We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A nice place for a field trip.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Farm Museum

Heritage Farm Museum
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Sterling
Attraction details
terri007
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A nice place for a field trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I went with my son and his third grade class to the Heritage Farm Museum on November 10, 2012. We were the only group there that day so it made for a lot of hands on attention for the kids. The classes were split up into three groups and each group went to three different stations. The kids were working on simple machines such as levers, pulleys, etc. so a pig part of one of the stations dealt with simple machines. The kids also visited a "country store" where they had to have a shopping list and buy enough food for the week for only $1. They seemed to enjoy this the best of all the stations. They next went to the gift shop where $1 of their money for the trip went for them to purchase something that was in the $1 section. They had quite a nice selection for the students to choose from and they all had a good time. The third one was a comparison between the items they choose in the country store and a clip-board of prices today. They weren't that interested in that exercise.
We will return with our other child in the Spring as I think our other child will enjoy it as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank terri007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Country Girl Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had my book launch event here in Aug 2011. Since my book is a memoir, I share what it was like growin up "in the country," my hometown actually 180 miles away in another Virginia county.This venue fit the bill for me to share my experiences with guests, from a variety of rural exhibits to even a country store. The staff was excellent; very helpful with setting up the areas and wonderful customer service to all that attended. This place is a treasure

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Navigator556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I took my daughter to the Heritage Farm Museum and she had so much fun! We went during the week and pratically had the whole place to ourselves. They have several sections with wood/plastic animals for children to play with: she groomed horses, milked a cow and collected eggs from a chicken coop! I would recommend this for any family outing!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank foobear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cLove2Travel, Co-Director at Heritage Farm Museum, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you! We strive to make the Museum a fun, family-friendly experience and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Lovely museum, kids loved it, great historical info”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Located in Claude Moore Park in Loudoun Co, VA. My kids are girls aged 9, 7 and 3. They loved the hands-on exhibits (milk a life-like cow, collect eggs, ride on tractors, brush the ride-along horse's mane, shop in thecountry store). The grown-ups learned a lot from the written info. Well-presented, VERY friendly staff, fun for kiddos.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank LoCoMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cLove2Travel, Director at Heritage Farm Museum, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you for visiting! The Museum strives to be family friendly and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun for the entire family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

I recently visited the DC area to visit some relatives and they took us to the Heritage Farm Museum. What a fantastic place for young families! They have a wonderful interactive exhibit area for children and very informative exhibits for adults as well. A must see for families with young children!

Helpful?
1 Thank funmommy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Farm Museum also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Farm Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing