We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just The Right Size” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall

Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall
Ranked #73 of 236 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just The Right Size”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had the lunch buffet with a group of 8 from work. We all were impressed with the choice, quality and flavor of the food as well as being a very comfortable place to eat. I especially liked that food was "right sized", meaning that pieces were just right to try something and see how it tastes without wasting any. I can go back and get more if I liked it. Good choice of meats, vegetables, salads and condiments in keeping with a mid-eastern fare restaurant. Even the rice pudding was excellent.

The key to me about the buffet at Cherry Blossom is that they don't just go for quantity of food. They pay attention to flavor, at least the flavors that get my toungue happy. That attention to detail will bring me back again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BJKNoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good lunch buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

You can't beat the price for what you get. Highlights off the buffet for me were the okra, the eggplant and the chicken in tomato sauce. The salad bar was an interesting addition that could probably be minimized without any loss to the dining experience. I am not sure who its set up for. It has what looks like bagged green salad, mashed potatoes, corn from a can, tuna salad, hard boiled eggs, beets, three bean salad from a can, hummus and naan. I ate lots and lots of the hummus because it was super yummy, but the other stuff seemed so random! All in all this was a good lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4OTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afghan Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a good find in Sterling. There are many different vegetable dishes to sample. The food was tasty and the price was reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmileySue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C. Metro Area
Level Contributor
154 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It was nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I thought that an Afghan buffet could offer an interesting insight into a unique cultural experience, but it was more a trip to a kabob shop. The salads were just some greens and dressing. The meats were kabob.

Perhaps the biggest surprise is the space. It is in a building with a big windows overlooking a lake (fake or industrially penned in I never could tell). With all those windows and a view, the restaurant is in a smallish room with no usable windows.

I guess that the positive experience is that it was not very expensive, but it was nothing special aside from affording time some time to ponder what is going in next door.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“unpleasant...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

to preface this review, i've got to say that our party of 4 are a reasonable bunch & we can usually find something good to say about most dining experiences that we share together...but it will be hard to do that this time. i am amazed by all the good reviews...i just can't see how they could be deserved. we were treated like a bother by our server...this level of non-service seemed equally bad for all patrons. i never could get an answer from her about which buffet dishes were vegetarian even though i asked her a couple of times. some of the rice dishes tasted like they were prepared from a boxed meal & the corn had to have come from a can. the one positive thing i can say is the hummus & pita bread was good. also, the restaraunt is just a blocked off part of a large banquet hall...this gives the impression that you are dining next to a large, dark, empty cavern...making for a kind of weird atmosphere. one last thing...this is supposed to be an afghan place...but the music that was playing was enigma, enya & other out-of-place tunes. just weird. i gave it a poor instead of terrible because the hummus & pita bread were good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tevagrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing