We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Airport Hotel with Outstanding Amenities and Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Airport Hotel with Outstanding Amenities and Service!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

As a HH Gold Member, I stay at a lot of properties. This hotel is exceptional! Due to my status I got upgraded to the 6th Floor (Executive Level). This floor is private (one can only access the floor via key access). The concierge lounge was exceptional. Laura; the conceirge attendant in the evening was extremely pleasant and accomodating. The appetizers, drinks, etc. were delicious and abundant. The lounge offerred a full extended continental breakfast in the morning. Everything was hot and fresh and I noticed that they constantly refreshed the food, (scrambled eggs, oatmeal, sausage, breakfast potatoes) in order to ensure that every guest had an exceptional experience. My room was absolutely beautiful! This was seriously one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in, in a very long time! Not only was the room exceptionally clean, but the furnishings were all new. The bed was extremely comfortable. My room had 2 rooms and 2 pairs of slippers! The bathroom amenties included Crabtree and Eveyln soaps, shampoos, etc. This was not that smelly "grandma" perfume scent that Hilton properties used to offer. Rather, this was the "Citron", refreshing citrus / lemon scent that was pleasing and enjoyable to use. I ordered room service one night and the food and service was exceptional. The high speed internet access was wonderful! I don't have any complaints. The only complaint I have was I wished I was able to stay longer. This was such a beautiful propertly. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Beverly at the front desk is a gem! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puebla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words in your review. I am glad we were able to make your stay with us enjoyable. We look forward to being at your service again when your travel plans bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    167
    68
    23
    15
See reviews for
168
112
75
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I've never been disappointed at Doubletree Hotels. The rates at this hotel made me a little skeptical, but I was not disappointed when I discovered the same high quality that I'm used to at Double Tree!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I'm glad that we met your expectations of what a DoubleTree Hotel means for you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent experience. We look forward to being at your service again if and when travel takes you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
475 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed one night after being on a European trip. We had purchased a Park, Stay and Fly package that included one night stay, parking for up to 14 days and complimentary breakfast buffet. We left our car on the front end and used the airport shuttle going and coming back. Everything went smoothly.
Our room was nice with big comfy bed and nice bathroom. It was clean and everything worked. The free WIFI was great. We had a really nice breakfast the next am with juice, eggs, breads, fruit, sausage, bacon, cereals and more. It was convenient and we were on our way home with a minimum of fuss.
Nice place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RERD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us. I am glad to see that your experience was enjoyable. We hope to be at your service again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night, before an early morning flight out of Dulles Airport.

The staff members I encountered when checking in and checking out were pleasant in a rather anonymous, business-like way.

Room #412 was clean and comfortable and everything worked well, 'tho some of the furniture was looking a bit worse for wear, the desk in particular.

The bed was a bit softer than I like but nonetheless I slept soundly on it, perhaps because I was so tired.

Having a regular little refrigerator instead of a price-gouging minibar was a nice extra touch. Free wi-fi with excellent speed was also much appreciated.

Just a few cautionary notes for future guests:

Try to get an ODD numbered room on the back of the hotel; i.e. NOT facing Atlantic Avenue in front of the hotel. Apparently the rooms aren't all that sound-proof, because a few motorcycles that raced passed the hotel were jarringly loud.There was also some sort of bump in the road in front of the hotel: whenever a truck drove over it, the resulting sound resembled booming thunder. When I opened the curtains in the early morning, I was surprised to see that they're hadn't been a thunderstorm!

Keep in mind that this isn't precisely an airport hotel; the airport is over five miles from the airport. So if you're driving to the airport or taking the hotel shuttle, remember that the local roads are predictably clogged with traffic at certain times of day.

Room Tip: Avoid even-numbered rooms on the front of the hotel because of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelDog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay with us. I was happy to see that you received a great level of guest service and did enjoy your guestroom. Also, thank you for bringing the condition of the guestroom furniture of your room to our attention in addition to the level of noise on a particular side of the building. We will be sure to take your feedbackinto consideration and take the necessary actions to assist guests who might experience an abnormal amount of noise. I do hope when traveling to our area again you will stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Where to start.... It is important to know that I am a HHonors Diamond member (100+ stays in 2012 alone!). I have a service animal that travels with me which IS fully disclosed in my HHonors account profile and includes a copy of her ID AND a note that states I travel with a service animal -- this is ADDITIONALLY confirmed when booking any/all rooms I stay in. Having an ID for her is NOT required by Federal or State laws, it is simply a courtesy I offer. See ada.gov for FAQ and laws.

When checking in, I was pleasantly greeted by a lady at the desk. I gave her my info and she pulled my reservation and room key with my room number that was in the 600s. As I was finishing the process I mentioned to the lady at the desk that I had my service animal with me and offered her ID accordingly. First, I was informed that I can't have a pet -- and it all went downhill from there! Then she asked what my condition was and what I needed a service animal for which is not only HIGHLY illegal but rude...do you ask a person in a wheelchair what they need a wheelchair for? -- of course not! She then accepted the ID and started calling frantically on a phone that was the furthest away from where I waited. A dozen calls later she finally had someone on the phone who gave her direction. She was new and it was obvious when she said that she didn't know how to handle service animals. I explained that there was nothing to handle at which point she argued with me that the hotel has a policy. Taking a photo copy of my service animal's ID she went to get the same manager who told her to move my room because of my service animal. The manager said there wasn't a problem, my room was even upgraded (which it wasn't, it was downgraded) and that they do not allow pets in the hotel and service animals are only allowed on the second floor.

My husband came in after 10-15 min and asked if there was a problem as check ins are usually 2 min. The manager then snubbed me and proceeded to talk to my husband as if I were an imbecile. After a few moments, both my husband and I trying to tell the staff that they were breaking the law we decided to just go to the room. Upon entering the room, it smelled like cigarettes and musty urine.

We went back down to registration and asked for a different room, the manager started arguing AGAIN with my husband and contradicted himself in a matter of 2 sentences regarding that the do not allow pets except for on the second floor and then that they only allow service animals. He continued arguing that the we were not being segregated and when my husband mentioned we were Diamond Members, he told him that "we" are not, only his spouse AND there was no information anywhere on my profile about my service animal. He BLATANTLY lied about even seeing the account when contradicting answers to my husband questions, for no other reason than to be a rude insufferable know-it-all. Way to go with the customer service!

I understand the hotels intentions to avoid possible extra cleaning (which they didn't do anyway) but I was outright shocked that I was publicly humiliated by this staff in front of other guests. Having a disability is hard enough, being forced into disclosing it in public to justify my needs was thoroughly and utterly embarrassing and wrong. This was the worst experience anyone in my position could hope to avoid.

To make the whole matter worse, HHonors customer service MANAGER via the phone told me they can enact such policies that I wasn't being segregated only limited to where the hotel allows pets, yes, pets.... Will SOMEONE PLEASE learn the FEDERAL ADA LAWS?! PLEASE! You can't tell an Asian or Latin or French man he can only stay on the tenth floor because thats the only place they are allowed to stay can you!?!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Gypsy247,
I am extremely sorry for the undesired check in experience during your last stay. Please know that we take matters such as this very seriously and would love to speak with you further about the issue. Feel free to reach out to me directly at (703) 230-2570 so I may help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Friendly staff, excellent service, no complaints. If you have any questions about the surrounding area, the staff are very knowledgeable, and will answer any questions you have. They also have a courtesy shuttle that will take you anywhere in a five mile radius. Check in was expedient, and so was checkout. Again, great place to stay, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
273 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Got a great rate through Expedia - 3 nights for$200 CDN incl all taxes and fees. Nice clean rooms, great beds, great pool. Our room key stopped working on the 3rd night of our stay, and to make a long story short, Abdi at the front desk was amazing. Great customer service. I would recommend this hotel for sure! Thanks Abdi!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TAMember06262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing