We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“"Classy"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

A *very* classy place.

Because I booked late, I was given a room on the club floor with superior bedding and amenities which I appreciated, even though I'm not Hilton Honors. The same thing that makes it quiet here makes it hard to find -- on a quiet road off the main highway and surrounded by trees -- almost impossible to find late-at-night.

No charter busses in he parking lot, either.

Room Tip: They're all good. Not a problem here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forest20851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Good Day Forest20851,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are thankful for having such a great set up that helps create a secluded area for our guests. You are the second person to mention the ribs that were prepared as well. I will be sure to share the feedback with the team.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    142
    59
    22
    9
See reviews for
145
96
66
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for its proximity to the airport and reasonable rates. The bed was by far the best I've had in some time anywhere! The Executive Floor amenities were outstanding--free happy hour that included barbecued ribs and onion rings along with the usual fare--no need for dinner after that! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 166claudial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear 166Claudial,

Thank you for staying at our hotel during your visit to the Sterling, Va. area. I am happy to here your enjoyed our options provided on the executive level. In addition, we get many compliments on our beds and they haven't failed us yet. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My stay was very nice except for the mediocre breakfast I had at the hotel restaurant the morning I checked out. I ordered a Belgian waffle which did not taste very fresh and did not automatically come with the accompaniments stated in the menu. The waiter, however, was very attentive and satisfied my requests promptly and politely. My husband was satisfied with the French Toast he ordered. The two staff members who assisted with check-in were extremely pleasant. Even though our encounter was brief, they made me feel confident that the hotel would be attentive if I needed anything. I wish I had gotten the staff members' names because I cannot emphasize enough how nice it was to do business with them. My room was neat and clean, and overall nicer than expected. I rated the "sleep quality" as "very good" instead of "excellent" because the pillows were too soft for my taste. Otherwise, the bed was very comfortable and well-appointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Jennifer W,

Thank you for taking the time provide a review regarding your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. We appreciate the comments you made about our service here at the hotel during check in and I am glad we were able to make you feel at home. I apologize that your order was not as advertised on the menu, but we are working towards ensuring there is more consistency in menu preparation.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Everything works as a Swiss clok there. The management is top notch. The service excellent. The whole hotel feels brand new, probably is, and even the food in the lobby is amazing. Very close to the airport and a shopping center

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank BMiltchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hell BMiltchev,

Thank your for a rave review. I and elated that you enjoyed the amenities on the executive level. We recently made some changes to the selections being offered and I am glad it was impactful during your stay. I look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great stay, check in went smooth, friendly desk, free happy hour very nice, got there right before it ended, host stayed for about a half hour after it ended to make sure we were done. also so very helpful. room was prefect, clean, comfortable, nice restaurant onsite.

Room Tip: put us on the higher floor less noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkyy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you, Sparkyy61, for a very complimentary review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport. Starting off a trip and being able to reflect back with words such as "perfect", "friendly" and "clean" sets the bar that hopefully the remainder of your travels will bring to you, as well. We try hard to make each guest's experience outstanding; we are glad that it was a great start to your time on the road.

Enjoy the rest of your East Coast trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I'm not normally too thrilled about hotels with the word airport the name, but this was a nice, clean, good looking (for lack of a better word) hotel. I chose this hotel because it was an option through a race website. We were visiting this area for the VA wine country half marathon for a 3 night stay. I don't know where the airport was but I didn't see/hear one plane. The gym is up to date, clean, small but enough room to get a good workout in. The pool, clean, on the small side. The hot tub didn't look too appealing; that's my only complaint. Rooms are a good size, clean, and beds-so comfortable. Restaurant and bar look inviting. Outdoor seating available which was perfect since it's beautiful weather this time of year. Perfect location to stay of you are doing wine tours. No shortage of shopping/eateries in the surrounding area. I would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SainiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
SainiC, we are so very impressed with the level of detail that you provided regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize that the whirlpool did not meet your expectations, however, we are thrilled that every other area of the hotel was a positive experience. The DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport is perfectly located from wineries, shopping, dining, and more exploration.

Here's to your and your future runs! Good luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great rate, hotel service was great, made you feel welcome. It could use more elevators, the circular design made for a lot of walking, not that its a bad thing, but after the long drive, you really aren't in the mood.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We appreciate your review, Al B. We hope to be able to provide great service and welcoming team members to you each and every visit. We firmly believe that we provide great rates and even greater value. Thank you for choosing our location and for taking the time to complete a review.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing