We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was returning from Nashville to Nova Scotia when United Airlines included a no-expenses paid 11 hour layover at Dulles. I made an online reservation through Best Western, securing a one bed room for approximately $68.00 (USD) including taxes, shuttle and breakfast. The shuttle was at the airport when I arrived, check-in was quick and easy, and a good recommendation for some delivery food made the evening easy and restful. The room itself was clean and efficiently layed out (fridge/microwave under the sink, small bathroom), but for a short overnight, met all my needs (especially the air-conditioning -- it was warm out!). The in-room amenities (shampoo, conditioner, soap, abundance of towels) meant that I didn't need to unpack all my gear, which made an early morning easier. It's not a property for a long term vacation, but easy outside access, efficient shuttles, decent breakfast and courteous staff, combined with an outstanding price, made this a good choice for me.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if your suitcase is heavy, request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual signs about "Green" and reusing towels was there.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_in_Nova_Scotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear David_in_Nova_Scotia,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and letting us know how me met all of your needs, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Best regards,

Marisol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    181
    76
    23
    24
See reviews for
144
109
77
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

it was fine for what we needed for the night. the staff was friendly and let us have a small get together in the lobby. besides that, the rooms are typical, but not lovely. clean and fine, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank promo_jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed 1 night with park and fly package. The price of the room went from $78 to $130, which seemed very expensive, but wanted a hotel with a shuttle to the airport. The hotel is a motel, with no indoor corridors. The rooms was small and just OK. Our biggest issue was when we returned from our trip. We called the front desk when we arrived and we were told the shuttle ran every half hour. There were 10 people or so waiting for the same shuttle, which never came. We, along with other folks, called the front desk to inquire about the shuttle. The same attentant then informed us that their shuttle had stopped running and we should have taken the Holiday Inn shuttle instead. That info would have been nice before waiting in the cold for 45 min with our 2 small children. So we continued to wait....and wait. Finally we gave up and asked a driver from another hotel if he could take us to the BW. He was great and took all of the people waiting --- he was so nice! When we got back to the BW I spoke to the extremely rude front desk man who told me it wasn't his fault, yelled at me for expecting him to coordinate the shuttle. After he finished telling me why it wasn't his problem he simply walked away, no apology. Nothing. I was shocked by his behavior but realized there was no point in saying anything else.
Bottom line is the room was mediocre at best and the service was horrific. Spend $10 more and stay at one of many other airport hotels with shuttle service. We spent that anyway tipping the guy who took us back to the motel to get our car.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nvanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern D, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Nvanca, for your frank comments regarding your recent Park and Fly stay with us. I apologize on behalf of the hotel and the team member to which you referred for our inability to provide proper service, something you should be able to expect from us. Our hotel has been providing shuttle service to and from Dulles International Airport for many years. However, your feedback shows me that we have some work to do before we perfect this service. Travel is already difficult enough these days. My apologies again to you and your family for the circumstances of your return trip.

I do hope that should your travels bring you through the Dulles area that you will give us another opportunity. We are not only a great value but also we listen to our customers. We'll make it right.

Thank you for choosing the Best western Dulles Airport

Marisol Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
463 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The good - airport shuttle clean and prompt, breakfast better than average, shower had hot water and good pressure, and the bed was comfortable. The annoying - the base price goes up considerably for sleep/fly. The price was supposed to be $80something, but ended up being $130. We decided to go for it anyway. However, when we got there, we were charged another $20 because we needed eight days and the price they gave us was for up to seven days of parking. We were not told about the extra $20 when we made the reservation and gave them the number of days we would need parking. It felt like 'bait and switch' to us. The disappointing - the desk had an attitude with my son-in-law (although the one who checked us in was pleasant) and acted like she was doing him a big favor by answering his questions. The rooms are tired, the a/c heating unit is noisy, and the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling. Next time we will choose one of the many other airport hotels.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Crcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern D, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you, Crcb, for your candid comments regarding a recent stay at the Best Western Washington Dulles. I was thrilled to read your kind remarks regarding such services as the shuttle and breakfast, comfort of bed and water pressure. Our Park and Fly package is a great value as the airport charges a minimum of $11 per day. However, I apologize for any difficulty you experienced in booking the rate online and the impression you received for the extra day's rate. Due to your comments, we are reviewing the website to ensure ease of use and accuracy of information. I apologize for the attitude and inappropriate behavior of our guest service agent.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Washington Dulles. We continue to be the best value in the immediate area and look forward to a future chance to show you our typically high levels of service.


Yours in Hospitality,

Marisol Rodriguez
Best Western Dulles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
277 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This BW hotel is better than most; however, do not confuse this with the higher class “Best Western Plus” grade of hotels. Make no mistake, this really is a roadside motel and you will find rooms are accessed from exterior doors and a map may be required to find your room. The Wi-Fi worked, there is a nice flat screen TV with a good range of channels, in-room coffee maker, and there were sufficient towels available.

This Best Western’s overall room product is better than most and the housekeeping was good. My only complaint was the cover to the heating unit in my room had fallen off. There is no restaurant at this Best Western; but, an adjacent Holiday Inn has a small pub which delivers to this hotel’s rooms.

The free breakfast is fairly typical of most limited service type properties - do it yourself waffle, fruit, yogurt, cereals, donuts, breads, juices, and a selection of coffees and teas. The hotel begins breakfast at 6:00 AM and permits the shuttle passengers to grab a quick breakfast a few minutes before departing on the hour.

If you are a Dulles passenger, it will take you nearly as long to get to the shuttle boarding area as it takes to go the four miles to the hotel. Beware - the shuttle operates each half hour and you are well advised to call the hotel to find out when to expect your pickup time. During foul weather there is very little protection from the elements and you might want to wait in the terminal until the last possible moment.

The hotel's shuttle to Dulles departs on the hour and half hour; however, seats are limited and you need to reserve your seat to ensure your get back to the airport in time for your flight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the adjacent highway to ensure you get a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Everything was great. The only thing we did not realized when booking is that the room doors are on the outside of the facility. Room was great. Breakfast was great. Great for 1 or 2 nights. Convenient to DC.

The only con was the night staff when we checked in, about 6pm. Not wearing clothes/uniform to indicate they were associated with the hotel and somewhat unprofessional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
Address: 45440 Holiday Dr, Sterling, VA 20166-9411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sterling
#4 Green Hotel in Sterling
#10 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Inn Dulles Airport provides lodging near Dulles Airport and Dulles Town Center. This Dulles Airport hotel is conveniently located near area attractions, such as Chantilly Dulles Expo Center, Wolf Trap Center for the Performing Arts and the National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western + Iniative and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Hampton Inn Dulles
Dulles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing