We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice room and reasonable room service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice room and reasonable room service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Check-in was quick and front desk was very nice. Room was nice enough, although I had no view - only window looked "out" at metal vents of the top of banquet rooms. Air conditioning/heat was loud. Water pressure was HORRIBLE in shower. If you have long/thick hair, expect to spend 20 minutes in the shower. Otherwise the room was nice - black out shades, nice bathroom with plenty of vanity space, comfortable bed, and plenty of pillows. I heard no other noise, even though the hotel was sold out. I had breakfast and dinner room service. It was pretty reasonably priced and the food was good enough, breakfast was better than dinner. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    157
    64
    23
    13
See reviews for
159
106
69
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Came in late evening, no hassles, no waiting, felt like you were waiting for us to arrive! Offered places that were open for us to dine... We were in town for a wedding, but it felt like a VACATION! The Reception was AWESOME, the food was EXCELLENT! Room was GREAT, CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, visually APPEALING, wanted to take the bed HOME!!! Well worth the stay, well worth the price! Will definitely see us again!! Did I say I wanted to TAKE THE BED HOME!!! Oh yeah, I did... (BIG SMILE)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jenee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Of course, Jenne B, we were waiting for you to arrive! It is difficult to reply to such an overwhelmingly positive review. What I can say is thank you from the entire Team for your gracious compliments and kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I came here for a marathon at the last minute so it was the only hotel in the area I could get a room for the night. The front desk service was slow when I tried to check in. It was frustrating, but when I checked out the other agent was quick. The rooms were nice, but a little old. And everything is an additional price. I just wanted a free basic breakfast. The kind you find at Quality Inns. But I guess DoubleTree is too good for that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Reality W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We appreciate your remarks, Reality W, about your recent stay. We are indeed a new hotel, one that is in the top 4% of all DoubleTree by Hilton Hotels Americas. We are proud of the service that we provide, an area in which we fell short during your stay. My apologies for our inability to meet your expectations. As a full-service hotel, we have lovely dining options: room service, a la carte and buffet. HHonors is a wonderful loyalty program available to travelers these days; complimentary breakfast is provided to those that are members. There is no charge for membership and provides a myriad of benefits.

Happy Travels to you. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel was clean and neat. Front desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the Washington DC area. For a Doubletree hotel, the price was quite reasonable. This is a fairly new hotel located in a nice area with easy access to a highway. However not close enough for road noise. Although we did not travel with children, I noticed several in the elevator going to the indoor pool and each group seemed very happy with the pool. Restaurant area looked very inviting. Definitely would recommend this hotel to both the business and family traveler.

Room Tip: Hotel has an elevator so if you like a room on an upper floor, you are good to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sk221202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We appreciate your review and comments, sk221202. Thank you for your compliments on the staff, services and products that we offer. We are quite proud! We do cater to both families and business travelers - thank you for noticing our efforts.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plesant Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
132 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Let me start with this preface. My baseline standard is simple and fair: It it clean and does everything work as it should? Sadly, an increasing number of hotels cannot even meet this basic standard.

Checkin was friendly but again, a failure. I checked in after 4 p.m. and had to wait nearly a half hour for a room (checkin time is 3 p.m.) that was smoky and tattered when I got finally got in. I say finally because housekeeping was still in the room when I got there. Took a bit but I was switched to another room that was also a little smelly and tattered. The desk supervisor had the room sprayed which helped a little but that did not last. The shower was horrible -- took forever because of the bad water pressure. There are employees in these rooms every day. They should see the problems and get them fixed. This place is dinged here because it should be much better and could be with better management that walks the walk instead of posting platitudes in response to reviews here. They would do better making sure things work and the rooms are in good condition. I appreciate the staff that tried but that doesn't make up for the missing basics.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6530bx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you, 6530bx4, for your candid review. I was extraordinarily disappointed to read your remarks. We are a 100% non-smoking, new-build hotel that is barely three years old. We are currently in the top 10 of all DoubleTree by Hilton Hotels in the Americas and pride ourselves on the genuine service that we offer. We clearly missed this mark during your stay and for this I sincerely apologize. We want to meet not only the standards but also exceed every expectation. We hope that you will consider our location in the future so we can show you are commitment to excellence; it is sincere.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at this Doubletree over a long weekend and it was exceptional. The service was excellent, and the rooms and amenities were clean and attractive. Also, the shuttle to the airport and surrounding attractions was accomodating and very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I really believe that, The DoubleTree is the very Best Hotel that I have ever stayed in. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone planning on going on vacation. There is everything one needs just in the surrounding area as well. I can't say enough good things about the Hotel, and the area in which it is built, except that It is hard to find, if your not fimiliar with the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you, Holly S, for your most kind review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling-Dulles Airport. We are so very proud of our services and staffing and are thrilled that you found it to be the very Best Hotel!

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling-Dulles Airport. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing