We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not what you might expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mokomandy

Mokomandy
Reserve with OpenTable
Mokomandy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 233 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Algonkian Parkway
Transit: Great Falls Plaza - Loudoun County Commuter Bus
Description: Modern. Korean. Cajun.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what you might expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I was not sure what Korean Cajun combo would taste like and am still not sure. The combo sounds very intense especially if you like local style Kim Chee and tabasco-y Cajun. If that is what you are looking for you will be disappointed as the food is carefully conceived and quite complex. A table of 6, we sampled many of the offerings and they were super ! I especially liked the Kobe Carpaccio for its mixture of flavors and texture. The service was excellent, and you can speak to your party without shouting. If you are any where near Sterling it is well worth the drive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kovuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    49
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Refined menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Has refined their menu over time-found what works and what didn't. Would like to see better selection of wines, also my red wine was served too warm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great, fresh and unique food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We loved this restaurant. They offered a casual, clean and modern environment. They provide options in Small, medium and large plates. Very similar to a tapas restaurant.
This allowed us to try a wide variety of items and we enjoyed them all.
The Scallops were maybe the best that I have ever had.
Service was great
Go and enjoy this restaurant, you'll be glad you did.
We'll be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TahoeNVTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STATESVILLE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MOKOMANDY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Different and very good. Tasty (spicy but not too hot) flavors in Tapas size dishes. Korean cajun moniker for its food is misleading.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Mix of Canjun and Korean Delights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We recently celebrated our Wedding Anniversary at Mokomandy's in Sterling, VA. This is truly a hidden gem in our area. The restaurant is located discreetly in the Great Falls Plaza center. The same is tastefully decorated with clean lines and simple modern stylings. The staff is friendly and professional with just enough casual cool. You order as you feel the need. Everything is cooked to order. I really liked the fact that there are four portion sizes- snacks/sides, small, medium and large. This great and probably keeps people from wasting food. You must try the kale chips! They are light and delicious! Most restaurants don't recommend sharing but at Mokomandy's it's encouraged. Great idea for the lite eaters or just to sample more than one dish. This is a must go! Prices are moderate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tdterrytodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokomandy also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mokomandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing