We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algonkian Regional Park

Algonkian Regional Park
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

There is everything here: picnic tables and covered pavilions with clean bathrooms, cottages for rent, a water park, miniature golf, walking trails,and RV parking. It is right on the Potomac River that is a gem to see. Just a wonderful, free park. A great place to visit and see the river and have a picnic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CookWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So-so place to go...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This park is very close to my house and quite popular here in the Sterling area. But, if you and your family decide to spend a weekend getaway here coming from a place far away, please don't do that. It's honestly not worth it. I personally think that locals are the only people that can benefit from this park. Reason being, it's not much of a spectacular place, it's nice to hang out at for a day. The river is oh my gosh, so bad and I don't even think it's the highlight of this attraction. And, the only reason why I am giving this attraction a 3 star rating is because of the great little benches and tables they have for picnics, playground, golf course, baseball field, and swimming pool. But, all of these have never really struck me to be amazing. But, I think locals have appreciated this place a lot over the years because of the great accessibility.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceprine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is by far the worst park I have EVER been to. Many people don't leash their dogs and let them to wander. One even ran up to me out-of-the-blue and bit my upper foot. We exchanged numbers and it turns out the owner refused to cooperate. Afterwards, I had to spend my whole day in the hospital.. Rude people and HORRIBLE park. We saw many people swimming in the river when there is a clear NO SWIMMING sign in the entrance. I've been here many times and was astonished at how the park was poorly maintain. The water was disgusting and polluted with beer bottles and soda cans everywhere along the edges. There was also litter all over he ground. To me it didn't feel like a naturalistic park. It was more like a dumpster from those of a third world country. Feel free to come here if you want to see a marshy wasteland and loud and obnoxious people,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank City_Food_is_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hidden surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Cottages right on the Potomac riverbank. 2-4 bedrooms, surprisingly reasonable rate (for that area). Clean, comfortable, kitchen/basics for cooking. Near to Giant food store for supplies. Meeting space on site for retreats. Discount on golf (I think). Need to arrive/check-in during specific hours, as they close an entrance gate (guest have access keys) Don't lock your key in your cottage!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good place to spend a lazy day out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice place by the river, allowing for water sports, picnics, relaxation and wildlife watching. There is a kid's playground, walking trails and plenty space to enjoy your time outdoors.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Agnes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonkian Regional Park also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Algonkian Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing