We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is such a great hotel. Free cookies all the time at the front desk. The breakfast is the best I've had. Everyday there is a new hot item, one day breakfast burritos, the next biscuits and gravy. There is a refrigerator and microwave in every room, which is nice for restaurant leftovers and making your own meals to save some. The price is also the best around. There is plenty to do within the area. We drove to a metro stop and took the metro to D.C. one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    101
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
105
72
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel the night before a morning flight out of Dulles. The property is close to the airport and the free shuttle that runs twice an hour makes gfetting to the airport a simple matter.

Without having to reserve too far in advance, the room rate was well under $100 for a double. At the time of reservation you have the option of requesting an stand-by upgrade, which ended up giving us a suite room for only an additional $7. Was really nice for the space it gave us to rearrange all our luggage prior to the flight.

Coffee is available 24 hours. There is a simple breakfast offered in the morning that included hot sausages, potatoes, and biscuits. Juice, coffee, and bagels/muffins were also available, along with cereal. No complaints. As others have mentioned, without a car your only restaurant options are a Burger King and nearby gas station mini mart. The hotel does have a room service menu; no idea how that food might be or where it comes from.

I would definitely use this hotel again when travelling in or out of Washington, DC vai Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here overnight for a layover between Europe and the Caribbean. The hotel was good quality. Comfortable beds, nice tv, good shower. The only bummer was that to get to the airport for a 6am flight, I ended up having to take a taxi as the shuttle didn't start until 5:15am. Booked this hotel partly because of the shuttle and then ended up having pay an extra $15.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here because we wanted to go the Air and Space Museum at the Dulles Airport. Can't say enough about how accomodating this hotel was. Anything we asked for they provided. The staff was so friendly, especially Ruth the front desk manager. Breakfast was very good - hot food, the breakfast room was a little small but if you hit it between 730a - 800a there is plenty of room to sit. Our room looked out towards the Burger King and street but was super quiet. They have soft pillows to die for. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. To get to the museum the hotel arranged for a car to pick us up and take us there and then it returned at our requested time. It was about $25 each way but well worth the money. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor - slow elevator but no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outbound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We moved to this hotel from downtown DC the day after Superstorm Sandy hit and were not sure when we would be leaving as our flight status kept changing. The staff was very accommodating and after we arrived the shuttle took us to eat at a nice restaurant for which they gave us a $5.00 off coupon. Lunch ended up costing less than $3.00 per person. Per our request on the way back to the hotel the shuttle driver dropped us off at the supermarket and waited for us. The day we left we were able to check-out later in the afternoon when we finally were able to get a flight. The breakfast area was a great location to get work done with coffee, tea, cookies and fruit always available. If we had to be stuck, it was a good place to hang-out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Songbird865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have come to like this chain, very homey feeling, and nice service. the breakfast was god and plentiful and the rooms were good as well. they were very kind and picked me up with the shuttle from the car rental place so that I wouldn't have to go back to the airport first.
Good freindly service and decent rooms, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thhtorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
2.0 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.4 mi away
Aloft Dulles Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
Address: 45620 Falke Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-9479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sterling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#5 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int`l. Airport Hotel Sterling
Country Inn And Suites Washington-Dulles Int`l. Airport
Country Inn Sterling
Sterling Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing