We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

From the minute i walked in and knew the room would be nice and it was. I got a king bed and the bed was like floating on clouds. The bathroom is very up to date and modern with the floor to ceiling shower and very nice sink. No bathub but not a problem for me. Room has a refrigerator but no mircrowave but that was ok for me too. Nice size flat screen tv. All the countertops have garnite. Plenty of space for clothes. Free wifi. Well light rooms, Nice work space. Only then i didnt care for was the carpet GERMSSS i think about what goes on in hotel so i kepy my shoes on because they dont shampoo the carpet everyday so aint no telling what has been on the carpet. Yes the carpet appeared clean and did not have any ordors im just being cautions. overall, i will definitely stay here again, very quite and god night sleep. no complaints!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricanQueen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    157
    64
    23
    13
See reviews for
159
106
69
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I really like this hotel. The beds are super comfortable and the room is very clean. The hairdryer provided is very good, there is also an iron with ironing board that works great. USA today was left at the door which is always a plus. There is plenty of free parking. I gave the room 4 stars because of the lights in the room are fluorescent and not very cozy. There are also no shower caps provided in the bathroom. The mall nearby is huge and the van will take you there. :)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

After missing our flight connection, we booked a night at this hotel. I've never stayed at a Doubletree before so I can't speak for the chain but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was $89.00 plus taxes. Nearby hotels were charging $159.00 and up. All the staff at the hotel was friendly and competent, and the waiters in the small restaurant were exceptional. This is not a destination hotel, but we would not hesitate to book it again if we had to overnight in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterTravel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

It was like two nights for the price of one: We arrived at Dulles on a redeye from the West Coast and the prompt Doubletree shuttle deposited us at the hotel just before 6 a.m. The gracious front desk staff permitted us to check in early, whence we slept five hours.

To get into DC, we took the hotel shuttle back to the airport, where we caught a bus that deposited us on the Mall an hour later. After a day of sightseeing, we caught the last bus back to Dulles. The hotel had told us to call for a shuttle pickup when we arrived at the airport, but by that time the shuttle driver had gone home for the night, so the manager on duty at the Doubletree told us he'd pick up the tab for our cab ride back to the airport. What great service THAT was!

The hotel is well constructed and well insulated, and we couldn't hear any outside noise that night. We slept very soundly, both thanks to the acoustics and to the awesome Simmons Beautyrest mattress. Hands down, it was the most restful sleep I've ever had at an airport hotel.

There's nothing fancy about the lobby and other common areas, but it's exceedingly clean. I have only one small gripe: we were unable to enjoy our breakfast outside on the patio because a handful of people were leisurely smoking from a hooka pipe, whose pungent fumes were drifting our way. There's really no designated nonsmoking area outside.

Other than that minor quibble, we had a great stay at an affordable rate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noneemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

I stayed here due to a company Christmas Party. I never had stayed at a Doubletree before so I was pleased with what I saw. Very quick and pleasant check-in, Large lobby with a lounge and dining area. The room was a decent size, free internet, flat screen TV and I like the bathroom with the walk-in shower. The bed was very comfortable. Would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTCSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Not all Doubletree Hotels have concierge floors - this one does. Nice restaurant too.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Business_Traveler_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

When our evening flight to Los Angeles was cancelled, we re-booked an early morning flight out of Dulles Airport. We decided to stay the night before so we wouldn't have to battle traffic in the morning.
Reservations was easy and we were pleasantly surprised to find a very new and modern hotel. Of course, the cookie we received upon check-in almost made up for the cancelled flight. Service was outstanding and the bed was terrific.
We are Hilton Gold and were placed on the Concierge floor. One suggestion would be to have breafast open earlier thatn 6 a.m. There are people who need to leave the hotel by 6:30.
Even though it's a bit out of the way from Dulles (about a 10 minute ride) it is well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSSMetroD.C.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing