: 45440 Holiday Dr, Sterling, VA 20166-9411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sterling
#4 Green Hotel in Sterling
#10 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Inn Dulles Airport provides lodging near Dulles Airport and Dulles Town Center. This Dulles Airport hotel is conveniently located near area attractions, such as Chantilly Dulles Expo Center, Wolf Trap Center for the Performing Arts and the National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Hampton Inn Dulles
Dulles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing