We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Found the hotel to be very clean and very quiet. The staff was professional and friendly. Was impressed with the front desk making note of the time I inquired about the airport van. The next morning i had decided to take a later van yet the front desk called to ensure if I was late that they would hold the van for me. They anticipated my needs and took note of my inquiries the day before.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Good Day Sharon J,

Thank you for the awesome review. Our hotel team takes pride in providing great service and it makes me extremely happy to see positive reviews about them. I will be sure to share your comments with them as well. Have a wonderful summer.

Kindly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 803 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

Hotel seem to try to be top notch but shower had low water pressure and shower head had much to be desired, the sheet would not stay on the very comfortable bed, no microwave just a fridge, good entertainment set up but had trouble with cable giving fuzzy picture because of the routing and tension on it, finally got it to clear up after wiggling it for several minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank timhahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Good Day Timhahn,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and will make every effort to ensure our guest rooms have the proper solution. We have a strong preventive maintenance plan in place and I am confident this will not happen in the future. Please let me know if you will be visiting our area again in the future. We would be happy to provide service to you and your guests.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Every aspect of this experience was excellent The front desk staff was extermely helpful from the time we checked in until out actual cehkout experience. The hotel is new and has a great new physical plant - it is in a great location next to the Dulles Town Center. The shuttle service is excellent. We were there for a family wedding and every aspect of the stay and hotel was excellent. i higly recommend the hotel for the price point, location and facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Donald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hello Donald N,

I am glad you were able to enjoy use of the shuttle and friendliness of our staff during your visit. Guest like you make it so easy to do a great job. I remember checking you and your family into the hotel and I really appreciate you taking the time to review the team. I know you were only here for a wedding but our entire team enjoyed helping and providing service for your family.

Kindly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have been a Doubletree customer a number of times while traveling on business in the past. This time it was for pleasure and a wedding at a local country club. Upon arrival we were met by the nicest of staff who made us feel at home, as well as giving us a delicious warm chocolate chip cookie. The room was spacious without the need for an upgrade and the beds were most comfortable. Although the buffet breakfast was fine the pancakes needed some of what southern cooking is noted for. But again the staff was nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Good Evening Jim V,

Thank you for your positive review regarding your stay at our hotel. It is great to know the staff is as warm as the cookie we present. That is our goal. I will take note of the southern pancake recipe and be sure to provide it to the Chef for future preparation. Please let me know if you plan to visit our hotel in the future and I'll be sure to have a fresh bach for you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

It was clean, but it is not the Double Tree that you are used to staying in. Think of Hampton Inn and that is exactly what you are going to get with the same type of breakfast option. I was very disappointed with the breakfast, not Double Tree standards. I have stayed in a bunch of Double Trees, around a 100 nights in them last year, and I don't understand why they would build one to compete in the budget hotel market.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank meeks2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Good Day Meeks2002,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and I am dissappointed that you found our location lacking in design and amenity offerings. We pride ourselves in providing an exemplary experience for our guests. I know the breakfast space may not be ideal however, it does boast a varied selection of gourmet items. In addition, we do try to exude the service attitude in every area of our location. Your feedback is very valuable and will be shared with our team to improve the offererd items to our guests. As always, we appreciate your feedback.

Kindly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Arrived around 11:00 PM. Speedy check-in, which was nice. Get to my room, which was a suite on the HHonors Diamond floor, and it's black as night. None of the light switches on the wall inside by the door worked. Had to crawl around to find a lamp by the bed. It didn't work either. Finally got the bathroom light on. Not fun ironing by "candlelight".

So this morning, my workmate and I meet downstairs for breakfast. I see the server handing out checks to other patrons, so I inquired and was told the price to which I replied I was a Diamond member and am comped breakfasts. As it turns out, during the speedy check-in, she didn't give me my voucher. So the server goes to the front desk to get my voucher. Well, my workmate who isn't Diamond was denied access to the free breakfast but he had access to the Club floor's free breakfast. I told the server downstairs that I would just eat upstairs with him. Then I was informed that I didn't have access to it. I can't eat upstairs and he can't eat downstairs. Can't win, eh? So he had to go back upstairs and I had to eat downstairs. Good way to kill our planned "get our plan for the day" business meeting, Doubletree.

Probably won't stay here next time due to the lack of electricity in the room and the confusion and/or lack of common sense of the staff members.

But... awesome bedding.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hello Jacob W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling Dulles Airport. I apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. I am sure we are normally exceeding our guest expectations in this area. Our team is usually ready and willing to ensure that guest are experiencing an exemplary stay and I regret falling short in this area for your stay. I would hope that your would be willing to give us another opportunity to show you what we are made of in the future. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to further assist you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had to be at Dulles International Airport at 6AM for a flight to Las Vegas, so we decided to stay in a hotel near the airport instead of dealing with the early morning Northern Virginia/Washington DC traffic. The Double Tree was ideal for our purpose, they not only are located very near the airport, but also offer shuttle service to and from; you can even keep you car at the hotel if needed. I had an excellent night's sleep before my departure and did not have to get up at 3AM and fight traffic for two hours prior to my flight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Clif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Good Day Clif M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling Dulles Airport. We truly appreciate the fact that you took a chance on our location and it worked out well for you. We receive great comments about how much easier it is to get to the airport from our location. Thank you for choosing our hotel and I look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Kindly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range: $87 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing