We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“nice place and great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“nice place and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I highly recommend this place . very clean and comfortable. The staff are very professional and super welcoming. I had a small issue during my stay, as soon as I reported it the staff were all over the issue until it was resolved.my thanks to all of you who were involved in solving the problem , especially Ahsan. Thanks again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you so very much, Mark H, for your most kind review. The Team will be pleased to read your comments; I know that Ahsan will be extra-proud! We strive for excellence; however, if we are unable to achieve it, service recovery is in our hands. I am glad that we made it right for you.

Thank YOU, Mark H, for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    158
    66
    23
    14
See reviews for
161
108
71
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This DoubleTree was a refreshing change from our lackluster (and filthy) stay at their Pittsburgh-Airport location. The location here in Sterling was, for the most part, exactly what a DoubleTree is all about. The only complaint I can think of is that on the evening we arrived, finding a parking space was difficult, and we seemed to have to penetrate deep into the "park and fly" section of the lot. To be fair, showing up at 10pm on a Friday at any hotel usually isn't a parking pleasure.

The lobby is clean and modern. Yes, I got a cookie at check in. I don't really understand the cookie, but I'm not going to tell someone who wants to give me chocolate to not give me chocolate.

Our room was very nice. The furniture was in good shape. The bed was incredibly comfortable with immaculately clean white linens. The bathroom was wonderful. I loved the large, walk-in shower stall. I would love to have that in my home. The toiletries were excellent (the conditioner did more for my hair than my own does).

Pool closes at 10pm so we never got to check it out. Probably for the best because of the hoards of teenagers in the hotel, staying for a softball tournament. But, to the credit of the hotel, you'd never know the place was full of teenagers once out of the public areas.

I think a hidden gem of this hotel is the room service. For room service, I felt the prices and fees were incredibly reasonable for exceptional food.

When visiting the DC area, I usually stay out in the Reston-Herdon-Sterling area. Next time I'm out that way, this hotel will be a natural contender. Plus, unlike the Westins I normally stay at out here, the DoubleTree has complementary wireless internet. That sets it apart from so many of the other upscale chains.

Great work, folks! Looking forward to a future stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eightwednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Eightwednesday,

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We have received great reviews before, nothing so well written and specific. I truly appreciate you taking the time to tell everyone about your experience. This review makes me proud of my team and happy to be a member of a great work environment. It is the glue that holds us together.

Thank you for being our spokewoman.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I arrived late and there was no one at the desk ... my first thoughts were "oh boy here we go...". Within 5 min. I was in my room with a smile on my face! Everything was great during my 2 night stay. The best sleep away from home that I have experienced in some time ... I think it was the feathered pillows!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Good Evening Lisa M,

Thank you for your review. When I first began reading your review, I was worried! The last thing we would ever want is to not deliver great service to our guest. I can appreciate your thoughts about the bed as this is something most guests enjoy during their visits with us. I apologize for you having to wait while the agent returned to the desk. This is not customary for our location. Again, I am excited that the interaction was above and beyond your expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Real, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We highly recommend this hotel. We stayed 3 nights and we will definitively go back again. This hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was GREAT! friendly and very professional!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MTCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear MT Campbell,

Thank you for recognizing our great service provided during your stay. We have a wonderful team ready and willing to help you at any time. I am glad you enjoyed the bed. They are our crown of glory. We thank you for review.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The water pressure in the shower was terrible and added at least 10 minutes every morning for my shower just to get soap out of my hair. We originally had another reservation for 3 extra nights under my husbands name because he flew in Thursday. I cancelled the whole reservation because of the water pressure and we moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I sincerely regret, Vi M, our inability to meet your expectations during your stay with us. We are proud of our levels of services and amenities; however, we failed to represent our best to you. Our shower heads are low-flow without sacrificing a great shower experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Feedback is critical in order to achieve the greatest satisfaction possible of our guests. We hope that we have another opportunity to show you our very best.

Yours in Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ta101
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed in a suite, which was quite large and nicely appointed. The room is modern in design and was clean. However, the water pressure left a lot to be desired. It was a dribble at best, and that alone would deter me from staying at this property. If water pressure is not a concern, the hotel is worth staying at, with a convenient location to Dulles airport.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ta101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Ta101,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your visit with us. It's always great to hear how or service impacts our guests. I apologize for the lack of water pressure in the shower. I agree the suite is well appointed. We are trying out a new shower head to improve water efficiency and I a was not aware that it was causing dissatisfaction for our guests. I will look into anothe option for our rooms. Your feedback is appreciated and I look forward to an opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Doubletree is a fine hotel. When I needed an accomodation adjustment, Gabby handled it like an old pro. She pointed out the amenities and highly endorsed the breakfast. She was very congenial and ha a 24 carat smile. If you ever need someone to diffuse a disgruntled guest, I would recommend her. In addition I cannot say nough good things about the entire staff and facility. You are 5 star to me.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Good Day Damron B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you received great service during your stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with Gabriella. She will be happy to hear your thoughts. As always, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for your continued loyalty.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing