We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The best in the area, especially if you need to fly out of Washington Dulles. The only hotel I know of that offers 24 hour shuttle service to the airport and park and fly rates.

Beautiful, new property. Two minutes away from restaurants and shopping. In spite of this, the location itself is very quiet, surrounded by trees, a corporate park setting. Hotel is very well maintained, excellent staff. Lovely indoor pool. I would highly recommend this location to any travelers in the region.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    164
    67
    23
    15
See reviews for
167
110
74
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel exercise equipment was excellent. The staff was very nice only things that would've made it better for me would've been free breakfast and no horrendous traffic and construction I also didn't care for having a long huge rail in the shower I didn't request handicapped a accessible room. The hotel was spotless and very clean.

Room Tip: Very nice hotel but getting back to DC is a pain for sight seeing it took us on average 2 hours or m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanta_GATripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. Big comfy beds, flat screen tv. If I was rating on room alone, I would give this hotel 5 stars. However, part of the comfort of a hotel stay is how you are treated.
They offer a hotel shuttle..... Sort of. It takes forever, so be prepared to stand outside and watch all the other hotels come and go several times, while you wait over an hour for yours. Pathetic. Every time we called got the same answer, ' he should be there any minute.' Geez, at least be honest if its going to take a while. Also, no fault of hotel, but this hotel really is too far away to be considered an airport hotel, and it isn't near anything.
Upon finally checking in my cookies were cold. The whole deal of a doubletree is the warm cookie. Oh well. I just needed a bed so I didn't make a fuss.
I went downstairs for breakfast in the morning. Bad idea. There was only one other couple there when we came in. We were greeted right away and offered coffee, and we both enthusiastically said yes please. It didn't come. She kept walking by, so finally I had to ask where's our coffee, she said she didn't know we wanted any. Ugh, I don't know how we could have been any clearer. Then we ordered our food (which by the way is ridiculously overpriced.) We didn't do the buffet because the food didn't look fresh. We also ordered Orange juice. Part of our order came out, the rest came when we were almost finished, and the juice never came, and neither did coffee refills. I couldn't tell if the problem was incompetence, laziness, or lack of English fluency. After this, we didn't try eating at the restaurant again, so I can't review dinner or lunch.
The fitness center is great, up to date precor treadmills and ellipticals with tvs, and free weights. Good ventilation also. Pool looked nice, but would have preferred an outdoor one.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njkrisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I have done 3 reviews on this hotel and every time it gets worse and worse.. First time there it was great, second time I started noticing some negative changes and this last time it was not good. Customer service is not that great except in the bar and my room had something nasty on the wall and floor behind the chair. (See Pic) I figured I would give housekeeping the chance to notice it and do something about it, but they did not notice it or ignored it. The furniture is looking older and worn. Bathroom floor has never been cleaned, very dirty. Overall this place is just average- I am going to find another hotel for my travels to that area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UESNYC646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel itself is a great facility. We did not use the breakfast buffet because we had an early flight out. However, we were told the airport shuttle runs every half hour. It does not. After calling twice and waiting over and hour, we were told we would be reimbursed if we took a cab back. Just be aware and call as soon as you get off your plane if you intend to use this service they claim to offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I found the menu quite pricey for the the type of fare offered, too expensive for a family stay. The beds were very comfortable and made to perfection. The housekeeping staff were extremely courteous, however the evening front desk clerk wasn't, when approached with the issue of all day dirty tray lined hall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a block of rooms for a wedding in the area (amazing price). We enjoyed having the outdoor space to converge after the wedding with all of our out-of-state family. The rooms were beautiful and perfectly clean. The bed was very comfortable with beautiful linens. The breakfast was a wonderful variety of hot and cold foods. The hot foods were good, but the fruit selection and quality were the best. It definitely WAS worth the cookie and more! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamperedlori63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing