We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better than some Hilton's.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than some Hilton's.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Not all Doubletree Hotels have concierge floors - this one does. Nice restaurant too.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Business_Traveler_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    144
    59
    23
    10
See reviews for
148
99
67
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

When our evening flight to Los Angeles was cancelled, we re-booked an early morning flight out of Dulles Airport. We decided to stay the night before so we wouldn't have to battle traffic in the morning.
Reservations was easy and we were pleasantly surprised to find a very new and modern hotel. Of course, the cookie we received upon check-in almost made up for the cancelled flight. Service was outstanding and the bed was terrific.
We are Hilton Gold and were placed on the Concierge floor. One suggestion would be to have breafast open earlier thatn 6 a.m. There are people who need to leave the hotel by 6:30.
Even though it's a bit out of the way from Dulles (about a 10 minute ride) it is well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSSMetroD.C.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I was caught in Chicago storms and couldn't catch my flights back to the UK after a long hard week of work. United mapped a route home , and I found myself two flights later, hot and tired at Dulles needing a room for the night. I was lucky to have picked this hotel. Not only was the hotel new, the rooms were exceptionally comfortable ,equipt and had good decor (for a change!). I have stayed in many hotels, and have never written a review on any of them. I felt compelled to put something about this one, as for me this one night stay was economic, it helped me rest and recover , and the staff were very helpful, multi cultural and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickens65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khilbert, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. It was our pleasure to be at your service.
Ken Hilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I was so pleased with this hotel - I didn't want to leave! It was clean and new. Big, fluffy, white, comfortable beds. Nicely furnished rooms complete with large flat-screen tv, computer station/desk, free internet access, i-pod dock/alarm clock. Bathroom was nice and clean - furnished with Neutrogena products and big, white, fluffy towels. Granite and marble counter/table tops. I did receive a wonderful chocolate chip cookie upon check-in and actually upon check-out as well. The exercise room was excellent - fantastic cardio equipment complete with individual tvs on treadmills, ellipticals, and bicycle. Good selection of weights and machines and even an exercise ball. The pool was crystal clear. Large fluffy towels were supplied in the pool and exercise areas. Excellent bar and restaurant area and lovely patio outside for relaxing with drinks and/or food. Nice selection of food and drinks. No negatives on this hotel - except it is a bit hard to find. GPS gets confused as to its location. It would be best to have the hotel staff give you directions how to get there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilove2travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Several days before our stay, I called to confirm the reservation and that we had a two queens and not a king. Well we got a king and was able to get two queens the next night. We also found the comforters to be leaking pillows everywhere. Also don't set anything on the nightstand, ours got scratched up from a beer bottle. The cookies are by request only and you can get them from the front desk.

To explain my title about fishy dealings at the hotel. On our third day we returned from work in the city and found the lobby and outside area of the hotel to be very crowded with 50 suitcases and many Arabs. When we went to get a couple of cookies, everyone was paying in cash for 15 days! Also, only white and black people were on our level, it seemed as if the hotel staff were segregating the guest to certain areas of the hotel.

All in all, the hotel was nice because it was new. It was very crowed and the beds leaked feathers all over. Also don't count on having two queen beds, be prepared to use a pillow barrier.

One highlight, they had free wireless

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khilbert, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that you did not get the double queen rooms you requested prior to your arrival when you checked into the hotel but happy to see that you received your requested room types after the first night of your stay.
Ken Hilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbridge
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

the hotel had promise, nice pool, nice lobby, rooms clean, but the service was terrible. first doubletree in the history of the world with no cookies at check in - they promise cookies and milk for their executive level rooms, but I never got that - was supposed to have free breakfast as a hilton honors gold vip, but they tried to charge for it. all in all, nice place but not worth the awful service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duke147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khilbert, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to read that you were not offered cookies at check in and did not receive your warm cookies and milk for turn down at night. We take the welcoming cookie very serious as it is a hallmark of our Doubletree brand.
If your travel plans bring you to our area again please contact me personally so that I may speak to you in person and insure that all of our services are offered and received to your satisfaction. Please allow us to be at your service again, you will be glad you did.
Sincerely, Ken Hilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

I was pulling some late night work in the Dulles area for a client and opted to stay in a hotel rather than fight the DC traffic, and was lucky enough to find a vacancy at this Doubletree. It is a pretty new hotel, which meant everything I saw was extremely clean and very well managed.

Checkin was efficient and the room was really nice with modern fixtures and features...the desk being wired to power USB devices and allow my iPod to be connected to the TV was great!

This hotel also had the new Doubletree beds which make it VERY hard to get up in the morning because they're so comfortable.

Great hotel and highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genghisdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing