We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great afternoon hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algonkian Regional Park

Algonkian Regional Park
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great afternoon hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great to take the family & kids on an afternoon hike! They also have a playground if you have little ones

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindyzim_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    45
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Family Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This park offered a lot of different activities for my three children. From a reasonably priced waterpark, picnic areas, nature trails to explore, and a playground area. The perfect place to have some family fun.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Busy Park with Great Views of the Potomac”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is good for what I use it for. I go here with my dogs for short hikes. I have not taken advantage of the full spectrum of what Algonkian Park has to offer. Nor will I ever, since much of it is geared towards children. However for a very local place it works in a pinch with great views of the Potomac River. The downside...it's a well used park. So, you do not go here if you want a secluded experience. And if you have dogs, be very prepared for most park visitors to be visibly afraid of them.

The park offers a waterpark, boat launch, golfing, rental cabins, access to golfing and a small trail system.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cabins are very nice for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We recently stayed for four nights at the cabins. The park is beautiful, right on the Potomac.
The golf course is gorgeous and very difficult. The water park is small, but nice. There is a miniature golf course (18 holes) and ample hiking trails.
A few things I would have liked to know before coming to the park:
1. No alcohol allowed period. Even for guests of the cabin. Although it wasn’t like any one checked.
2. Park closes at dark. Cabin guests are locked in but they do provide a key to the gate if necessary.
3. The towels are really poor. Bring you own. Don't say I didn't warn you!
4. Bring bug repellant in summer. You might also need a mouse trap. Cabin 4 has a pretty good sized mouse.
5. The beds are doubles, twins, or sofa beds. No queens or kings here.
6. Kitchens are well equipped.
7. Good wi-fi in cabin 4. Not sure about the others but I assume so.
8. Beds are firm but generally good.
9. Very nice laundry facility.
10. They could really use an exterminator. Lots of critters.
11. Cabin guests have free access to the water park, miniature golf, pool, and discounted greens fees at the golf course.

Overall, a very nice stay.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank osodoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a nice wonderful picnic spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

also, there is golf, and swimming. a really great family place.hey also have cabins that are a really great options to the hotels in the DC area. there is bus access during the week to get to the metro system in DC right outside the park. a real perk for a vacation

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonkian Regional Park also viewed

 

Been to Algonkian Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing