We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay with a couple of snags”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay with a couple of snags”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for a night before an international flight from Dulles. Called to request a shuttle and got incomplete directions from the front desk – she gave me the curb number (2H) but not the door number (6), so I ended up walking from one end of the airport to the other and back again. Shuttle came about 25 minutes after I called, and I was the only person picked up.

About an hour after checking in my room started smelling like cigarette smoke – still not sure whether someone was smoking nearby or near an air intake, but the smell got worse quite quickly. Went to the front desk and they quickly assigned me to another room, which smelled like stale air freshener when I went in but was better than smoke. Got a goodie bag at check-in (I think because of my Gold status) but did not receive the gift basket promised as part of my room package rate.

Front desk staff was friendly and competent, and has copies of driving and transit directions to nearby attractions such as the Smithsonian's Air and Space Museum Udvar-Hazy Center and a viewing area for the 4th of July fireworks.

Breakfast was pretty good – hot and cold cereal, waffle maker, herbed potatoes, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, and an assortment of bagels and pastries. Not bad for a complimentary buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frozenactivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    120
    28
    17
    12
See reviews for
124
81
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Needed convenient location for tightly scheduled weekend trip with a relative. While I booked online to take advantage of Carlson promotion the local staff was easy to reach and knew answers to every question I had. The manager working June 29 saved me from making a stupid error in driving wrong route that would have caused me to miss event I was attending

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuluLed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed on 27th & 28th June, 2012. The staff was very courteous and helpful specially Ms Ruth Dominguez at the front desk. She provided all the details to make our stay in Sterling enjoyable. The room was, though small but had all basic necessities. The hotel provided complimentary cookies, apples, fruit water (water with fruits dipped in it), coffee/Tea in the lobby for 24 hrs. On the whole the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayatri1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

After a trip out of the country with plane delays and lost luggage, we checked in at 2 am! The front desk manager was welcoming and gave us every supply we needed to clean up for the night. Morning staff very friendly too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmomCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed for a night before I fly out. I encountered spiders in my room.(See photos) I showed it to front desk staff and got no response. I realized that my room type was not honored ( booked in one bed room suite) but didn't complained since I had a bad experience with the specific night front desk staff previously. GM doesn't seem care about my complaint. Other than these, this is just a typical Country Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IADFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed here during a recent Carlson promotion, and was glad I did. I thought the room was comfortable and well appointed. I enjoyed having the refrigerator in the room, and was nice to keep my drinks cool before I continued my road trip the next day.

The breakfast was also nice, and having the laundry in the hotel was convenient as I needed to do some. Although many people complain that Burger King is the only food option nearby, this hotel has the most extensive room service menu I have ever seen. I'm sure it is probably delivered from a local restaurant, but who cares...it's an option!

The staff was also pleasant and efficient at check in and check out. My only issue is that even though I had placed the do not disturb sign on the door, the cleaning staff knocked on the door and asked if I was ready for cleaning while I was still sleeping around 9 AM. I would stay here again for the price I paid in a second.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cxw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Second time at this hotel in order to make a connection at Dulles. Free shuttle both ways. Great staff and complimentary breakfast. Rooms pretty standard in size and appearance but very clean. Workout room. Burger King is the only place real close as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere at a freeway interchange.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randyllwarehime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
Address: 45620 Falke Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-9479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sterling
#5 Family Hotel in Sterling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int`l. Airport Hotel Sterling
Country Inn And Suites Washington-Dulles Int`l. Airport
Country Inn Sterling
Sterling Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing