We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOKOMANDY”
Review of Mokomandy

Mokomandy
Reserve with OpenTable
Mokomandy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 247 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Algonkian Parkway
Transit: Great Falls Plaza - Loudoun County Commuter Bus
Description: Modern. Korean. Cajun.
STATESVILLE
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MOKOMANDY”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Different and very good. Tasty (spicy but not too hot) flavors in Tapas size dishes. Korean cajun moniker for its food is misleading.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    56
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Mix of Canjun and Korean Delights!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We recently celebrated our Wedding Anniversary at Mokomandy's in Sterling, VA. This is truly a hidden gem in our area. The restaurant is located discreetly in the Great Falls Plaza center. The same is tastefully decorated with clean lines and simple modern stylings. The staff is friendly and professional with just enough casual cool. You order as you feel the need. Everything is cooked to order. I really liked the fact that there are four portion sizes- snacks/sides, small, medium and large. This great and probably keeps people from wasting food. You must try the kale chips! They are light and delicious! Most restaurants don't recommend sharing but at Mokomandy's it's encouraged. Great idea for the lite eaters or just to sample more than one dish. This is a must go! Prices are moderate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tdterrytodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Strip Mall Food Around”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently visited Mokomandy with a couple of regulars. Not fusion, but both Cajun and Korean specialties. . There's gotta be something you will like to drink as they offer a wide variety of specialty mixes (many created in-house), beers and wines.
Be prepared to share dishes with tapas styled portions as well as full plated (or bowled) entrees. We were told the menu changes frequently so you can return on another date for something new and exciting.
Orders come randomly, so be prepared to eat it when it's hot. Presentations are very good and the menu items are pretty creative.
Kimchi pancakes - excellent Kale chips - very tasty Pot Roast Sliders - mouth watering
We love spicy food and should have asked if they would up the heat for us (maybe next time).
This place is small so make reservations to assure seating. Eating at the bar is also suitable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaDaRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food and amazing drinks”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have eaten here more than a dozen times and I have had some great meals and some ok meals. On average I would say always a 4 out of 5. I would recommend sitting at the bar and talking with the bartenders. Discuss the drinks and what you would like. The drinks are creative and delicious. The menu is always changing with some dishes being a constant. The plates are small to medium and ordering a variety makes it all the more fun. We will be returning a dozen more times. The brunch is outstanding. the french toast is almost a desert it is so good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious and eclectic”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Mokomandy specializes in Korean and Cajun dishes, but does not bill itself as a fusion restaurant. The menu and the fare are Tapas style, smaller dishes meant to be "pieced together" and shared. Everyone in our party loved the pot roast sliders, absolutely delicious. The Boar Bowl and the Bul Gogi were also quite good. The drink menu is as unique and tasty as the food menu. Try the jalapeno margarita. Huge selection of bottled beer, something for every taste. The restaurant is in a strip mall and there is ample parking, but the venue itself is rather small so I'd recommend reservations for Thursday through Sundays. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VA_TDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokomandy also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mokomandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing