We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant - TERRIBLE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United States
1 review
“Restaurant - TERRIBLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Room & Front Desk - GREAT - Bed was awesome Restaurant was Terrible. At 7pm very few quests in restaurant and my family of 4 just ordered easy stuff like burgers. An HOUR later our food comes, order was wrong, my kids start crying they are so hungry. Should have went to Burger King. Food Service was BAD

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you, Brian R, for your honest review of all hotel services. Though I was glad to read that your Room and Front Desk services were great, I was equally disappointed that the Restaurant service fell short of both your and my expectations. I will review your comments with the Food & Beverage Team as customer comments are paramount to our understanding and achieving service perfection.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport. We hope we can be provided a second chance to provide you with a spectacular dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    157
    64
    23
    13
See reviews for
159
106
69
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I've stayed at this property several times over the course of several years since it first opened and I must say that until now I've always been pleased and satisfied, however this last visit was a big disappointment. The upkeep of the common areas was sorely lacking with the halls not being vacuumed during my entire stay from Thur to Sun. The elevator lobbies had dirt piles on the floor the entire time as well and the safety bar located in my room's shower was coming off the wall and full of mold. When I arrived one of the elevators was not working and the one that was did not seem safe, it stopped at my floor and I had to step up to get off. The main lobby floors were also not mopped. The television stopped working on Thursday night and when I called down to the lobby I was told it was because it was raining and that when the rain stopped it would be back on. This is the first time staying here that I felt let down and I got the impression that the staff was just doing a job and really did not care. It was a completely different experience based on the level of service received in years past. As a Hilton Silver Honors member I was disappointed and expected better from a property that I know has delivered better in the past.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chellester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Chellester,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to the quality of your room and the service during your stay.

At the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations in cleanliness and upkeep. Upon thorough review of the situation, we narrowed the cause to the need for additional training of staff. As a testament to strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again.

In these situations, it is unfortunate, but necessary to ensure the safety of all guests. I do thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I’m very thankful that you are willing to give us another opportunity to deliver a comfortable night’s sleep without disturbance. I can certainly appreciate the need for rest and appreciate your willingness to let us know where we can improve our service. We deeply value your relationship and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

The service was great. the room was ready on time and very clean. The breakfast was good. It was ideal location for my visit. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Good Day John F,

Thank you for the praise posted on Tripadvisor! I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. It's good to know when we leave a great impression on our guests. As always, I appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Easy to find
Priced just right
Cookies are yummy :)
Rooms nice and quiet
Beds very comfortable
Service impeccable
Halls could be a bit cleaner, but it was late in the day
Great experience for my family

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkkarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mkkarnold,

Thank you for posting this great review. We appreciate having you as our guest and look forward to having your family in the future. I am glad you though so well of us. Have a wonderful summer!

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel was lovely, and provided a welcome respite after a long plane flight. Room was clean and modern, WiFi worked perfectly, the bartender/waiter in the restaurant, Bill, was most friendly and helpful.If I have to fly from Dulles Airport again, I would definitely use this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dori930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Good Day Dori930,

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback regarding your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling Dulles Airport. I will be sure to tell Bill how wonderful he was at helping you during your stay. As always, we pride ourselves at being the best and your comments reinforce the importance of delivering great service every time.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Very clean and comfortable. The mattress and pillows were so soft and inviting that I am thinking about replacing my mattresses at home. The fitness room was some what small, but, it was adequate to get a decent workout. Nice indoor pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brigette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hello Brigette M,

I am glad you enjoyed the comfort of the beds we had selected for our hotel. They really do provide a most comfortable night's sleep. If you are interested in purchasing one for your home, don't hesitate to contact the hotel and we can provide the online website for your convenience. Again, we appreciate you choosing our hotel and hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Scenic views, free coffee in lobly, chocolate chip cookies at check in and courteous staff. Resort atmosphere without weekend bell service. Clean, quiet, spacious, comfortable rooms and beds. Full continental breakfast buffet in casual restaurant setting adjoining full bar. A bargain on weekends and a value otherwise.

Treat yourself as we did to this away from airport rest stop.

Room Tip: Highher floors are a treat with a private lounge and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hello Lucky K,

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Dulles as your home away from home while visiting the Sterling area. It was certainly our pleasure to serve. Your feedback will be shared with team to let them know they "got it right." I can't tell you how good it feels to see such a great response. We appreciate you choosing our location.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing