We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very nice surprise”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here before starting a long drive. The room was very clean and the bed was exceedingly comfortable. I love that they give you 5 down pillows per King bed and you can request more if this is insufficient. The breakfast was excellent, consisting of fresh fruit, baked goods, cereal, eggs and other hot choices. The staff were all exceedingly pleasant and made the stay very enjoyable. We also ate dinner as we arrived late. While the items were a bit pricey, I guess that is to be expected with a captive audience. That said, the ingredients we fresh and food was served with a smile. All in all, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I am glad to see that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments and hope that when travel brings you back to our area you will again allow us to be at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    171
    69
    23
    19
See reviews for
170
116
78
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for business, because it is close to Dulles. The van came and picked me up and brought me right to the hotel. Check in was quick and the room perfect. The fitness center is excellent with new equipment. The restaurant has a nice selection and a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KurtZ795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for the quick review of our property from your most recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview, DE
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here several times. Prices are reasonable. Rooms are very comfortable and super clean. Breakfast is excellent. Staff is really nice. I would recommend it highly. It's not far from the Dulles Town Center for shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your repeat patronage. We look forward to being at your service again when travel brings you back to our area and you choose us to host your accommodation needs. We will be sure to keep the chocolate chip cookies warm for your arrival. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times on business and have consistently received great service from the entire staff!! Standard Hilton type workout area. Good breakfast and a fun happy hour. AND they always have warm cookies!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of your most recent stay with us and thank you for your patronage. We look forward to your return.
And we will be sure to keep the cookies warm......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, MD
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling on business in Ashburn,VA and had to make a last minute reservation in the area due to bad weather-I'm glad I picked this hotel in which to get snowed-in!
Breakfast was nice, rooms were clean, beds ...oh so comfy...staff couldn't have been more accommodating- (thank you for the ice/snow scraper), and George the Shuttle Bus driver was SO very kind to take my group and I to the mall for lunch in a driving snowstorm! Thanks George!! Very convienent location too! Would definitely return next time in town! Thanks everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaLunaHampstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and your welcome. I am glad you enjoyed the property and all the amenities it has to offfer, Georges is a great team member who cares greatly about the satisfaction of his guests. I'm sure the ice scraper will come in handy if and when you need it. Thank you for selecting the Doubletree Sterling - Dulles Airport and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Overall experience was very good. Breakfast buffet cost was high (dinner cost as much as the breakfast). Menu prices seemed better. Check for special prices (and recheck before you leave) and book the executive floor for a quieter stay. We will stay there again. Nice location for the Sterling/Dulles area. Sheets and beds are very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddhdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay, I am glad enjoyed the property. The breakfast cost for the full buffet is $13.00 and includes breakfast breads, toast, english muffins, fresh danish and muffins, sliced and whole fruit and a variety of juices, eggs cooked to order including omlettes or just scrambled,bacon,sausage,steel cut oatmeal, pancakes,ham, and a selection of cheeses and it is all you can eat, menu prices are less expensive and are ala carte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Traverse County, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was here for a week on business in November of 2012. It is clean and very comfortable, no complaints whatsoever. The restaurant has good food at decent prices.

The beds are about the most comfortable I have ever slept on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yachtsman1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I agree we do have very comfortable beds and I hear this from many guests. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we have to offer. Thank you for your review and we look forward to being at your service again when travel brings you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing