We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

Very good hotel. Stayed one night on my way to another city. Staff was very friendly, quality of hotel was very good. For the price the hotel was more than one can ask for.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenedaWhite, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Thank you for the compliments and taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your hotel experience with us and look forward to hosting you again when you return to the area. If I can be of any assistance, please don't hesitate to call me at 703-435-2700. Warm regards, Zeneda White, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    119
    28
    17
    12
See reviews for
122
81
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

We've stayed at this hotel previously, due to it's convenient location to Dulles airport when arriving from a long overseas flight - and have never been disappointed. Rooms are very clean and well appointed, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

We we scheduled to stay December 17-19 at this Country Inn and Suites. We arrived at the hotel late in the evening of the 17th. The airline had lost our luggage and we weren't in the best of moods. Check in went fine, got to our room and it was clean and the beds were comfy, that is all we needed. The next day we heard that a huge snow storm was headed our way. We asked if there would be a way that we could stay an extra night as we didn't want to have to travel to our next hotel with 20 inches of snow expected. They advised that the hotel was booked for the next day, but would do everything they could to accomodate us. We left for the day and by the time we came back, our bags had arrived. They recognized us and gave us the good news. I think that is a rare thing in this day and age. There is so much hustle and bustle that people usually get lost in the crowd. The next morning after breakfast, the person at the front desk, Reggie, knew us right away and said he was working on getting us a room for the day. An hour later, he called us to let us know we had a room. We thought we were all set. That evening we ended up finding out that our flight for the next day had been canceled and would need to spend ANOTHER night at the hotel. Went up to the front desk and Reggie was there again. He said it was not a problem at all. The customer service at this hotel was top notch, the rooms were clean, it is very close to the Dulles Airport. I have zero complaints and only praise. If we ever have to spend another weekend in a blizzard, I hope to spend it there!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazachob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

This hotel deserves special recognition for the quality of their beds. Most hotels in this price range have rather unremarkable mattresses and linens, and I was expecting much of the same when I checked into this hotel.

Well, I was wrong. The mattress was extremely comfortable with very good quality linens. We had a room with two queen beds and each bed had 3 fluffy pillows. I rarely find myself snuggling into a hotel bed, but these bed linens were so clean that I had no qualms!

Our hotel room had a number of other thoughtful touches. In addition to the usual coffeemaker setup, we had a fridge, a microwave, and access to complimentary wired internet. The shower curtain rod was bowed to increase the space of the bath shower, and the shower head came with several different settings to customize the water stream.

A complimentary breakfast is included in the stay, and includes a make-your-own waffle iron and a steam table with sausage and french toast sticks. There are also bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit. The breakfast room is open 24 hours a day to allow access to their coffee machine and juice machine. There is also a jar of chocolate chip cookies at the lobby that was refilled several times during our stay, although I did not try the cookies. Other amenities included a free library of books to borrow during your stay (the selection seemed slanted towards local authors and history, although there were a number of children's books and volumes of poetry), free access to a lobby computer with internet and printer, and a coin washer/dryer on the ground floor.

The Udvar-Hazy Museum is only a 10 minute drive from the hotel, which makes it a nice easy drive. There is also a gas station and Burger King right next to the hotel. We had no problem with parking our car, and the area felt safe. The hotel is very close to the highway but we did not have any problems with noise from traffic even though our room was located at the very end of the building closest to the highway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otsumami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I used this hotel as part of a "Park & Fly" arrangement in mid October.
The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice, clean, and quiet.
Our experience using the hotel airport shuttle was positive and the breakfast was great.
Needless to say, we will stay there again when we need to fly from Dulles.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roustabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Staff was mildly friendly, but not too warm. Cookies on desk were yummy and fresh. The room was very clean and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. Our teenager slept on the pull out which was already made up for him. This hotel is about 30 minutes out from Washington, DC & a good location if you are sightseeing in DC. However, it is a little difficult to find. The streets sort of zig zag back & forth and even our GPS thought it was somewhere else. The "heated" indoor pool was freezing, but the outdoor jacuzzi was pleasant although it could have been a little cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChurchGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

We wanted to stay somewhere in DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival that wouldn't break the bank, could accommodate a family of 5, and have a fridge. If you make reservations several months in advance, the rates are very decent (still escalate from the weekend to mid-week like all other hotels in area). We had a King Suite and ordered a roll-away for $10 extra. It was a little squeeze, but worked out well. We really enjoyed the "Central Air-conditioning" (no one complaining of freezing by the typical window air conditioner), Non-smoking, 2 TVs and a bedroom door.

The drive to the Vienna metro was about 20-30 minutes. From there it was about another 25 minutes to downtown DC. If you plan to go to DC on the metro during the week, make sure you arrive at the parking lot before 8am to get a spot, as the amount of parking available there has decreased. There is both and outdoor lot, as well as parking garage. The Udvar-Hazy Air & Space museum is only a few minutes drive and is wonderful (note parking rates are up to $15 now).

The breakfast at the hotel was wonderful. Hot breakfast items, my kids' favorite cereals, my favorite cappuccino. The rooms were well insulated. There was a grocery store a few minutes away, as well as a Friendly's restaurant that is family friendly (and has ice cream).

This is a great motel for a family to stay at for DC trip, if you don't mind a little bit of a commute. The only thing that could have improved our stay would have been an indoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
Address: 45620 Falke Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-9479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sterling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#5 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int`l. Airport Hotel Sterling
Country Inn And Suites Washington-Dulles Int`l. Airport
Country Inn Sterling
Sterling Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing